We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old hotel”
Review of The Old Hall Inn

The Old Hall Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Hall Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Chinley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are proud of our reputation for great local ales and have an amazing regular following, who are not only responsible for the wonderfull lively atmosphere you will find at the Old Hall, but also for allowing such an extensive selection of traditional hand pulled cask ales and ciders to be offered. We offer a home cooked menu, using local produce, with a restaurant that extends into the Old Hall itself, complete with Elizabethan Minstrels Gallery.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful old hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely obliging staff. Beautiful rooms and excellent food. Great situation for visiting Pavillion gardens and theatre and town shopping. Can highly recommend and look forward to staying here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Inn.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    81
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Hall food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate in the Old Hall dinning room. The high ceilings and exposed beams created a romantic atmosphere. The food was really good although the veggie menu was limited.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bantonlimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reserve your steamed pudding in advance!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We were staying up the road so popped in for a beer and decided to stay and eat. Luckily they had a couple of steak and ale steamed puds left so we reserved those bit you are advised to order in advance as they only make a few per day and they are delicious. Great chips. The whitebait we had as a starter is the best I've tasted in years! Good menu with something to suit all, we ate again later in the week and had the lamb and a steal both of which were superb. Good choice of local beers and reasonable wine list which won't break the bank.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark_snelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. Great to hear you enjoyed your visits to us. As you mentioned, we steam our own puddings fresh each evening, so to guarantee getting one, you are able to book one with your table reservation.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had the fish and chips, very nice would recommend. Only downside the room was extremely warm which probably made us leave sooner than we wanted.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal. I'm sorry to hear it was a little warm for you, when we get very busy, with the low ceilings some parts of the pub can get cosy. We try our best to manage this with sliding sash windows however.

We hope to see you again.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Super food, great hosts, lovely weekend”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

All the staff made us welcome and were so accommodating for our group of 8. Eating in the actual old hall with its big fireplace, high ceiling and old dark furniture was lovely. The menu was varied and the specials were special! As a group of 8 in 7 of their 8 rooms, we posed plenty of requests and all were met with a smile and tolerance. A great place eat, drink and stay with super walks to enjoy all around. We hope to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilacT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We had a lot of fun hosting your party, and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the review. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hall Inn also viewed

Chinley, Derbyshire
Kettleshulme, Cheshire
 
Chinley, Derbyshire
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Hayfield, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Old Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing