We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peggy's pride”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Weston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyvourney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weston House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballyvourney B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peggy's pride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Weston House was probably the best B&B we've stayed in while holidaying in Ireland. We were a party of two couples in separate rooms. The rooms were spotless, well provisioned and quaintly furnished. The beds were very comfy with lots of blankets including electric blankets if required. Peggy was a particularly gracious host and provided every comfort for us from the cup of tea on arrival to the wonderful home cooked breakfast which included freshly cooked piping hot porridge, fresh baked muffins and home made marmalade in addition to the cooked sausages, bacon, eggs, toast etc. We only spent one night here but Peggy has set the bar high for the rest of our stop overs around Ireland. Weston House was set in beautiful gardens and on the N22. The Mills Inn next door had a good menu for dinner and a lovely gift shop nearby. Definitely recommend a stay here for others.

Room Tip: Our two rooms which were both on the road side of the house were very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Owner at Weston House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your generous comments, and I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us in Ireland. We always do our best to provide for our guests, and that they enjoy their time at our home. I'm delighted you loved my cooking, and we hope you will come and visit us again someday.

Kind regards

Mrs Peggy Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Chute, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Peggy is a wonderful host. Her house is beautiful with a traditional cottage feel from the flower gardens to the lace lined sheets. Take a walk down the road or visit the pub next door. Right off N22. Easy to find. Quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Owner at Weston House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Christa,

Thank you for your kind comments. As always we take great pride in providing the best to all our guests, and most importantly you enjoyed staying with us.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland, and hope you will visit the emerald isle again.

Kind regards

Mrs Peggy Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night in may. Located close to the street, but the rooms are quiet. The room was nice and clean and Peggy was very helpful and friendly. If we would come again to Ireland, we would love to stay again in this house

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raskli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Owner at Weston House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Raskli,

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland.

I hope to see you again in the future,

Kind regards

Mrs Peggy Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I spent four nights here during a festival in Ballyvourney.
The property is a lovely house at the very end of the town blessed with a huge and well maintained garden. Its right next to the Mills Hotel, Bar and Restaurant so there is no shortage of entertainment. The room was huge, well provisioned, comfortable and very quiet, I slept very well during my stay. The breakfasts were wonderful, frequently supplemented with freshly baked bred and other treats. The all important welcome was second to none.

All in all, my stay at Weston House was much cheaper then my previous stays in the town's hotels, but not one bit less enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Manager at Weston House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we all hope you will be back next year again.

Kind regards

Mrs Peggy Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a week at Weston House this Sept. Along with being a beautiful home, this B&B is comfortable and clean and Peggy makes you feel like you have come home! Her breakfasts are excellent. Peggy takes a great interest in her guests and will make sure you make the most out of your time in Cork. 100% recommendation !!!!!
Also, with The Mills next door, just a walk across the lane to a good restaurant and pub. Weston House is also a great location on the N22, close to Killarney and easy to Cork City.
Loved meeting you Peggy, Our best to you and Peter, Austin, and the GrandBaby !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Manager at Weston House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our stay with us last September. I hope to see you all again in the future.

Best wishes

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thanks Peggy for an exceptional stay in your beautiful manor house. Your cooking skills are only matched by your helpfulness in directing us to places and things we might be interested in doing. We ended up well rested for the rest of our journey through southern Ireland. See you next time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoNomad34450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Manager at Weston House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Weston House, and also for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to West Cork.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the positive feedback. It is always wonderful to receive such great comments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Weston House hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

To whomever,

My family and I stayed here this past Easter for 2 nights, and we were most pleased with the service and welcome we received from Peggy Twomey. She was very helpful in recommending things for us to see and do, en route to the Ring of Kerry, and providing us with information on good locations for hill walking in the area.

The room we shared was very comfortable, and the kids enjoyed themselves playing in the garden in the evening. The breakfast was delicious, and no complaints from the little ones. I would recommend this B&B to anyone, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you Peggy, and keep up the good work!

From the Gilbertson's.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large family room, which fitted my wife and i and 3 kids. So ask Peggy for the family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, Manager at Weston House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Leonard and family,

I hope you're all well. Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you and all the family enjoyed your time in Ireland last Easter. I hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes,

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvourney
0.0 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballyvourney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
9.5 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
9.7 mi away
Gougane Barra Hotel
Gougane Barra Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gougane Barra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mills Inn
Mills Inn
#1 of 8 in Macroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.2 mi away
Salmon Leap Farm
Salmon Leap Farm
#5 of 47 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
13.6 mi away
Cannaway House B&B
Cannaway House B&B
#3 of 8 in Macroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston House

Property: Weston House
Address: The Mills | Macroom, Ballyvourney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballyvourney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvourney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston House B&B is Failte Ireland 4 Star rated exquisite old world house located next to the Sullane River with award winning gardens. The rooms are spacious featuring TV and tea and coffee making facilities with cots also available. A child price reduction is offered for children under the age of 12. Babysitting is also an option for date night. Weston House B&B is an ideal place for touring the eclectic and awe-inspiring scenery of West Cork and the Ring of Kerry. Located in the quaint Ballyvourney Village and within a short drive of Macroom and Killarney, guests here will be within easy access of welcoming pubs and good-quality food. Golf enthusiasts will be thrilled with the 18-hole course at Macroom Golf Club while those with a taste for the outdoors will love the great forest walks and angling at the Sullane River. Should you be after a quieter and more modestly paced afternoon then make for An Siopa at The Mills where you can explore your taste buds at the fantastic food and wine hall. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing