We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total rip off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dunseverick B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you want to pay £105 for b&b for 2 people in a boiling hot, foosty room with no view, above a pub playing live music from "Hoggy" until closing time, then this is the place to be. The only view was from the end of the corridor, through the window of the fire escape, which afforded a panorama of a dirty wall and overgrown yard, the remains of a large chest freezer, a falling-down shed, and a ruined car before the eye was drawn beyond to a field with a few cows in it. The TV, although flatscreen, was marginally bigger than a postage stamp. The thin pillows had some ghastly plastic covering on that I've only seen on kids' beds in case of accidents (luckily these crackly accoutrements were able to be unzipped and removed), the radiator was on full blast with no controls usable without a spanner (strangely enough I don't travel with one) and coal smoke from the neighbour blew in through the open window. The sink was smaller than an airplane one and you could barely fit a toothbrush under the tap let alone your hand or the kettle - we had to use the plastic pint glasses to convey water to the kettle for a cup of tea. If you book online and haven't paid in advance, prepare to pay in cash or make a bank transfer at the bar via paypal as they have no card facilities. Wifi IS available, but not in room 4 as it doesn't seem to stretch up the stairs. Apart from a small kitkat each, the only decent thing was the ample and tasty breakfast which was somewhat marred by the avaricious yet vociferous proprietor. It's a beautiful area, but don't stay at this establishment. We stayed in Cookstown after this, in a 4 star hotel with spa and leisure complex for £138 total b&b for the pair of us for 2 nights. 'Nuff said.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 124 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

The people, food, and atmosphere are great at this B&B. We enjoyed our one night stay in the quiet area. It was beautiful location close to Bushmills Distillery and Giant Causeway. I would go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Perect for access to Bush,ills and the Giants Causeway, the pub/bed and breakfast has a great atmosphere.

A heart breakfast and friendly staff will welcome you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

For a bed and breakfast, it had a hotel feel. Rooms were extremely small and had an awful odor. The breakfast was large and very good but that's about all it had going for it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kull0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The B&B is located 5 mins from the Causeway and Ballintoy harbour. The rooms are clean, tea facilities where provided. There was ample supply of towels, shower gel and even some mints in the room. The attached pub had music at night. The breakfast in the morning was filling with plenty of options. I went for the full irish breakfast and it set me up for the day. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay whilst exploring the North coast of Ireland.

Room Tip: Call for best price on rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhhdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Arrived mid afternoon to the accommodation. Checked in at the bar. There was a roaring open fire and a few friendly locals enjoying a pint at the bar. We were shown to the room. It was quite small but perfectly clean and comfortable. There was a smell of fresh paint as the whole place seemed to have been recently re-decorated. The modern bathroom was fully tiled and spotlessly clean. Enjoyed a great night in the bar attached to accommodation. Enjoyed the company of some of the locals. We also had friends call with us who live around 8 miles away. The owner actually drove them home at the end of the night. A nice touch I thought. The breakfast the next morning was excellent. All the fresh fruit, cereal and juice you could handle was available. This was followed by and nice fry up. The owner had a nice chat as we were leaving. Great personal service with a good standard of accommodation sums up the Causeway Tavern. Will definitly use again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

i keep going back here .the bedrooms have all been refurbished.all now have slimline televisions.and tea,or coffee,biscuits, and even packets of cup a soup,the breakfast is still the same mega.it is a 5 course one starting with fruit juice,cereal,toast,all the tea or coffee you want and then the big ulster fry,or you can have scrambled eggs or a veggy one or a continental.there is live music on at the weekends.and the craic is great with the locals.if you dont have transport the owner will run you into bushmills all part of the service.i would recomend this place to anyone who wants a weekend on the causeway coast,

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunseverick
2.2 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
853 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
2,023 reviews
9 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
PortCaman House
PortCaman House
#13 of 27 in Bushmills
99 reviews
3.4 mi away
Causeway B&B
Causeway B&B
#15 of 27 in Bushmills
29 reviews
2.6 mi away
Finn MacCool's Public House and Guest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast

Address: 241 Whitepark Road, Dunseverick, Bushmills BT57 8SP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Dunseverick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dunseverick
Price Range: $80 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Causeway Tavern B&B is a licensed establishment located at the heart of the causeway coast 2.5 miles from Bushmills. We have 6 rooms all ensuite we are family run and pride ourselves in trying to bring the best service to our customers. Ideally located for the exploring tourist, close to Giants Causeway, Bushmills whiskey distillery and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge and many more attractions.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing