We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel did not honour their groupon deal. Which was a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangybi
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel did not honour their groupon deal. Which was a shame”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

On arrival the hotel is amazing location lovely and staff although sparce were very nice.
Rooms are very average although quite nice clean to first glance but cobwebs with dust on so obviously there a while! Carpets are thread bare in the halls etc the roof was leaking in the bar with wine/champagne coolers spaced around catching the rain!!!
The Groupon deal was-
The Deal

• £99 for an overnight stay for two (Up to 51% off)
In a double or twin room with three-course evening meal, full Welsh breakfast and spa access
Double or twin en suite room
Flat screen TV, Wi-Fi access, and tea and coffee facilities

Three-course evening meal
Full Welsh Breakfast
Complimentary spa access
Includes bottle of wine
Range of upgrades available

The steam room was out of action and the swimming pool was freezing, some showers were out of action and the rest were stone cold, the men's were the same only full of mold and dirty, there were no staff in the spa so towels available either!

On vacating we were handed a bill for £62 etc for food in the restaurant which was supposed to be included, the receptionist said she couldn't do anything about it!! So I have complained to the hotel and groupon but have not received a reply from the hotel as yet!!

Such a shame as it does have the potential to be a top hotel!!! And would be a lovely wedding setting but not as it is now!

The food was incredible could not fault it x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kissaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of LHM at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and I have spoken to David Sppor the General Manager at the hotel and perhaps as you know us, but we dont know you [such is the set up with Trip Advisor] you could contact him to discuss.

If you queried the bill with the Receptionist it seems unlikely that she has not creditted you with the Groupon menu or the agreed value of £25 per person if you ate off the a la carte.

The hotel, which we manage, was recently bought out of administration and a refurbishment plan has already commenced with the installation of a new steam room and upgrading the sauna. Sorry about the pool temperatutre, but please contact David at the hotel so this can be resolved one way or the other.

The Groupon deal is highly competitive, but also means that any extras have to be settled on departure.

Thanks and kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    254
    147
    77
    41
See reviews for
140
409
20
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louth, Lincs, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for wedding in Llangybi.

We found the hotel ok but the sign posting to reception wasn't easy as we arrived in the dark.

We made our way to our room in the main building but on entering it was cold and the radiators weren't working in the room or the bathroom. There was a convector heater provided but needless to say we went back to reception to ask for a heated room. With no fuss we were given a new room, the Seymour Room, which was warm, spacious and inviting.

We ate in the bar on our 1st night and the food and the service was good. The food and drinks were reasonably priced too.

Breakfast on our 1st morning was again very good and the service was excellent. Breakfast on the 2nd morning was ok but not quite as good as the previous breakfast.

I visited the gym and pool which were ok but not up to the standards of the Best Western leisure club I belong to in Louth, Lincolnshire. The equipment could do with updating as could the pool area. The pool temperature was cool, very cool.

Overall this is hotel is in a super location to explore this part of South Wales and the countryside is beautiful but the hotel is in need of some tlc. The cobwebs over the toaster at breakfast danced in the warmth from heat. But the staff were very friendly and the service was very good.

I understand its under new ownership so hopefully it will improve soon. I hope it does.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arrived fairly late, about 10pm, the receptionist was helpful and charming, the decor modern (in the lobby at least) and the outer courtyard looked gorgeous in the dim light.

However upon arrival to the room, we were disapointed with the threadbare carpet, light switches with no light, hair dryer holders on the wall with no hair dryer, a wobbly TV, floor lamps with no way of turning on and old plumbing.

A major upside however was the comfortable bed, on the first night.

The second night was a disaster. A works party was taking place downstairs and the noise was unbelievable. We had no notification of this both upon booking or checking in - a very unpleasant surprise. We called reception, but no answer for at least 10 rings, whom informed us that the party finished at 11pm. The music finally finished at 12.15am with the rowdy drunks not quieting down for long after this.

When we complained upon departure the response from the young receptionist was "I know, was a bit nuts like, didn't you join in?" No apology, no sympathy, no return business.

It is such a shame as the location is fantastic, but the management are running it into the ground. Cleanliness was poor throughout and the service at breakfast from the young girl was pathetic. The only hope for this place is the current franchisee moves on and someone with some vision of quality and service comes in to turn it around.

Room Tip: About 5 miles away in any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AntAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, Management Company at Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your review and the new owners [bought hotel in November 2012] are about to start investing in the property so many of your issues will be addresses and which seem to be at odds with other reviews.

Sorry about attitude which is really unacceptable and something that we can do something about, and David Spoor the GM has vented his spleen at the team.

Shouldnt have happened. sorry. Please follow us on Twitter for details on refurb and exciting offers.

Thank you

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Myself and husband stayed at this hotel in September 2012 . We were on a spa break and paid £220 for a 2 night break including 2 spa treatments, breakfast and £25 dinner allowance.
Firstly the staff were really friendly, the hotel room spotless, roomy, and with a lovely view.
The grounds are lovely, (weather not great when we stayed as we would have made the most of them). The hotel is only a couple of mile from the quaint town of Usk. (On our way to the hotel we stopped in Usk for some lunch at the three salmons, fantastic food well worth a stop) We choose a back massage and head massage for our treatments. These were both very good.
Unfortunately the sauna and jacuzzi were both out of action and the pool was a touch on the cold side. The pool area is lovely but could be amazing.
Dinner-scallops, venison and cherry and almond tart, food really surprised us. It was fresh, delicious and well presented, waiting staff were lovely really warm and welcoming. The downside we felt the dining room was lacking in atmosphere with no music until we had nearly finished our meal. Breakfast-good full welsh we asked if we could have some fried bread which was not on the menu but it was not a problem the staff are so helpful. We had a fabulous time and for an absolute bargain in our opinion. The hotel would benefit from some improvements but we were very satisfied and would definitely recommend. Thanks to the lovely staff .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenneillaura2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for New Year's and the break was good value with bed, breakfast and a delicious dinner The hotel really does do very good food in the restaurant, which has a nice tranquil atmosphere and you don't feel rushed. Kate the waitress was so welcoming and friendly. The barman Jon was also great and had plenty of time for us. In fact all the staff at this hotel are really nice and are a credit to the hotel. The hotel itself is in a lovely quiet setting, though not much within walking distance. Our room was very spacious, with a typical Best Western decor and a beautiful clean bathroom. Nice to have tea and coffee and hot chocolate and biscuits too. The leisure facilities were also nice - shame we couldn't visit again New Year's day and closed early New Year's eve, but that was ok. A few of the machines weren't working in gym, nor was steam room, but plenty of other things to use. The grounds are large and beautifully maintained. Our only bugbear was the rowdy party staying there which took over the whole hotel and made so much noise in the room next to us when they were getting ready, even if they quietened down later. They also made such a mess of the communal areas and toilets. This isn't the hotels fault as such but I think a hotel like this is better than the rowdy party being there. I appreciate why they let it out to such parties but what a shame, as it could be such a peaceful country retreat.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and was a standard double, which was furnished very comfortably and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at Crwt Bleddyn a few times and at first it was lovely.. My partner booked again for my birthday (19/12/2012) our room was damp.. The heaters were noisy.. We use the spa and pool area in the evening, the pool was freezing.. The shower which people are suppose to use in between using thespa was dripping constantly and when we tried to use it it was just dripping.. 1 out of 3 Showers that i tried do not work in the ladies changing rooms.. My partners mentioned that the toilets in the mens changing rooms were absolutely disgusting.. I'll leave that to everyone's imagination! Last year we stayed a night again for my birthday and the steam room was out of order.. When we arrived again this year it was out of order again. When we pay for hotel and spa I would like to use all the facilities. Surely the steam room should be fixed. I won't be returning this year. This is just my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmajake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for one night with the Eat&Stay Free offer, and for this is was quite a good deal. There was a wedding at the same time and the place is clearly advertised mostly as wedding venue. We stayed in the Annex, the room was ok, the only improvement could be a double mattress in a double bed instead of two singles and it could also be harder. This could make the night at ths quiet location more relaxing. The way to the Spa was quite dark, the lighting could be improved as other reviews also say. We went also to the spa, which was good, we returned the next morning again as it was raining all day and we were ok with using the spa even after check out. A sign for the switches of the Jacuzzi could e helpful, otherwise you could have the impression, it is not working.
The food was good, we were quite happy, service was well timed and friendly.
We would come back, if again in the area and looking for a quiet and relaxing night.
Scoring is based on the deal we got, for which it really is very good value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SpinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangybi
3.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa

Property: Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Address: Cwrt Bleddyn, Llangybi, Usk NP15 1PG, Wales (Formerly Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk > Llangybi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangybi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel And Spa
Best Western Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel Llangybi
Cwrt Bleddyn Newport
Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel
Hotel Cwrt Bleddyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing