We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, quiet, romantic weekend away :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walters Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falls Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I booked a trip to the Falls Inn for a 4 day long weekend getaway. Right before the trip we learned that we were expecting, and throughout the trip I had extreme nausea and morning sickness - something that should have ruined a vacation - but not here.

The staff were SO warm, welcoming, and friendly! They did everything from bringing complementary crackers and ginger ale, arranging a massage to fit our schedule, delivering meals in the room, and being just overall positive support. Further more, their chef's amazing carrot-ginger soup is incredible, and the only thing I was able to keep down during morning sickness.

The room was beautiful and overlooked the falls, there were fresh homemade chocolate chip cookies waiting in the room, the bathtub was deep and long enough to stretch out and relax in. The beds and linens were comfy, great brita-filltered water and mini fridge in the room, and they even have complementary dvds here.

But above all, the thing that truly set them apart was the people: it really felt like the staff here was a family and it was truly one of the most hospitable trips we've ever had. We will definitely be back... hopefully with our little peanut after 9 months!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoelhinhaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for The Falls Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here in September 2012 for my friend's wedding. The food was absolutely amazing! The breakfast buffet was huge, and there were ton's of options. The room was very nice and clean. The inn is literally in the middle of nowhere, but it's a quaint spot with a beautiful waterfall. I definitely recommend for a romantic getaway or wedding. The room prices were quite expensive, but breakfast was included and the staff was all very nice. Great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amcs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi amcs76,

Thank you for taking the time to review and for your wonderful comments. On the room rate comment I can not agree that the rate is 'quite expensive' as indicated. All wedding guests are offered a 2 night discount when booking with a group and regular guests can get the same rate when booking on a meal package of $130 a night depending on season and arrangements. This is about the same as a standard room in the city overlooking the parking lot or back industry - we offer a waterfall and the Bruce Trail. Deal hunters know where to find even better rates for 'remaining rooms' - this does not apply to wedding bookings of course. We pride ourselves on offering upgraded experiences like private balconies, heated floors and gourmet meals at a closer to standard price for all to enjoy.

Thank you again,
We hope to see you soon :)
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I decided to do a little snow-seeking in the snow-belt regions of Ontario, and after spending a good part of a day cross-country skiing at the Scenic Caves in Collingwood, ON, we slipped over to Walters Falls to visit The Falls Inn. This property is located at Walters Falls, a site where a sawmill once stood. You can still see some of the original structures today but the sawmill is long-gone.

We decided to try the inn as a result of a special promotion, and once we arrived, we knew we were in for a great time. Our check in was prompt, friendly and Meg explained all the features of the inn and details of our reservation.

Our guest room was very comfortable, spacious and very clean. We appreciated the homemade chocolate chip cookies waiting for us and the room was equipped for the bottle of wine we brought. The bed was to our liking, nice and firm and in great shape. The heated floors in the bathroom were a real treat.

A couple of minor complaints, but nothing that would prevent us from returning:
First, the TV was dated and small but I guess we are all getting used to 32"+ flat-screens and seeing those 21" bubble screens seems strange now. Second, our room was rather chilly when we arrived and I could figure out how to get the heat going. Of course a quick check with the reception desk solve that problem, and within 30 minutes, the room was comfortable.

Back to the good stuff: we had a wonderful view of the river and falls. A nice walk-out balcony was a treat as so many hotels today seal you into your room lest you feel like jumping out the window. There is a bookshelf full of DVDs to watch, compliments of the house. Yes, a lot of them are of the vintage nature, but there were a few more recent offerings and we took advantage of the free offer.

Phone service was unlike anything I've ever experienced. Want to make a phone call? Normally you have to brace yourself for obscene charges for local calls and horrific long-distance tolls. Not at The Falls Inn. Just pick up the phone and call Gramdma to see how the kids are doing back in the city. All complimentary, thanks to using a VOiP phone system.

Once we were settled in and had a chance to get refreshed from our day's activities, we walked in our slippers to the dining room where we were seated by the window (which was NOT cold) and once again enjoyed the view of the falls.

Our server quickly greeted us and took our order. Our meals were very good, not avant-garde cuisine, but certainly well above your typical small-town "meat & potatoes" offerings one might expect. Presentation of the meals was excellent and the prices were reasonable, as restaurants go. While there were some local flairs to the menu, it would have been nice to see more locally produced offerings.

We also returned to the dining room for the brunch buffet, and what a spread. We ate very well, and didn't touch 85% of the offerings. So much selection.

Overall, this inn was completely enjoyable, I would recommend it highly, especially for couples looking to get away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chassocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi chassocs,

Thank you so much for the detailed account of your stay. We are so happy you enjoyed what we offer. You will be happy to know, this month we added 30" LCD TVs and wall-mounted fireplaces to the Cherry and Mahogany rooms here. The Cherry rooms is a small $30 upgrade on the regular Maple rate for all guests - even 'Daily Deal' type voucher holders.

We hope these improvement fix the couple of issues you pointed out during your stay and offer an 'over the top' experience for our future guests.

Best Regards!
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a beautiful Inn right beside the very scenic Walter Falls and on the Bruce Trail. It is in a very quite town so it is perfect for a winter getaway that is filled with snowshoeing, hiking, relaxing and getting pampered with the spa services.

The staff was very friendly, informative and helpful. The cost for the stay was very reasonable given what was included in the price.

The food was great. The Sunday brunch was possibly the best spread of food that I have seen in an Inn or hotel.

We were there for a friends very intimate wedding and it was the perfect location for this. Just the right size with all of the necessary ammenities.

The only constructive criticism that I have for the Inn is that the beds were not very comfortable as they sunk in the middle. This is something that is not good for our backs and made for a very uncomfortable sleep. The TV in the room (not that we spent a lot of time in there) really did not work very well. Finally, there was no heat in the hallway that our room was off of. Once again this is not a place where we spent very much time however it was something that was quite noticeabl to say the least.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of the main hallway that faces the falls. This will give you the best view and ke...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi Kelly H,

Thank you for posting your informative review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed most of your stay.

So you know, we do rotate the mattresses to avoid the sinking you indicated. I am sorry if your stay was late in that maintenance. You may have been in a room that see more guests than others. We are reviewing the timing of the rotation to see what we can do going forward.

As far as the hallway heat and cooling, the hallways do have an in-floor system to keep them from getting crazy warm or cold - but as our 'green policy' page indicates in the guestroom book, we do hot heat or cool passageways to normal temps as guests move between these spaces to the guestroom or dining room - they are not intended to congregate in. With this policy we can make a great impact on our carbon footprint, important when operating on a waterfall in the country.

I am not sure what issues you had with your TV. The system is an off-the-shelf Expressvu satellite system. Again a reality of operating in the country. Your guestbook indicates how it operates and front desk is happy to assist if you encounter issues. We have not had any units offline this season so it may have been an instruction issue? You will be happy to know we have upgraded the TVs in the Cherry and Mahogany rooms at this point to LCD units - but the operation remains the same. On a return trip please ask for a demonstration. We would be happy to assist.

Thank you again for the review.
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I have just arrived home from our one night stay at this beautiful Inns. We have a wonderful time with too many things too compliment on this little winter wonderland. The guest room is very charming and cozy; the elegant dining room with stunning view; the food is great;
the staffs are friendly and extremely helpful but best of all the sunday breakfast brunch is exceptional and the hike in the Bruce trail in the back of this property is magical in the snowfall...highly recommend for those who enjoy winter hiking and good food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trangdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you plan to return :)

Best Regards!
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I went to the restaurant here for their "date night" special in August and were very impressed. The setting and window view of the river gorge was fit for a postcard. The food was excellent as was the service. Our waitress Kim was just wonderful. You could tell she wanted our night to be special. She suggested a great local red wine from Coffin Ridge Winery which really nice. My wife had the lamb and I had the risotto, both were done to perfection. Overall it was a great experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcm664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi jcm664,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Date night and wing night (or wingsday as we like to call it) have become a great draw for the dining room and lounge. These specials will continue for guest not already enjoying another discount for the foreseeable future.

Best Regards,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Small inn with 15 rooms in a country setting. Park the car and relax. No need to drive anywhere. Enjoy a drink with friends in your room overlooking the ravine and falls before heading to the dining room. A great chef ensures quality food for all meals. All bedrooms, dining room and pub have a view of the falls and ravine. Spa on site for that extra pampering. Great place for a small wedding or conference, or a quiet week-end away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Dwayne Hallman
Innkeepers
The Falls Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walters Falls
19.8 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
12.6 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
542 reviews
22.3 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
164 reviews
2.2 mi away
Irish Mountain Bed and Breakfast
12.8 mi away
The Highland Manor
The Highland Manor
#1 of 5 in Owen Sound
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Inn & Spa

Address: 140 Front St. W, Walters Falls, Ontario N0H 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Walters Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walters Falls
Price Range: $98 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ontario's Finest Inn on the site of Walter's Falls historic sawmill overlooking Walter's Falls, a 45' double plunge waterfall near Owen Sound and Collingwood Ontario. Fine Dining, spa services, hiking on the Bruce Trail, local golf courses and many winter attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Falls Inn - Walter`s Falls Hotel Walters Falls
The Falls Inn & Spa Ontario/Walters Falls, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing