We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid - please read”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangybi
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Avoid - please read”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I very rarely write a review, let alone a negative one, however, this hotel unfortunately calls for one.
We booked a suite for three nights.
On arrival and check in, we were directed to our suite in a stone cottage on the drive.
The room was grubby. Cobwebs, unhoovered carpet, a toilet flush that didn't work and lights coming out of the bathroom ceiling.
The kitchenette, also very grubby, had dead spiders in the corners of the floor, the fridge had not been cleaned out and had spillages inside. The furniture was stained, there were damp stains on the walls and the windows were rotten. Further more there were bare/exposed wires attached to the kitchen doorframe and it appears the appliances are not PAT tested upto date.
After initially complaining, we were offered a further room, however, the hotel only had one available suite for the first night (as and we had a 22month daughter with us) normal rooms were unsuitable.
We stayed the first night uncomfortably.
The second day we were between family visits so came back to put our daughter down for a quick nap, to find that another guest just walk into our room (although according to the hotel manager, this was wholly our fault!).
Due to the appalling state of the hotel and security concerns we had no choice but to leave early and travel the 6 hours home.
The hotel seems to have moved away from its core business of being a hotel and just a venue for parties.
Am unsure what actual rating the hotel has, however, unless it is a 1, it is overrated. I have also added pictures so feel free to judge yourself.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Irving-Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have taken over the management of The Cwrt Bleddyn since you stayed with us. I have looked at all the points you have made and they form part of my action plan to improve our standards. I hope that you will return in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to discuss your review further. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    249
    143
    76
    40
See reviews for
136
400
20
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, most of the staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was nice and spacious with lovely views. The spa area is very relaxing and clean. The breakfast in the morning was a bit cold to be honest but apart from that it's a really nice place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have taken over the management of The Cwrt Bleddyn since you stayed with us. I have looked at all the points you have made and they form part of my action plan to improve our standards. I hope that you will return in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to discuss your review further. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonkitty72
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Came out here with some friends for the Xmas Party night on 13.12.2013. It was a great night (The Elastic Band were amazing) with a good party atmosphere. Stayed the night and had a fab night's sleep in Room 17. Our friends really enjoyed as well. Staff great as always. Breakfast the next morning was good as ever. This is our 3rd visit to this hotel of 2013 (Got married there too) and have always loved it. Yeah you can nit pick over little issues like leaves in the Courtyard but I thought they looked lovely! Merry Christmas to all the staff and see you in 2014 :-)

Room Tip: Room 17 is lovely and the bed is lush :-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonkitty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have taken over the management of The Cwrt Bleddyn since you stayed with us. I have looked at all the points you have made and they form part of my action plan to improve our standards. I hope that you will return in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to discuss your review further. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very welcoming, friendly and obliging staff. The hotel accommodation and facilities were very good in particular the bedroom and Leisure centre/Spa, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have taken over the management of The Cwrt Bleddyn since you stayed with us. I have looked at all the points you have made and they form part of my action plan to improve our standards. I hope that you will return in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to discuss your review further. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just had a great KGB deal stay - fantastic value for money - the staff were the most helpful, pleasant people anyone could ask for - special thanks to the lovely gardener who helped me when my car ran out of water, but I could easily list 3 more who all went the extra mile. The hotel is a bit tired and it would be easy to find fault as some others have done, but taken in the context of a really cheap price it is brilliant - the building is gorgeous (cosy up in front of the fire in the wood panelled snug). Setting is stunning - so quiet. The food way exceeded our expectations - it was excellent - there were 10 of us (with a good few foodies in the mix) and we were all delighted with our meals. Breakfast was equally good and we all can't wait to come back - good news is the deal is back on KGB

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex behind the spa are lovely and quiet but quite hot upstairs (but you can turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelovestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for your review and your very kind comments which are much appreciated by the team at Cwrt Bleddyn

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you think a spa day should be about relaxation, think again. How about a freezing cold pool, showers and Jacuzzi. Dirty and cold changing rooms, and tepid showers. Would you like to have to change into outdoor clothes to go to the hotel to have your lunch. No poolside fascilities as promised in the brochure!!! On my request to see the hotel manager, I was told that he wasn't available. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that a boiler issue detracted from your stay and I hope you will accept my apologies.

We used to be able to service refreshments and light meals around the poolside but on the advice of our insurers have had to stop doing this and I do appreciate the inconvenience this may have caused. Where possible we try and serve these in the relaxation room, but this is subject to availability.

If you would please contact David spoor the GM at Cwrt Bleddyn he would be delighted to meet with you to discuss what he may do to put this matter right as I see you are local. Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you are thinking of visiting the Spa at this hotel please do not bother. Years ago this place was such a beautiful Spa to visit it was always so clean and warm and totally relaxing it has gone down so much.
They advertise it as a Relaxing Spa Day! what a joke! The water in the pool was cool, treatments were booked and there was only one member of Staff for the treatments which meant we were unable to go the same times.
There was nothing to relax on unless you can relax on those horrible cheap plastic lounger type things without cushions. Someone was working on lights whilst there with no one saying excuse the work going on etc.
There was a lot to be desired re the cleaning, shower on pool side had dirt in the corners etc, water was standing on the uneven surface around the pool. Not nice and I will never visit again. Sent an e mail to complain for the attention of Manager about a week ago and as yet no reply.

Room Tip: This was a Spa Visit only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry you did not enjoy your Spa Day. Unfortunately we have to staff for treatments around what treatments we have pre booked, which does mean that we sometimes have one therapist on duty, and I apologise for this necessity.

We were carrying out essential works around the pool area and I am sorry that the maintenance crew had not tidied up properly, although this area was attended to later by the cleaners.

We have a range of chairs and loungers and I am sorry that at peak times loungers may not be available and we are currently looking at purchasing extras for the Spring so we have enough for both poolside and in the garden.

I have asked David Spoor the Gm to check his spam box for email as he doesnt appear to have an email from you, but he would like to discuss your comments so perhaps you could phone him so he may resolve this matter.

Richard our new Health Club Manager who started a few weeks ago has been appraised of your comments so he can focus his attentions.

Thank you for posting a comments and I hope you will accept our apologies and phone the manager so we may re establish your faith in Cwrt Bleddyn.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangybi
3.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa

Property: Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Address: Cwrt Bleddyn, Llangybi, Usk NP15 1PG, Wales (Formerly Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk > Llangybi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangybi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel Llangybi
Best Western Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel And Spa
Cwrt Bleddyn Newport
Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel
Hotel Cwrt Bleddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing