We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only went to the bar...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dunseverick B&B and Inns
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Only went to the bar...”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

There is a B&B here, but we only went to the bar whilst staying in the village. Sadly there were not many customers in there, but we had a great night, great service from the bar, and a night on the pool table. Reasonable prices behind the bar too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
27
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are looking for a charming/romantic B&B with elegant decor and modern fixtures, this isn't it. The rooms are not that attractive and the beds could use new mattresses, BUT, they are clean and relatively comfortable and if you just need a place to lay your head and shower in the morning, it's an ideal location for area attractions. My son wasn't all that impressed, but I have stayed in a lot worse. Charlie, the bartender, was very friendly and the pub attached is cozy and fun with live music the night we were there. The breakfast was lovely and I have no problem recommending them as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sseaton68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've just stayed at the causeway b&b, and felt I owed it to the friendly owners to write a review, the room was of a decent size, clean, fresh and homely. The bathroom was adequate and the shower had fantastic pressure, the most impressive thing was the hosts knowledge of the local area and coastline, and their genuine friendliness. The breakfast was excellent, and the choice on offer quite extensive. From cereal, yogurt, fruit to a massive full Irish fry up. Fresh cafetiere coffee or tea, fresh fruit juice. At what time you wish. Overall a really homely friendly good place to stay that doesn't hit the wallet to much. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed, and quite of a night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here in April. Very friendly bar man and also very homely place to stay. Ideal stop offf when touring in the aerea. Rooms clean and beds comfertable. Huge breckfast next morning. Set us up fr the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

rooms very small very dusty skirtings tops of pictures also cobwebs in bathroom. no entertainment.food nice. close to giants causeway. also bushmills distillary worth a visit rooms could do with a refurbish and take the rubber sheets off bed as it makes you sweat

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinemillar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barmanblitz, Owner at Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Causeway Tavern on your recent trip to the causeway coast and for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor.
Thank you for highlighting that the food is excellent and fresh produce is used .
Thank you for highlighting that we are close to the giants causeway and the Bushmills distillery.
Your stay was on sunday and monday we do not advertise any entertainment for these nights plus the fact we are a B&B you pay for bed and breakfast not entertainment if any entertainment is on it comes free of charge.
I personally have inspected the room that you stayed in and have found no issues with dust .
The mattress covers seem to be an issue with some people they are there for hygiene reasons there is always the option of taking them off but there is a quilted mattress cover and a sheet over the top of the thin plastic sheet we have on occasion had to throw sheets away on the low prices that we charge we cant afford to throw mattresses away. I feel guests would rather sleep on nice clean mattresses.
We are constantly upgradeing the rooms you failed to put in your review that there was a brand new wardrobe in the room and new chairs.
I am sorry that we did meet your expectations with the room you were allocated on this occasion. We have a variety of different rooms varying in size, style and layout, and I feel confident that should you be returning to the B&B we would be able to accommodate you in a room more to your liking.

I sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed there in the middle of the winter, when many other hostels and hotel were closed for the season. The hosts were amazingly friendly. Out of pure kindness they drove us around, showed us the area and even took us to the bus in bushmills, when we left. Just awesome people. Oh, and the breakfast was almost more we could eat and absolutely delicious.
Thanks a million for everything!

Benni & Jenni from Germany

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barmanblitz, Owner at Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write about your positive experience in our b&b. I will certainly convey the kind words to my team as your satisfaction is our reward and I’m sure they will be pleased to hear about your glowing report.

Should you have any suggestions or further comments as to how we can always improve, please let us know. In the mean time, we hope to welcome you back to the Causeway Tavern should you choose to return to the causeway coast in Northern Ireland at any time in the future ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We headed up to the Giant's Causeway (where we'd been with the kids 8 years ago, so we needed to go BACK to see how much it's changed, and it HAS ... and we were disappointed at a number of the changes...), only to find that our original plans at the Bushmills Hostel fell through, but no worries -- we found THIS place listed in a local telephone booth as being among places to stay, and when we called, they were friendly and helpful (and NOT outrageously priced like several we called). We found the place well outside Bushmills, but that didn't bother us. There are 4 in the family and the room was small, but that didn't bother us, either. Top Gear on the t.v., HOT showers, well-stocked tea tray (chocolate, people, there was CHOCOLATE on that tray!), and the kids were happy and so were we. The breakfast was AWESOME, and MANY THANKS to the innkeepers for doing our laundry! It was worth EVERY PENNY (warning to other travelers: just about every self-serve laundrette in Ireland is out of business. Pack accordingly). Music? We didn't hear any music (we were there in November). Nor did we head down to the bar (and I wish I had). Delightful owners, full of information and tips about the sights to see. Like I said, we were disappointed in the Causeway changes, but we will definitely be back and hope that the Causeway Tavern has rooms available!

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hall on the right. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barmanblitz, Owner at Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write about your positive experience in our hotel. I will certainly convey the kind words to my team as your satisfaction is our reward and I’m sure they will be pleased to hear about your glowing report.

Should you have any suggestions or further comments as to how we can always improve, please let us know. In the mean time, we hope to welcome you back to the Causeway Tavern should you choose to return the North coast in Northern Ireland again many thanks for your custom and kind words...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunseverick
2.2 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
751 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,777 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
1.8 mi away
Carnside Guest House
Carnside Guest House
#10 of 27 in Bushmills
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Lodge
Causeway Lodge
#1 of 2 in Dunseverick
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast

Property: Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast
Address: 241 Whitepark Road, Dunseverick, Bushmills BT57 8SP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Dunseverick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dunseverick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Causeway Tavern B&B is a licensed establishment located at the heart of the causeway coast 2.5 miles from Bushmills. We have 6 rooms all ensuite we are family run and pride ourselves in trying to bring the best service to our customers. Ideally located for the exploring tourist, close to Giants Causeway, Bushmills whiskey distillery and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge and many more attractions.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing