We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good customer service; new management got work cut out though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangybi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a deal planning to walk Brecon Beacons. We got assigned a room in a separate building and asked to be located in in hotel main building. Felt as a voucher paying customer, as I have experienced with vouchers before, we got less customer service and were told for the money we paid there were no other twin rooms of that standard. Took our room after reloading car with bags in pouring rain (though we were offered help) and drove round to the room. On opening door firstly realised the room had a double bed not twin and a moth greeted us. Then another and another. 4 might later we were on the phone to reception as we'd also noticed several spiders, cobwebs, green flying insects, alive and dead on the carpet, a window sill of dead flies etc. Staff said they couldn't spray it if we were staying in it so we returned to reception where a more senior member of staff placed us in a superior room. And it was lovely!!! So after that we had a great meal in the restaurant, lovely wineed in the bar and a lovely lovely swim and soak in the fabulous atmospherically lit spa. Very nice! Shame about some of the hotel details like the thick dust on the coffee table legs and piddly shower which was not much more than a dripping tap and pure filthy fire escape stairs with a fold up bed, haunted house style thick cobwebs and sheer muck on the fire escape stairs we used as a short cut to our car. I understand the hotel is under new management. Would definitely return in the future so long as they tidy it up a bit. If the customer service (eventually) is any promise to go by as well as the food and friendly staff, this place has much promise! I WOULD recommend due to potential!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elleffby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thanks for your review and yes we are working hard with the new owners and the team at the hotel to realise the potential of Cwrt Bleddyn.

We look forward to welcoming you back so you can see the improvements we are making and we will soon be putting Nespresso coffee machines into all the Superior bedrooms.

Watch this space and follow us on social media

Thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 930 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I attended a spa day with a friend at the Cwrt Bleddyn last Saturday. We had booked the 'gold' package and after undergoing a lot of medical treatment recently I was very much looking forward to a day of relaxation.

We were each booked in for an hours massage at 11 and 12 o'clock. We'd been told when we booked over the phone that only one therapist works on a Saturday so we'd be unable to have the same times. Although this disappointed us we decided to book anyway. When we arrived at 10.30am Saturday morning we were told that the therapist was running behind and we would need to reduce our treatment to a 30 minute back massage. This was absolutely ludicrous. My friend explained that it was very unfair to suggest that when we were already there and if that was going to be the case we should have been contacted prior to leaving. After a fifteen minute debate, the therapist rather hesitantly agreed to fit us in by working through her lunch. This was a rather stressful start to say the least. Being made to feel guilty is hardly great customer service.

Included in the spa day package are supposedly robe, towel and slippers; pool side refreshments and a poolside lunch. This was listed in the brochure and confirmed when we booked our visit. When we had finally settled the massage disagreement, we were given our robes and towels (no slippers because they had run out?) My friend's robe had no waist tie so we waited a further 10 minutes while the gentleman who works in the gym went to find one!

There were no poolside refreshments. When I enquired I was informed this was because of health and safety reasons, yet it is still in the brochure and when we checked in we were not informed of this change. I was told that I could help myself to juice, water or tea in the relaxation room however when I went to make a cup of tea the urn was turned off.

We then asked about our poolside lunch, once again to be informed that because of health and safety reasons, this would not be possible and we would have to go to the main building. It was torrential rain that day which as you can imagine it was very unpleasant running through the rain in a dressing gown. Luckily we both had pumps or we would have made the journey in boots and a robe.

The changing rooms were cold and in a very poor state. The showers were faulty, dirty and the water only luke warm. The toilets were pitch black and when asked, the male gym worker said they were waiting for someone to come to repair them. However, a lady I spoke to in the changing room said this excuse has been used for some time. It is simply unacceptable to have no lights in the toilet.

We were extremely up satisfied with our day. The organisation, customer service and facilities are in dire need of improvement. I feel it was a complete waste of money (£65 is hardly a cheap day out.) I have written all of this in a letter of complaint and look forward to hearing what course of action the Cwrt Bleddyn is going to take.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that a partial power failure and staff illness spoilt your day and led to areas being cold and partial lit and we did get an engineer on site as soon as possible.

I would be most grateful if you could contact David Spoor the General Manager who will deal with you directly as to how best to resolve this matter which I am sure you will agree was beyond our control and we did the best we could, but accept this was not enough.

Thank you and kindest regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank ogliv
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Attended a friends Birthday function, the room allocated was of a very good size. Nice and spacious bathroom, general cleanliness of the room was pretty good although certain areas were in desperate need of a good lick of paint. Service was ok, just ok. The Function room was large and lit with many bright spot lights, Buffet food was once again ok. Breakfast in the morning was pretty poor, you can always tell the standard of a hotels breakfast by its Sausage and this one was terrible! In the light the Breakfast Restaurant needed a good deep clean and the front courtyard needed a good sweep. Cannot comment on the Spa as did not enter, Sky Sports on loop is not a good look in the Main Bar! All in all nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felipej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for your review and sorry about breakfast. I have asked David Spoor the GM to check on our delivery on that date as we buy locally and don't normally have an issue. Apologies.

Much as we try to keep the falling leaves at bay they do tend to gather in the courtyard and find their way in when we open the restaurant doors onto the garden. Apologies and we will be more vigilant.

Hope we see you again

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have been to the Cwrt Bleddyn Spa prior to the refurbishment when it lacked organisation and had high staff turnover. I have been back again recently, I booked the Spa package 1 month in advance. On arrival in the morning the gentleman at the desk informed me that they would not be able to carry out a full body massage included in the package as the massage therapist was running behind. This immediately starts the relaxing Spa day on the wrong foot. After discussing the options I suggested letting their clients know in the afternoon that they were running behind not to simply cancel my treatment to make up time. After some discussion, the therapist explained extra treatments had been booked in but agreed she would work into her lunch hour to provide the treamtent requested. I feel the diary should be organised properly such that double booking cannot occur. In the changing rooms the lights in the toilets didn't work, one shower was out of order and the others were flooded and mouldy, so much for the refurbishment. The robes was supplied without a tie and there were no slippers. Also the 'poolside lunch' advertised with this package had to be taken in the restaurant so I had to walk outside in the rain to have lunch. Slippers should have been provided! The lunch was well presented and tasty. Thee spa facilities were all working.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dini222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Sorry that staff sickness meant we had difficulties but delighted that the team agreed to work through breaks to accommodate you and apologies.

Unfortunately we cannot serve food by the pool but this can be taken in the relaxation room but a majority of our guests choose to go to the main hotel and relax and unwind.

Apologies for any inconvenience caused and we do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed twice at Cwrt Bleddyn recently -Sept and Oct - and cannot fault the place. The food was absolutely fantastic and staff extremely helpful. Rooms fine on ground floor, which we requested as my husband is disabled. They could not do enough for us. Would recommend to anyone. Mark B - we saw no mould or peeling wallpaper ? Did not visit fitness area, therefore cannot comment. Will certainly re-visit.
G. Davies.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDAVIES4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangybi
3.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
9.2 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa

Address: Cwrt Bleddyn, Llangybi, Usk NP15 1PG, Wales (Formerly Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk > Llangybi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangybi
Price Range: $80 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel And Spa
Best Western Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel Llangybi
Cwrt Bleddyn Newport
Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel
Hotel Cwrt Bleddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing