We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and great location!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Willshaw

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The beautiful oak kitchen with LED lighting and the beautiful slate flag stones
The Kitchen. Highlighting the colours in the beautiful natural stone.
The Kitchen. With 110 Range Gas Cooker.
Wet Room & Sauna
The entrance Hall
The bathroom with a large corner jacuzzi bath & heated mirror.
The View from Eccles Pike, a 10 minute walk
4* Gold Award
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chinley, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sam00009
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and great location!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Willshaw is a lovely place to stay, it has everything you will need and more. The property is generously stocked with household items and if you fancy a relaxing day in there is so much on offer in the house with brilliant access to sky, sauna, wet room and more. We travelled as two young familie and there was lots of space for our children to play as well, it's inside and out.

Willshaw is also well located, near two local pubs for nice meals, not noisy though, and the surrounding Peak District with many towns, walks and sights nearby.

I would highly recommend this property, Scott (owner) was very attentive from booking through to departure.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroline...
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself partner daughter and her friend had a fantastic stay at Willshaw. Location is lovely the village of Chinley is a delight. The house itself has everything you could possibly need and is really big inside with breakfast room and dining room and a massive lounge with 65in curved t.v. Our first few days the weather was pretty bad, but staying in the house was no hardship, we made full use of the sauna and jacuzzi bath and all the films on the TV. The Old Hall Inn, which is just half a minute walk is really good for food too. We would definitely recommend this holiday home to anyone, nothing bad to say about it. We will be returning, hopefully next year. A big thanks to Scott

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: jacuzzi bath and sauna
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“COMPLETE RELAXATION”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay at Willshaw for a week in July and only wish that it could have been for longer, the property, facilities, grounds and location are all superb and the owner, Scott Richardson very obliging.
We can only reiterate what others have said in previous reviews and we fully intend to return.
Many thanks to Scott for creating and offering such a pleasant, well thought out and well equipped place in which to stay and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieM620
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Willshaw is a luxurious mix of quality and comfort. It has been thoughtfully furnished and equipped in a way that makes it able to withstand the rigours of family life, which makes it very relaxing for those staying with children or dogs.

Brilliant location. Manchester is within easy reach by road or rail (Chinley station is within walking distance) , plenty of towns and villages a short drive away, and the open spaces of the Peak District are virtually on the doorstep.

We would recommend it wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everyone loved it!
Liked least: An information pack with instructions on how to work the gadgets would have been useful
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieAbr...
Saar, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, Comfy, and Welcoming”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I spent most of June at Willshaw House and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. It's difficult not to feel like the lord or lady of the manor in this beautiful house. The furnishings are comfortable and the rooms well laid out. Landlords, Scott and Nicky, were welcoming and helpful with our questions. Features such as the curved screen television, jacuzzi, and special lighting are a gadgeter's dream. (Had to check my husband's suitcase prior to leaving to make sure he hadn't tried to take the TV home.) Such a lovely area in June, with many things to see and do, and you couldn't get a much better place to stay and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely house and furniture
Liked least: A few cobwebs and a bit of dust that you probably wouldn't see if you were only staying for a short stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset...
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best house we have ever rented!”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We visit my family in Cheshire every year and haven't found anywhere to stay that we have liked... until now. This house was so fantastic that we immediately booked up for the next year as soon as we returned home to Somerset.

We are a family of 5 and our teenage daughter loved the Sky TV in her room and our younger two had great fun exploring the rooms and gardens. The house is peaceful, warm and comfortable. I enjoy cooking and the kitchen was perfect with a large range gas cooker.

The lounge is great with a large, curved HD TV and Sky 3D satellite TV with lots of movies on demand as well as a 3D DVD player. There was a problem with the 3D system which Scott sorted out very quickly.

The sauna was fun and my girls enjoyed the whirlpool bath as well.

In summary this is a great house and also used to be the home to Edwina Curry (a famous politician if you fancy staying somewhere with an interesting history). Scott was the perfect host and very friendly and helpful. I can see us staying there every year and we have already recommended the property to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiley197...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Haven”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

When you see Willshaw on line, you know you're going to love it. When arrive, drive up to the house, you really fall in love with it!!

This was our Honeymoon, when we were originally looking for somewhere the original requirements were Hot Tub / Jacuzzi with a log fire all within walking distance from the local pub.

We got more than we thought, what we got was Jacuzzi, Log Fire, Pub within 55 steps of the front door, 64 inch plasma TV in the main bedroom, a Sauna / Wet Room, 4 Poster king Size Waterbed, a mussive kitchen with an amazing gas oven ( We stayed for 2 weeks and were inspired by Masterchef & Great British Bake Off ) , 2 Dining Rooms and a Piano!!

Amazing value for money for all of this!!

The Papermill & Old Hall serve amazing food, locally sourced, this coupled with the great welcoming staff just made our stay at Willshaw more memorable

The views around you are just amazing, do take the time to venture out, the surrounding villages with their history, Caves and Parks will make you think about ever going abroad again!!

Scott is on hand 24/7 if you need him, but to be honest Willshaw is very well equipped that you probably won't see him until you leave.

We can't recommend it highly enough and look forward to returning for our Anniversary next year. Be sure to ask Scott about the history of Willshaw itself!!

If you're like us and don't stay in the country very often, be mindful that many places only serve food from 12-2 then again from 5pm - that's not a criticism, it actually makes a lot of sense, so make sure you book, especially if there are more than 2 of you.

Why are you still reading this? Go and book your stay at Willshaw now!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi
Liked least: Leaving!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing