We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little housekeeping would go a very long way.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walters Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falls Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We purchased a wagjag deal for this resort and have to say we were quite dissapointed with the poor housekeeping, and it really did not do anything for us.

Right from the front door covered with fingerprints all the way to our room we found a lot was overlooked.

Checked in just before 5 and were told the housekeeping had JUST finished our room.

Short list; floors not vaccuumed, lots of glitter and plastic tags and thread on the carpet in room, dust on the fridge, tv stand, glassware and rings of water and something sticky on the nightable, underside of toilet seat was either stained or not cleaned (we did not look close enough to determine which it was), mirror had water droplets and streaks, coffee pot was not empty, one bed was just barely covered with the duvet and a white blanket with stains was crumpled on the end of it.

We did not bother to address the cleanliness or lack of with staff because at least two staff were in our room to repare the phone which was not working for the first few hours of our stay, and for the rest had no free lines. So, they saw themselves what the room was like. Also, it did not seem any less dirty in our room than in the common areas of the inn.

On the plus side, they did fix our phone when we asked, free wi-fi was available, food was good, and priced ok. Falls were nice to look at and listen too, and the second bed in our room was well made.

Suggestions; bring your own kleenex and toilet paper, use your cell phone in the lobby because you wont get signal elsewhere and if your in room phone does work the line will be busy anyway.

Room Tip: All have good views, upstairs should be quieter than down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TobieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hi TobieLynn,

Thank you for taking the time to review and making us aware of the issues during your stay,

There were some factors resulting from a full-house wedding held on property the day before your check-in that resulted in the issues you have reported here. That is not an excuse as we host wedding parties all the time during the summer months and as you can see from the other reviews on this site we have not let our other guests down in this way before. Our last inspection from Ontario's Finest we received over 90% on hospitality and cleanliness. This is the standard we want to achieve every time.

I am also sorry you had such trouble with the communication technology during your stay. As indicated the good news is we have all modern options available to be sure no one is ever cut off. Because of our location this has been no small task. We constructed a tower at the sawmill site to rebroadcast high-speed internet to the Inn and surrounding community. The Inn has 5 wifi repeaters so every room has a good connection. We use VOIP phones in-room to give free long distance calling to all guests. That does come with a 2 long distance call limitation - normally it is not difficult to get a free channel. And we have a pop-up antenna on the roof to repeat cell signal in the lobby in case all else fails. I was personally the second employee that came to your room and resolved the phone issue, returning from my home (across the parking lot) on Sunday evening to ensure your phone would work. I did try to duck in as 'the repair guy' so I understand why you did not recognize the owner was assisting you. But you would have made the connection when I had my name tag on at check-out after making your breakfast the next day?

As to your comment that we were in the room and would have seen the shape it was in I can only say that when we have to enter a guest room we keep our eyes to ourselves to respect your privacy. We were informed of a phone issue so we looked only at the phone. As we were in your room so often to complete the repair had you asked us to look at any of these items you would have had them resolved as quickly as the phone. I have taken guests to the lounge for a complimentary beverage in the past while I fixed issues in the room. I am happy to say, not often. But we are capable and willing to fix any issue that is brought to our attention.

On your suggestion that guests bring their own tissue and TP I would not recommend this. As we are on country septic the result would be plugging up your facilities.

Finally, you made the comment that the location did not do much for you. As much as I understand the cleaning and communication issues I will point out that I do not feel you came out to experience the best of what we have here. You arrived on a Sunday evening after the spa closed knowing the spa was not available on Monday, you did not enquire about or enjoy the Bruce Trail and natural surroundings during your stay and you ordered chicken wings for dinner (though we are known for our 'wingsday') when the chef's dining menu was available. Of course the point of the daily deal offers is for us to be introduced to new guests and for guests to find a new experience at a discount. We certainly do not mean to tell you how to enjoy your getaway. But our location is setup to help you enjoy these other amenities. When they are not experienced it can be difficult to understand what it is we offer of value.

We are in discussion with wagjag on how we can resolve this issue for you. For future guests we continue to commit to a high standard of housekeeping and are reviewing policies following large parties so we do not repeat this situation going forward.

Best Regards,
Dwayne Hallman
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here mid-week for a mini getaway. We were amazed to see how friendly and helpful the staff were. The site is cozy and clean, the room was very spacious with a balcony and view of the falls (all rooms have a balcony and view of the falls). It is situated it a very quiet and remote area, and we had the chance to do a hike on the Bruce Trail, which is the backyard of the inn. A lot of the meals and items on the menu are home-made (i.e. their ice cream, jam, scones, syrup, etc...) and were absolutely delicious. Meals reminded us of food from some of the top upscale restaurants in big cities, at a fraction of the cost. It is also a short drive from Collingwood and the Blue Mountains, so we were able to do a lot of the outdoor activities around there during our stay. We highly recommend this place to all couples, and families who enjoy the outdoors and can appreciate a quiet retreat away from the busy city life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I decided to begin our lives together at The Falls Inn after a romantic stay there the weekend after we were engaged. It won us over on our initial romantic celebration with beautiful scenery, great food, and friendly service. In preparing for our wedding, Meg was so knowledgeable, flexible, and professional in helping us work out all the details. The day of our wedding was a beautiful and enjoyable day for us because they look after everything from set up to coordinating vendors and ensuring the wedding party is where they are supposed to be when they're supposed to be there. All day, and since, we've heard rave reviews about the food at our wedding! We had a Sunday brunch, and everything was delicious! Finally, we booked out all but one of the rooms for us and our guests and everyone enjoyed their stay! The Bridal Suite is stunning!
For someone looking for a picturesque and professional wedding venue with amazing food, I highly recommend The Falls Inn! Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I visited The Falls Inn in Walter's Falls for a two day stay/getaway.
The Inn itself is located in the village and it is nestled along the falls and the Bruce trail. This Inn is popular with on site weddings during the summer and it's close to Meaford and Thornbury. We had a very nice room with a full view of the falls as well as a little balcony to sit back and enjoy the scenery. A very serene atmosphere. The room itself was spotless and bed was very comfy.
We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in their dining room and both were above average.
Not much to do in Walter's Falls itself unless you want to just sit back, read a book or just unwind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was surprised to note that every room in this inn has a view of the falls. Lovely! The room was great, and included a tiny balcony with a table and 2 chairs. There's also an outdoor deck off the dining room, and the dining room also looks out on the falls. The Bruce Trail goes right through the grounds. Bird feeders are kept filled.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and service was great. The food was excellent and the baking (fresh scones! cookies!) gets a gold star.

The inn is one of "Ontario's finest" and it sure lives up to the title.

If I had to find something to criticize, it's a very small thing - that the inn could have the outdoor area near the kitchen looking a bit tidier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiker7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We booked this place for a night stay in combination with other two day getaway. This place was well worth staying. We arrived late evening the staff were very helpful. Was not busy time of the year. the place was not hard to find. Greeted by the owners and for an early dinner, only limited time were available. Slightly unwind, though it was a little bit chilly, we tried to absorb the sound of the Walter's fall. The room we stayed in was fantastic, it seems that every room has a balcony. There was couple short cookies when we entered the room. My significant other had a bite and liked the compliment. Every thing was perfect except the biggest down side was the heating system in the room was noisy when the fan kicks on. The bathroom was clean and adequate. Used the shower couple of times. The best part came when we went for dinner. We had pan seared sea scallop, slightly over priced but well worth trying it, also an entree PEI Mussels was good value and we also had Braised Muscovy Duck with Raspberry garnish, mouth watering taste. The food was amazingly excellent, romantic setting overlooking the Waltor's Fall, that made it worth while. For break fast try the french toast, you won't regret. Had a little wonder around the falls the next and took a spa package for my significant other. Overall was short but sweet stay.

Room Tip: Check with Ontario's Finest Inn and become a member. You can have a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

just 2 hours north of Toronto this country inn offers full urban hotel amenities with a quiet country ambiance. It sits on the famous Bruce Trail for Hiking, on the Niagara escarpment. get up close and personal with nature and the geology that made the world famous Niagara Falls..you can walk through tall trees and limestone rock cliffs on a hike right out the door of the inn. come back for lunch or dinner made to world class standards, with local ingredients. We discovered this inn before it was built while exploring the areas waterfalls, and every time we visit the food has been terrific. We recently spent 2 nights there and had a relaxing and enjoyable time, tasting more of their fine fare. Autumn adds a riot of colour to this fine area, that's when we plan to return..

Room Tip: all the rooms overlook the falls, some have balconies, you can watch the sunset over the forest cano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you BillyBitzer. We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you in the fall :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walters Falls
19.9 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
23.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
12.6 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 11 in Collingwood
334 reviews
19.6 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#6 of 8 in Blue Mountains
400 reviews
23.3 mi away
Cranberry Resort
Cranberry Resort
#5 of 11 in Collingwood
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Inn & Spa

Address: 140 Front St. W, Walters Falls, Ontario N0H 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Walters Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walters Falls
Price Range: $95 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ontario's Finest Inn on the site of Walter's Falls historic sawmill overlooking Walter's Falls, a 45' double plunge waterfall near Owen Sound and Collingwood Ontario. Fine Dining, spa services, hiking on the Bruce Trail, local golf courses and many winter attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Falls Inn - Walter`s Falls Hotel Walters Falls
The Falls Inn & Spa Ontario/Walters Falls, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing