We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent celebration”
Review of The Old Hall Inn

The Old Hall Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Chinley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are proud of our reputation for great local ales and have an amazing regular following, who are not only responsible for the wonderfull lively atmosphere you will find at the Old Hall, but also for allowing such an extensive selection of traditional hand pulled cask ales and ciders to be offered. We offer a home cooked menu, using local produce, with a restaurant that extends into the Old Hall itself, complete with Elizabethan Minstrels Gallery.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely food, friendly and special service in the Old oak dining room. Log fire and fabulous tables. Thoroughly recommend. Worth then staying the night in the very comfortable B&B attached.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KEGS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for the review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. The Minstrel Gallery where you dined is a great room for christmas parties for which bookings are being taken now. Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 469 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We dined at this restaurant while staying at Cop Farm, excellent choice there were 15 of us, although we had to pre-order our food as they cook everything fresh it was easy all we had to do then was turn up and get waited on, which is what we did the staff were very attentive but not over powering the food was absolutely delicious, from starters to mains, we had taken a birthday cake & they brought this out singing. We would like to thank the manager & staff for making our celebrations so special. Don't forget to book it gets really busy not surprising.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moonlight65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

It was a real pleasure catering for you all. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you using us, and we hope to see you again soon. Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hubbie is staying in Chinley for work and this place was recommended by the locals so we gave it a go one Thursday night. We got there after 6 and it was pretty empty so no trouble finding a table. It did pick up after 7 though. I had the chicken pate for starters and hubbie had the mezze starter. Chicken pate was delightful, red onion chutney was fab but I didn't care much for the side salad (but I am being picky). The mezze consisted of 4 dips and bread. Hubbie liked it and it came with loads of pitta bread which is good because usually you have to ask for more. For mains I had the open rump steak sandwich. It was fantastic! Steak was perfectly pink inside, the cheese complimented it perfectly. Hubbie had the marinated chicken burger which was good. The tarragon flavored concoction they brought with it was great if you spread it on the burger. Pecan pie to end the meal also hit the spot. It was weird because it was just pastry and nuts in the caramel-toffee sauce but it worked. A lot lighter than others with the dense filling. Overall, it was a very decent, very affordable and very well served meal. Didn't try the beers though but the selection is extensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kallirache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for the review, we are pleased you both enjoyed your first visit and we look forward to your return.
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went for a meal as a team after work after a training course, and took our Spanish instructor with us.

Food was excellent, I can definitely recommend the Ploughmans platter to share as a starter. I've had less satisfying main courses, the ham was lovely, home made pickled onions perfect, cheese and bread grand and the pork pie was a thing of beauty. And the Pate has to be tried to be believed.

Main courses around our table was a fairly even split between Steak and Ale puddings and Steaks. The puddings are divine. Huge, full of meat and lovely gravy, the pastry is awesome. Easily the best steak pud I've ever eaten.

The guys that had Steaks were all very happy with them too, all perfectly cooked and the guys were very satisfied with them.

I managed to squeeze in a Panacotta for desert and it was a really satisfying finish to the meal.

The range of beers available was great, and the teas and coffees after the meal were beautiful. Definitely recommended, can't wait to come again with my wife

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben_Fentem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your first visit. Its worth reserving your Steak and Ale Puddings when booking a table so as to avoid disappointment.

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We came here on the recommendation of the owners at our holiday cottage & were so pleased we did. We had amazing food & would highly recommend the Steak & Ale Pudding. Friendly staff, great atmosphere, quick service and very good value for the menu. Good beer too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OakApple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We are grateful to your cottage owners for the recommendation and are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hall Inn also viewed

Kettleshulme, Cheshire
Chinley, Derbyshire
 
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Old Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing