We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Criminally Overpriced!”
Review of Dhafra Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dhafra Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jebel Dhanna
Ruwais, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Criminally Overpriced!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I waited a few months before writing this review, as I was torn between praising the exceptional service we received here, but at the same time, remaining true and honest about the hotel itself. As stated, the service here is second to none, and worthy of a much higher rating than one would find at most AD 3 Star hotels. From check-in to check-out, all members of the staff work tirelessly to ensure every possible need is met and your stay is a comfortable one. However...the hotel and grounds are a lost cause, and nothing short of a miracle or a complete demolition & rebuild could save them. To add insult to injury, there are many times during the summer months that the Dhafra rates are comparable to or higher than the Beach Rotana, Millennium, Hilton and even Emirates Palace (not an exaggeration - compare for yourselves).

It is for this reason that in good faith, I cannot rate this hotel higher. No pool, exorbitant rates and outdated and moldy rooms, combined for a less-than-memorable experience for my wife and I. To say that we'll never return is tempting fate I believe, but right here, right now, I can honestly say that I will never stay there again unless all other options are exhausted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Harris1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
23
14
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Nice staff. Food’s not bad. Food ordered through room service usually takes half an hour. A golf club with cheaper food is a 3-minute walk away. There’s a gym here but a nicer one is a 3-minute walk away at Danat (nicer side of the beach also). The bed’s comfortable but the carpet is moldy, especially in the hallway where the smell is more obvious. Because it’s necessary to have the dehumidifier and aircon running at all times, it gets pretty loud. Bring earplugs. Water in the toilet doesn’t always stop running upon first flush so that’s a bit irritating. Wifi signal in the room is pretty weak and sometimes doesn’t work at all in the evening/weekend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Stayed 29 months at the Dhaffra Beach Resort, and noticed a big improvement during the years.
The service is excellent and there is a sense of belonging.
The beds are of superior quality and the beach is a welcome place to relax after a bussy day. The buffert has a good spread of delicious food.
Hope to call on the hotel while on a stop over in Abu Dhabi.
Erwin Selversmet
erwinselversmet@yahoo.com.sg

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This hotel was used to stay for a long time by our company and we had several collegues staying over. Quality and service are ok, the hotel is full of expats, which makes it cozy if you are there for work related activities. New matrasses are of good quality. Food is good. Only the carpets are really dirty and need to be replaced.
Price is a little high, but is more acceptable than the "sister" hotel Danat Resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoosterZaandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dxb
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2008

i stayed there for 1 month, the hotel is quite old, however it is very well maintained generally.
the food is amazing, with 3 meals open buffet, always fresh, hot & delicious. the restaurant is even opened for more than the official timings. no limits on your daily visits to it.
the service is really good, polite & professional.
rooms are not big but still comfortable, clean & well maintained. TV channels are quite OK, the bouquet is well selected.
internet is only available in the lobby and not always good.
gym, beach & swimming pool are not for use, however we can always use the facilities of the neighbouring hotel (Danat) where the beach, pool, gym, squash, tennis courts are all available & free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mido26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jebel Dhanna
12.1 mi away
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al ...
#2 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
381 reviews
12.2 mi away
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Sahel Villa Resort
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al ...
#1 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
321 reviews
23.7 mi away
Western Hotel - Ghayathi
Western Hotel - Ghayathi
#74 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Danat Jebel Dhanna Resort
Danat Jebel Dhanna Resort
#1 of 2 in Jebel Dhanna
445 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa
Anantara Desert Islands Resort &...
#3 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhafra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhafra Beach Hotel

Property: Dhafra Beach Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 11828 | Al Ruwais, Jebel Dhanna, Jebel Dhanna 11828, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Jebel Dhanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jebel Dhanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dhafra Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Western coast of Abu Dhabi, 220 kilometers from the capital city centre, The captivating United Arab Emirates holiday destination overlooks the sparkling azure waters of Arabian Gulf with thoughtful complimentary touches, The Dhafra Beach Hotel is the perfect United Arab Emirates holiday deal for travelers seeking relaxing and refreshing escape at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dhafra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhafra Beach Hotel Jebel Dhanna, Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing