We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to go home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Uluramaya Retreat Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Wamuran B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It is unfortunate we could only stay 1 night because this place is amazing. Sue & Aziz were superb hosts and we left feeling like old friends. Gulloo cabin was so sweet and all the little extras (fruit, wine, scones...) and Sues attention to detail made it all the more special.... and the scenery from the very large deck was breathtaking. It was the perfect place to spend our wedding anniversary and to unwind before the birth of our baby. We will definitely be back and highly recommend Uluramaya Retreat Cabins to anyone looking for a relaxing break and have an appreciation for the beauty of nature.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thankyou so much for your review it was lovely to meet you both Jas and Oli and we enjoyed chatting with you about the area we look forward to meeting your new additon to the family soon. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 94 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were given 2 nights here as a gift from children.Away from heat of Brisbane and a view of the mountains, the cabins are set amongst lovely native gardens and smothered in colourful bird visitors was a haven.The views were magnificent.Imagine sunrise over 8 peaks while birds carolled and the mists lifted.
Our cabin was spotless and came with fruit basket/tea/coffee/eggs. Dining on the covered veranda and a luxury bath on our private deck under the stars, by candle and lamps provided.So romantic.
The buildings are eco/ native timber and hand crafted beautifully.
Bush walks into the valley or only a few kms to Sunshine coast villages.
We loved our stay:.Sue & Aziz are friendly, kind hosts and we would return tomorrow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pommymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thankyou for your lovely review , we loved hosting your weekend and loved chatting with you both , thankyou so much for sharing your wisdom regarding our chickens too Robyn. We are so glad you enjoyed our eco cabins and share our ethos about all things natural . We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind Regards Sue & Aziz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you are into bush walks and exercise this is the place to be. If you enjoy scenery,relaxation,quietness good hospitality,nature, comfortable accommodation and all at a very reasonable price this is also the place to be.
We have never been ones to sit still so the bush walks around the area where great and some challenging.
Then to be confronted with the scenery,nature, views and the quietness of the area was a big step for me but you know what, i absolutely loved it and want to do it again as i left the retreat so relaxed.
The hosts, Sue & Aziz, are really number 1 and so informative of the surrounding area including the Glass House mountains, that you can see from your bed or the balcony, which would be an artist's delight.
I could rave on and on about this retreat but suffice to say that the title of this review says it all " Seeing is believing"

Room Tip: Any cabin is a good cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Wow what a great review thankyou so much for taking the time Pat . it was our pleasure to host your weekend getaway and to hear you were able to relax makes our job worthwhile. we hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Sue & aziz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

stayed at Uluramaya Cabins whilst attending Woodford Folk Festival for 4 nights. We were made extremely welcome by Sue & Aziz with great 'extras' including a welcome bottle of wine, cakes & lovely flowers around the cabin. The cabin was very comfortable both for sleeping & just relaxing, it was very clean. The environment was delightful with king parrots & rainbow lorikeets joining us at breakfast time. The food given us was fresh & plentiful. Sue & Aziz were delightful hosts & very helpful. We would have no hesitation returning there. The views from the cabins were just magnificent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thankyou Steve and Cynthia for your review and photos and for choosing Uluramaya whilst attending the festival what a great week it was and the parrots performing an opera at breakfast time was a lovely end to your stay here. Thankyou also for the book its fantastic Cynthia is a very talented lady. I hope our paths cross again soon. Kind regards Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent a weekend at Ulurmaya Cabins this last weekend and really wow what a super place.
The views are just breath tacking, not far from great sights either.
The hosts Sue & Aziz are really nice people and you are made to feel really welcome and at home giving you a nice relaxed atmosphere.
The cabins are done very well, tidy and neat with all you need to enjoy your stay.
If you are looking for a relaxed weekend away but dont feel like driving a million km to have the feeling that you are, then you should definitly give Uluramaya Cabins a visit you wont regret it.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thankyou so much for your great review Neil we enjoyed meeting you and your family and look forward to hosting your next getaway. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Gotta start with "wow".

I booked this place for my wife and I, plus my visiting Canadian parents. We were only staying a night on the way through, and I picked it because (a) it had good reviews, and (b) my folks are from the country and I thought they'd enjoy some peace and quiet for a night after being in Sydney and Brisbane for several days.

It delivered so much more than we expected. It was the highlight of my parents' first week. My wife and I will be returning.

We stayed at the two-bedroom cabin, which actually had the two bedroom units separated by a large open common area for dining and looking out over the frankly fantastic view of the Glasshouse Mountains (the local fire volunteers use their deck as a fire tower...that says a lot about the view). Everything is natural wood, most of it carved by Aziz, one of the owners. Don't expect a TV; there is none. You'll only sit outside and gawp at the view, at the king parrots and cockatoos that come to feed, and at the sunsets.

The other owner Sue provided scones and jam for tea on our arrival. Complimentary wine and beer were in the fridge, ready to go, as were the giant pile of bacon, sausage, eggs and toast to cook ourselves our breakfast the next morning.

Every touch seemed spot on: the outdoor sink, the outdoor bathtub, the chairs and ornaments dotting the grounds.

It definitely has peace and quiet. Sue and Aziz have built a wonderful, off-the-grid self-sufficient spot with solar panels, local reed beds to handle waste, a walking trail, benches and swings, and easy access to nearby Woodford if you fancy the pub.

The place was magical and relaxing. Sue and Aziz were both incredibly lovely and very interesting. In fact, they seemed as interested in my parents and their farm back in Nova Scotia as were in them.

I imagine we'll be spending a few relaxing days here soon, with enough food and drink so that we don't have to leave the site at all. Why would we want to?

Room Tip: Two smaller cabins that, I suspect, have one bedroom each. One large cabin that has two, but that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thankyou Tim for bringing your family to Uluramaya we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we love the photos you took of our views and wildlife thanks for taking the time to post them. We look forward to your next visit. Sue & Aziz .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently stayed a couple of nights at this fabulous retreat Nth of Brisbane. Cabins set in a natural bushland setting with amazing views of the Glasshouse Mountains. Service and food top class and Sue and Aziz perfect hosts with such a friendly manner. I will certainly be back and can recommend it to anyone.........

Room Tip: any cabin as they all have the same view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thankyou so much Marilyn for your review of our retreat we loved hosting the scrapbooking workshop and it was so nice to meet you and the group and we are looking forward to next years retreat. Kind regards
Sue & Aziz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uluramaya Retreat Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uluramaya Retreat Cabins

Address: 228 McConnell Road, Wamuran, Queensland 4512, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Bay Region > Wamuran
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wamuran
Price Range: $215 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Uluramaya Retreat Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
45 mins to Brisbane Airport,ten minutes to the town of Woodford Uluramaya is a jewel nestled at the top of a natural Eucalypt forest. Self cater or enjoy gourmet breakfast and dinners provided by your hosts. The three log cabins have been designed to maximize the light and spectacular views of the Glasshouse mountains. Relax on your own deck and enjoy the sights and sounds of the Australian bush at its finest. A popular spot for bushwalking enjoy a walk to Fern Gully and enjoy the secluded bush shelter and be at one with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Uluramaya Retreat Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing