We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walters Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falls Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, ON
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great little getaway”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Travelers Jaunt had an offer for a stay at this Inn and we were planning a visit with Family in Barrie so I jumped at the offer to extend our getaway for a night thanks to Travelers Jaunt.

I was very happy with our stay at The Falls Inn. The little extras were great. We stayed in a room at the end, closest to the Falls, the room had two double beds, it would've been nice to have a king size bed but the room was so nice, who could complain. The ceilings were at least 12 feet high with a ceiling fan. There was a bottle of white wine from the Coffin Ridge winery chilling on ice and two cookies waiting for us when we checked in. There was a cute little yellow rubber ducky on the edge of the bath tub, nice touch! They also had a small DVD library that you could borrow a movie and the room had a DVD player, free wifi and free long distance included. Our package also included breakfast the next morning and it was very good. We had coffee, juice followed by scones with Jam and yogurt. There was also a menu that you could order from and two of the meals were included in the package if you wanted anything else from the menu they would deduct the value of the included breakfast. We had the maple walnut french toast that was included, VERY yummy. All in all we had a great little getaway at The Falls Inn and will definately return if we're in the area again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Springtime38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    69
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
140
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The scenery driving to the the Inn and spa is only the begining of a special experience. In the middle of rolling farm land, the Inn is next to an old water saw mill and looks over Walter's Falls. After arriving from a long day's drive we found a great suite (roomy, clean, and artfully decorated). The spa is professionally staffed and Kim one of the spa owners, served up one of the best massages a tired, sore, and wanting guest could imagine. She even found a troubled neck nerve that others had missed. For a special experience with the "seek and you shall find the gem" satisfaction feeling, go here.
Inn and Spa travelers,
Jeff and Ellen

Room Tip: The smaller rooms look over the Falls, the suites look over the old water mill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were here for my brothers wedding in August.
We loved our room, large and clean. I wish they would have said they had fridges in the room. We brought a cooler not knowing. A microwave would be nice too! Great big tub, balcony view of falls. TV is tiny, I know its supposed to be more for the romantic stays but we all like to wind down with some shoes sometimes and for the price were paying I expect a large one. We found the beds very hard but thats us.
Maid service was great, everything cleaned well. We were on the bottom floor and if people are stomping above you it can be loud but as it was family I told them to be quiet and they did.
Food was excellent. There was nothing we had the whole weekend that we didnt love and will be back for meals.
Great location and the staff was quite accomadating. My only complaint about them was a few of them were a little rude. I was also told this by a few others. My grandmother also noticed some 'attitude'. Would that have made me say dont go..nope. Its a nice hotel and we will go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evanescencetabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi Evanescencetabby,

Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you would return and we hope that we do see you! Sorry if the fridge was a surprise to you. We do email a confirmation letter with a list of amenities in-room, though many guests in the bridal party and immediate family are booked by the 'B&G' so we would not have had a chance to discuss this with you directly or send the confirmation letter. In these cases the list is also at our website (thefallsinn.com) in the room and packages section. It can be hard to know what information a guest wants at booking as we have a lot to cover, so we send this list in writing to help with the final planning.

I agree about the TVs. We hope budget will allow us to upgrade in the future.

As far as the staff being rude, this is not feedback we normally hear. As with any party situation especially when children are around, our staff may need to be firm if the comfort of guests that are not with the party (in the dining room etc.) is not being considered. Children playing chase in the lobby or stomping up and down the front steps etc. would be stopped for instance. Also if guests are endangering themselves or drinking non-licensed alcohol on the grounds or in the licensed banquet rooms we will intervene for the sake of the bride. If we had a liquor inspection during the event and lost our license because non-licensed alcohol was being brought onto the grounds or into the banquet areas we would loose our license for that, and all other events for the rest of the year (or longer). We have has some issues this year with guests climbing over the protective barriers around the falls cliff and raiding the kitchen and bar at 3:30 in the morning when the night manager was in the laundry room. I am not saying these events happened during your particular stay, but we are on higher alert than we have needed to be in the past. Our staff will not be rude. But protecting our property and the safety and comfort of all visiting guests remains a top priority.

Best Regards,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
The Falls Inn and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We purchased a wagjag deal for this resort and have to say we were quite dissapointed with the poor housekeeping, and it really did not do anything for us.

Right from the front door covered with fingerprints all the way to our room we found a lot was overlooked.

Checked in just before 5 and were told the housekeeping had JUST finished our room.

Short list; floors not vaccuumed, lots of glitter and plastic tags and thread on the carpet in room, dust on the fridge, tv stand, glassware and rings of water and something sticky on the nightable, underside of toilet seat was either stained or not cleaned (we did not look close enough to determine which it was), mirror had water droplets and streaks, coffee pot was not empty, one bed was just barely covered with the duvet and a white blanket with stains was crumpled on the end of it.

We did not bother to address the cleanliness or lack of with staff because at least two staff were in our room to repare the phone which was not working for the first few hours of our stay, and for the rest had no free lines. So, they saw themselves what the room was like. Also, it did not seem any less dirty in our room than in the common areas of the inn.

On the plus side, they did fix our phone when we asked, free wi-fi was available, food was good, and priced ok. Falls were nice to look at and listen too, and the second bed in our room was well made.

Suggestions; bring your own kleenex and toilet paper, use your cell phone in the lobby because you wont get signal elsewhere and if your in room phone does work the line will be busy anyway.

Room Tip: All have good views, upstairs should be quieter than down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TobieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi TobieLynn,

Thank you for taking the time to review and making us aware of the issues during your stay,

There were some factors resulting from a full-house wedding held on property the day before your check-in that resulted in the issues you have reported here. That is not an excuse as we host wedding parties all the time during the summer months and as you can see from the other reviews on this site we have not let our other guests down in this way before. Our last inspection from Ontario's Finest we received over 90% on hospitality and cleanliness. This is the standard we want to achieve every time.

I am also sorry you had such trouble with the communication technology during your stay. As indicated the good news is we have all modern options available to be sure no one is ever cut off. Because of our location this has been no small task. We constructed a tower at the sawmill site to rebroadcast high-speed internet to the Inn and surrounding community. The Inn has 5 wifi repeaters so every room has a good connection. We use VOIP phones in-room to give free long distance calling to all guests. That does come with a 2 long distance call limitation - normally it is not difficult to get a free channel. And we have a pop-up antenna on the roof to repeat cell signal in the lobby in case all else fails. I was personally the second employee that came to your room and resolved the phone issue, returning from my home (across the parking lot) on Sunday evening to ensure your phone would work. I did try to duck in as 'the repair guy' so I understand why you did not recognize the owner was assisting you. But you would have made the connection when I had my name tag on at check-out after making your breakfast the next day?

As to your comment that we were in the room and would have seen the shape it was in I can only say that when we have to enter a guest room we keep our eyes to ourselves to respect your privacy. We were informed of a phone issue so we looked only at the phone. As we were in your room so often to complete the repair had you asked us to look at any of these items you would have had them resolved as quickly as the phone. I have taken guests to the lounge for a complimentary beverage in the past while I fixed issues in the room. I am happy to say, not often. But we are capable and willing to fix any issue that is brought to our attention.

On your suggestion that guests bring their own tissue and TP I would not recommend this. As we are on country septic the result would be plugging up your facilities.

Finally, you made the comment that the location did not do much for you. As much as I understand the cleaning and communication issues I will point out that I do not feel you came out to experience the best of what we have here. You arrived on a Sunday evening after the spa closed knowing the spa was not available on Monday, you did not enquire about or enjoy the Bruce Trail and natural surroundings during your stay and you ordered chicken wings for dinner (though we are known for our 'wingsday') when the chef's dining menu was available. Of course the point of the daily deal offers is for us to be introduced to new guests and for guests to find a new experience at a discount. We certainly do not mean to tell you how to enjoy your getaway. But our location is setup to help you enjoy these other amenities. When they are not experienced it can be difficult to understand what it is we offer of value.

We are in discussion with wagjag on how we can resolve this issue for you. For future guests we continue to commit to a high standard of housekeeping and are reviewing policies following large parties so we do not repeat this situation going forward.

Best Regards,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here mid-week for a mini getaway. We were amazed to see how friendly and helpful the staff were. The site is cozy and clean, the room was very spacious with a balcony and view of the falls (all rooms have a balcony and view of the falls). It is situated it a very quiet and remote area, and we had the chance to do a hike on the Bruce Trail, which is the backyard of the inn. A lot of the meals and items on the menu are home-made (i.e. their ice cream, jam, scones, syrup, etc...) and were absolutely delicious. Meals reminded us of food from some of the top upscale restaurants in big cities, at a fraction of the cost. It is also a short drive from Collingwood and the Blue Mountains, so we were able to do a lot of the outdoor activities around there during our stay. We highly recommend this place to all couples, and families who enjoy the outdoors and can appreciate a quiet retreat away from the busy city life.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I decided to begin our lives together at The Falls Inn after a romantic stay there the weekend after we were engaged. It won us over on our initial romantic celebration with beautiful scenery, great food, and friendly service. In preparing for our wedding, Meg was so knowledgeable, flexible, and professional in helping us work out all the details. The day of our wedding was a beautiful and enjoyable day for us because they look after everything from set up to coordinating vendors and ensuring the wedding party is where they are supposed to be when they're supposed to be there. All day, and since, we've heard rave reviews about the food at our wedding! We had a Sunday brunch, and everything was delicious! Finally, we booked out all but one of the rooms for us and our guests and everyone enjoyed their stay! The Bridal Suite is stunning!
For someone looking for a picturesque and professional wedding venue with amazing food, I highly recommend The Falls Inn! Enjoy :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Station, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I visited The Falls Inn in Walter's Falls for a two day stay/getaway.
The Inn itself is located in the village and it is nestled along the falls and the Bruce trail. This Inn is popular with on site weddings during the summer and it's close to Meaford and Thornbury. We had a very nice room with a full view of the falls as well as a little balcony to sit back and enjoy the scenery. A very serene atmosphere. The room itself was spotless and bed was very comfy.
We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in their dining room and both were above average.
Not much to do in Walter's Falls itself unless you want to just sit back, read a book or just unwind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walters Falls
19.8 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
12.6 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
519 reviews
22.3 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Irish Mountain Bed and Breakfast
16.3 mi away
Inn at Cobble Beach Resort and Spa
12.8 mi away
The Highland Manor
The Highland Manor
#1 of 5 in Owen Sound
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Inn & Spa

Property: The Falls Inn & Spa
Address: 140 Front St. W, Walters Falls, Ontario N0H 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Walters Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walters Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ontario's Finest Inn on the site of Walter's Falls historic sawmill overlooking Walter's Falls, a 45' double plunge waterfall near Owen Sound and Collingwood Ontario. Fine Dining, spa services, hiking on the Bruce Trail, local golf courses and many winter attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Falls Inn - Walter`s Falls Hotel Walters Falls
The Falls Inn & Spa Ontario/Walters Falls, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing