We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honest Grub”
Review of The Old Hall Inn

The Old Hall Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Hall Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Chinley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are proud of our reputation for great local ales and have an amazing regular following, who are not only responsible for the wonderfull lively atmosphere you will find at the Old Hall, but also for allowing such an extensive selection of traditional hand pulled cask ales and ciders to be offered. We offer a home cooked menu, using local produce, with a restaurant that extends into the Old Hall itself, complete with Elizabethan Minstrels Gallery.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great honest Grub”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, great service and a homely atmosphere. Visit was off the back of a recommendation in The Guardian. Menu could be restrictive for vegetarians but meat and fish dishes are extensive and all freshly made. Leave space for a 'afters' as the sticky toffee pud is a definite contender for the best I've ever tasted. I can't wait to find an excuse to return :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dancapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Homely is exactly what we aim to be, so its always nice to hear that in our feedback. We look forward to your return.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    76
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best pubs in the area”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a superb meal at the Old Hall Inn, everything was cooked brilliantly and the meal was very well priced. The Peak District has a lot of average eateries and it is nice to visit one which far exceeds expectations.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dancapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay the night after visiting the Old Hall on a couple of previous occasions. The food was excellent, the range of cask and bottled beers extensive but I was disappointed by the choice of white wine served in the bar. The room was very comfortable and spacious and I really appreciated the bath as well as the shower but one of my big moans is when hotels only provide you with a bath towel and not a bath sheet. I would have given an excellent score if the wine was better and bath sheets had been provided

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne1237511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for the review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and we hope you will return soon. To address the wine comment, we have over 50 different wines, the majority by small independent wine growers, many of whom have visit the Old Hall to present their wines and many of our wine and dine evenings. We recognise that larger wine lists are common place, however we have tried to keep our wine offer varied and around the sensible price point of £12-£25, although we do have a number of more expensive wines. We have a dozen of these wines by the glass. Our list can be found on our website, and is kept up-to-date with regular changes. Although we are primary an ale house we do put a lot of care into our wine list, but appreciate that its a very personal thing.
Best Regards
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best pub in the country”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Regular visitors - we used to live round the corner, now walk the dogs a couple of miles just to end up muddy hungry and thirsty in this great inn. Dan Capper and his family and staff know how to make everyone feel welcome. The menu ranges from wonderful starters (you can have two!) to superb steaks and specials. Draught beers and ciders add to the pleasure - it's fun to ask what they recommend this week and try something new! Very lucky to have this in the heart of stunning countryside. Don't miss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dancapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for the incredible vote of confidence, we are proud you feel as you do about the Old Hall. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Called in today and experienced excellent food,customer service and the best of welcomes. The pub has a good menu,a range of beer and ales to try and the most helpful of staff. They are well worth a visit and have beer festivals at various points of the year a great beer garden in the summer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Momaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dancapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for calling in today, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and grateful for the review.
Regards
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hall Inn also viewed

Chinley, Derbyshire
Chinley, Derbyshire
 
Kettleshulme, Cheshire
 

Been to The Old Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing