We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Birches at Ben Eoin Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ben Eoin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new city ny
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is by far one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in. The room was very spacious and had a lovely deck at the back for reading and relaxing. The inn itself was lovely. We only stayed on night, after the Cabot Trail and on our way to PEI, and found it the perfect in-between. Our dinner was superb. We found no issue at all with the breakfast. Lovely, hot, homemade scones rounded out the rest of the continental fare. And I must mention the chef, I wish I could remember his name! When we were told the scones would be bacon/cheddar I asked if it would be possible to have one or two made without the bacon, as I'm allergic to nitrates. Not only was the answer of course (he made me 3 as it turned out), but after dinner there came a knock on the door and there he was with a plate of homemade, nitrate-free freshly made lamb bacon; he said he couldn't stand the thought of anyone going through life without bacon! Now how's that for service?? This only goes to show how wonderful an atmosphere the innkeepers, Barbara and Lawrence create for not only their guests, but obviously their staff too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
74
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great place to stay for a romantic getaway. We stayed in the MacPherson suite. I think all rooms are nice, but this was my favorite. We had a delicious meal at Malcolms, I found the wait staff to be friendly and they work very hard to make your dining experince a pleasurable one. The room was beautiful, sofa , chair, fireplace, and jet tub. Would reccommend this place for anyone looking for luxury accommodations at a reasonable rate. Next door to golf in (summer) and ski hill (winter).

Room Tip: We stayed in the MacPherson Suite, it had a fireplace, 6ft Jet Tub, Massage Shower, Fluffy Robes, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spent two nights - August 20 & 21. Great experience. Accomodation and meals were first class. Barb and Larry very hospitable hosts. Would highly recommend. Too bad it is so far from Ontario as we would visit on a regular basis. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at The Birches located in Ben Eoin, Cape, Breton, Nova Scotia. The room was decorated nicely, very spacious and clean. The owners made us feel at home, and general manager was very helpful planning our trip along The Cabot Trail. My suggestion would be to change the breakfast from a continental to a unique full breakfast. Their restaurant is very good which would make the change easy. We would have gladly paid more $ for a better breakfast. This B&B was the best of our trip although others offered a full breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for the upstairs corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank impact111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The night my wife and I stayed here, (August 1st, 2012), there was no one else staying in the entire building. This was great for us as it was extremely quiet and peaceful and I could sit in the wonderfully appointed lobby and catch up on the odd e-mail through the wireless system. Midway through the evening, the Innkeeper (Barb) asked me to turn off the lights before I went upstairs to retire for the evening; which I dutyfully did: after the proper wall switch was pointed out to me, of course. The take-away from this experience resembled something akin to spending the night with an old friend who has politely given you the run of the place and then, even more politely, disappeared from sight behind closed doors and left you completely in charge. This venue is very highly recommended. We had a refreshing and seriously restful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have Spent 4 days at The Birches and i will miss the owner Barbara and the manager Russ and all the staff. They are so kind, efficient, you can ask them anything they will do everything they can to please you. They will help you with what to see and how to get there. If you are looking for a great place to stay and fine dinning The Birches is the place. The food is amazing.
They are right beside a great golf course "The Lake" and they have good packagesand they will bring you the golf car right to your door. We definetly be back next year Can not wait!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleTerrebonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have made a trip by bicycle for 4 weeks in Nova Scotia.

On June 24 we stayed at the Birches Country Inn for one night in the Morrison room. This room was very clean, large and a comfortable bed. The breakfast and dinner at the restaurant was excellent. The staff was very helpful.

We had problems with our bicycles and the owner Lawrence brought us to a bicyclemaker in Sydney.

Louis and Willy from the Netherlands

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ben Eoin
22.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
16.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.6 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
17.1 mi away
Auld Farm Inn B & B
Auld Farm Inn B & B
#2 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
16.8 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches at Ben Eoin Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches at Ben Eoin Country Inn

Property: The Birches at Ben Eoin Country Inn
Address: 5153 East Bay Hwy | Ben Eoin, Ben Eoin, Nova Scotia B1J 1P1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ben Eoin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ben Eoin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Birches at Ben Eoin Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 min. west of Sydney, 55 min. east of St. Peter's, next to Ski Ben Eoin. Colonial-style facility with ten elegantly appointed guest rooms and two luxurious suites--all with private bath, access to balcony, fireplaces, some feature canopy beds and air-jet soaking tubs. Fine dining every evening (except Mondays) from 5 pm to 8 p.m. Reservations recommended. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Birches at Ben Eoin Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birches At Ben Eoin Country Hotel Ben Eoin
Country Inn Sydney
Sydney Country Inn
The Birches At Ben Eoin Country Inn Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing