We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh What a View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballymacoda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballymacoda B&B and Inns
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Oh What a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

On a cold December night, we arrived late at Castle Farm. Margaret had our room ready and toasty warm. The room was neat and clean and most comfortable although not spacious or luxurious. Upon waking up in the morning you are greeted by an amazing view of the ocean and the lighthouse. Breakfast with Margaret was superb. She began preparing our breakfast the night before. We had porridge along with a full Irish breakfast. Margaret was just a wonderful hostess and we look forward to seeing her again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenmar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice, clean, friendly, and a great value. Location is a little out of the way; the closest restaurant is a 15 minute drive. Our room had a very interesting shower, but the ocean view more than made up for it. Margaret made some great suggestions for places to visit. Overall, I highly recommend and would definately stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natochia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 1 night here at Castle Farm Ballycrenane.We arrived on a very cold, windy and wet day but our welcome was very warm.Our room had a spectacular view to the ocean Ballycotton, and was neat and clean.In room we had tea and coffee and some nice biscuits to go with it.Breakfast in the morning was great. My wife had salmon and eggs and i went the whole hog and had the full Irish breakfast. Margaret was a real card and we wanted to take her home with us or just take her out dancing.She gave us her secret recipe for her Irish soda bread.Some nice drives around this area for short trips out.
Her directions for the next day towards Cork and the Titanic exhabition came in very handy. I recomend "the Thatch" 20mins or so by car for a meal next to an open fire place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views towards Ballycotton Bay amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robspunkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Decided to stay at Castle Farm as we were at a wedding in castlemartyr and we were glad we did. The location is lovely, with views over looking the sea and it is peaceful and quiet. Its about a 30 minute drive from Cork centre. The Margaret and Tom are extremely kind, friendly and helpful and we were greeted upon arrival with tea and scones. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it was directions, advice on places to go or asking us what time we wanted breakfast...not stating we HAD to be down at such and such a time. All round lovely people.
This isnt the most modern and up to date place however, please do not let that stop you staying here and if you looking for great Irish hospitality, comfy surroundings and lovely settings then you really should look no further.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danrelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed with Margaret and Tom at their beautiful sea view bed and breakfast for 6 nights. Everything was excellent. When we arrived, their daughter was on hand to offer scones with jam and coffee/tea. The room had a gorgeous view of Ballycotton Bay and was a perfect size for just my hubby and I. The breakfasts were the best. Margaret is an excellent cook and makes a really yummy soda bread! Each day Margaret would help us plan our adventures for the day and at the end of the day or the next morning showed interest in how our day had gone. A wireless internet connection is available in the breakfast room and is free for guest use. Over all, we had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyofWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We were in Ireland for a wedding and Margaret gave us such a warm welcome despite us arriving past midnight. The rooms are of a good size and the breakfast is really good - unbeatable soda bread! The area is incredibly picturesque and my wife even went for a swim in the morning. If there was a downside, it's just the bathroom in our suite was a little tired and that is really it!

Tom gave me a lift back to the wedding reception venue to pick up my car the next day - there was no question in his mind that this would be part and parcel of our stay.

In summary; lovely couple, lovely setting, great breakfast and comfy beds. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodslashtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Margaret and Tom are hospitable and warm people. They did everything they could to accommodate our requirements and made us lovely food. The decor in the room is a little dated and the furniture is a bit worn but with the warmest welcome plus the stunning location it didn't matter.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymacoda
1.5 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
2.5 mi away
Kilmahon House
Kilmahon House
#2 of 5 in Shanagarry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Schooner Tavern
The Schooner Tavern
#2 of 4 in Ballycotton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ballycrenane, Ballymacoda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballymacoda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymacoda
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Ballymacoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing