We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walters Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falls Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Oro Station, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I visited The Falls Inn in Walter's Falls for a two day stay/getaway.
The Inn itself is located in the village and it is nestled along the falls and the Bruce trail. This Inn is popular with on site weddings during the summer and it's close to Meaford and Thornbury. We had a very nice room with a full view of the falls as well as a little balcony to sit back and enjoy the scenery. A very serene atmosphere. The room itself was spotless and bed was very comfy.
We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in their dining room and both were above average.
Not much to do in Walter's Falls itself unless you want to just sit back, read a book or just unwind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    68
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
138
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was surprised to note that every room in this inn has a view of the falls. Lovely! The room was great, and included a tiny balcony with a table and 2 chairs. There's also an outdoor deck off the dining room, and the dining room also looks out on the falls. The Bruce Trail goes right through the grounds. Bird feeders are kept filled.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and service was great. The food was excellent and the baking (fresh scones! cookies!) gets a gold star.

The inn is one of "Ontario's finest" and it sure lives up to the title.

If I had to find something to criticize, it's a very small thing - that the inn could have the outdoor area near the kitchen looking a bit tidier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We booked this place for a night stay in combination with other two day getaway. This place was well worth staying. We arrived late evening the staff were very helpful. Was not busy time of the year. the place was not hard to find. Greeted by the owners and for an early dinner, only limited time were available. Slightly unwind, though it was a little bit chilly, we tried to absorb the sound of the Walter's fall. The room we stayed in was fantastic, it seems that every room has a balcony. There was couple short cookies when we entered the room. My significant other had a bite and liked the compliment. Every thing was perfect except the biggest down side was the heating system in the room was noisy when the fan kicks on. The bathroom was clean and adequate. Used the shower couple of times. The best part came when we went for dinner. We had pan seared sea scallop, slightly over priced but well worth trying it, also an entree PEI Mussels was good value and we also had Braised Muscovy Duck with Raspberry garnish, mouth watering taste. The food was amazingly excellent, romantic setting overlooking the Waltor's Fall, that made it worth while. For break fast try the french toast, you won't regret. Had a little wonder around the falls the next and took a spa package for my significant other. Overall was short but sweet stay.

Room Tip: Check with Ontario's Finest Inn and become a member. You can have a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

just 2 hours north of Toronto this country inn offers full urban hotel amenities with a quiet country ambiance. It sits on the famous Bruce Trail for Hiking, on the Niagara escarpment. get up close and personal with nature and the geology that made the world famous Niagara Falls..you can walk through tall trees and limestone rock cliffs on a hike right out the door of the inn. come back for lunch or dinner made to world class standards, with local ingredients. We discovered this inn before it was built while exploring the areas waterfalls, and every time we visit the food has been terrific. We recently spent 2 nights there and had a relaxing and enjoyable time, tasting more of their fine fare. Autumn adds a riot of colour to this fine area, that's when we plan to return..

Room Tip: all the rooms overlook the falls, some have balconies, you can watch the sunset over the forest cano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you BillyBitzer. We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you in the fall :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a great place to go for hiking or relaxation. Other than that there is not much else to do. Make sure you take proper hiking shoes as the trail is very rocky and full of tree roots. The food was good but very very expensive for what you get! Over all the experience of going was great had a good time (could have done without the 2:00 am fire alarm though for 10 mins).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tye53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi tye53, thank you for the review. Yes we do suggest bringing hiking books or sturdy shoes for any part of the Bruce Trail. But the area around the falls is quite rocky and natural. For things to do we suggest visitgrey.ca for planning. There is hiking, spa, dining, a boutique shop and DVD movies onsite. Nearby we are close to horseback trails, golf, beaches, Le Scandinave and much more. We were also upset by the fire alarm. We can only say it was triggered in a guestroom upstairs and no fire was found. I can not say I agree that our dining prices are high. Our apps start at $12 and entrees at $28. All meals are chef prepared fresh at order from quality local and organic ingredients. Still, for a lighter option, we offer a pub menu in the lounge at a lower starting price. See the dining section of the website for a full menu. Thanks for the feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went to The Falls Inn on Mother''s Day weekend and has a wonderful time. The room was gorgeous and very roomy. We did quite a bit of hiking in the area and got lots of wonderful pictures there. No complaints other than a fire alarm overnight, but that wasn't in their control.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsinnwf, Owner at The Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi Nichole, Thanks for the review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time. Sorry for the late night wake-up. We hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

To Whom is reading this email....

My Husband and I were married at this lovely Inn in summer 2011. The location was beautiful and Meg could not have been more helpful in getting our wedding organized. We enjoyed the rooms and views both when we were there for the wedding and ahead of the wedding when we went up to check out the Inn. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. When stayed over on the evening after our wedding we once again enjoyed the food and it was so wonderful to see how many other couples were there for anniversaries etc. We are still getting glowing comments from our wedding guests about our wonderful wedding location and food.

Thank you so much for all that you did to help us enjoy our special day and our only regret is that we live a little too far to be back more often than we would like, but we are both looking forward to coming back for another stay and visit. You can definately tell what a difference having the same people own and operate the Inn makes to your stay because the people you deal with actually care and want you to enjoy your time wiht them. Thank you again, Walter and Janet

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walters Falls
19.8 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
12.6 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
499 reviews
22.3 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Irish Mountain Bed and Breakfast
21.6 mi away
Pretty River Valley Country Inn
16.3 mi away
Inn at Cobble Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Inn & Spa

Property: The Falls Inn & Spa
Address: 140 Front St. W, Walters Falls, Ontario N0H 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Walters Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Walters Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ontario's Finest Inn on the site of Walter's Falls historic sawmill overlooking Walter's Falls, a 45' double plunge waterfall near Owen Sound and Collingwood Ontario. Fine Dining, spa services, hiking on the Bruce Trail, local golf courses and many winter attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Falls Inn - Walter`s Falls Hotel Walters Falls
The Falls Inn & Spa Ontario/Walters Falls, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing