We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved this place”
Review of The Old Hall Inn

The Old Hall Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Hall Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Chinley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are proud of our reputation for great local ales and have an amazing regular following, who are not only responsible for the wonderfull lively atmosphere you will find at the Old Hall, but also for allowing such an extensive selection of traditional hand pulled cask ales and ciders to be offered. We offer a home cooked menu, using local produce, with a restaurant that extends into the Old Hall itself, complete with Elizabethan Minstrels Gallery.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this place”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We came here on the recommendation of the owners at our holiday cottage & were so pleased we did. We had amazing food & would highly recommend the Steak & Ale Pudding. Friendly staff, great atmosphere, quick service and very good value for the menu. Good beer too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OakApple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are grateful to your cottage owners for the recommendation and are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    87
    19
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hamtastic Old Hall”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I must be missing something here.

Really !

We've lived in Glossop for around 13 years now, but I'd never heard of the Old Hall. How can a pub this good remain so well hidden from my culinary radar ?
We regularly eat out all over the area and are frequently at "The Lamb" in Chinley which is just as good as the Old Hall, but one does like a change occasionally.

We called in at a lunchtime and there was hardly a soul in the pub. We were dubious as empty pubs aren't generally a good sign. We grabbed a table and I'm pleased we did as within 30 minutes the place was heaving with customers.

We were served promptly by a charming young lady who was polite and very easy on the eyes.
The decor of the pub is very in keeping with it's name.... you can see it's looked after and the outside seating was well maintained and very clean. Someone, somewhere cares about this pub and it shows.

We ordered the ham and eggs and a ham salad.
The food was very plain and simple...but.... we can honestly say that the flavour of the ham was fantastic. I don't remember eating simple fare that good for a long time.
The salad was (made to order as not on the menu) delicious and the chef had resisted the urge to drown it in oil as so many do.

Now that we've discovered the Old Hall I hope it stays under the advertising radar. I think we'd have to book to get a table in the future... I'd rather keep this gem a secret.

Well done the Old Hall team.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polar6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Love the review.....and the easy on the eye girls appreciated your review as well! thank you
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love it so much I wish I lived next door!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Love the pub and location, once you arrive you don't want to leave! Food and staff are excellent, very professional but friendly. Beer festivals are held twice a year, very busy but definitely worth a visit so check the website for dates. Usually walk here along the canal and quite often end up staying so long need to get a taxi home in the dark :) great Sunday lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMT911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We wish you lived next door too! thanks for the great review. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“General comments, not resturant specific.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We do not live locally but if we did, the Old Hall would easily qualify as our local!
We have been to the 'hall on numerous occasions and have eaten and stayed. Daniel is always very friendly and totally professional.
However, Daniel, keep on top of the staff to avoid losing your well earned top marks, somewhat surely of late;-)

Definately worth a visit, the food is superb so are the choise of beers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Euro_D1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the review and for your regular custom. 'Surely' is not what i'd hope to hear in relation to any of my staff. I work very closely with all my staff and i'm proud of what they achieve, i'd be very appreciative of any additional details you may have that led to these comments. Thank you again for taking the time to review our Inn. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quintessential country pub”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

After a slightly cold start (the waitress looked disappointed that we were after a table for dinner), we had a great meal. Lots of choice on the menu, and the steamed pie is highly recommended. As is the sticky toffee pudding... Yummy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennaBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. I can't understand the cold reception, our front of house girls are a very friendly bunch. My apologies, i'm relieved it didn't spoil your visit.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hall Inn also viewed

Chinley, Derbyshire
Kettleshulme, Cheshire
 
Chinley, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Old Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing