We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at this lovely homely cabins during the Splendour in the Grass festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Uluramaya Retreat Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Wamuran B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Sue and Aziz are very friendly and provided us with a plate of country style scones and made sure our cabins were nicely heated with a briquette style heater indoors.,

Each cabin, though fairly small, is very cosy and has a very nice outdoor verandah with a gas bbq for cooking breakfasts

Fresh towels were provided daily and there's a good stock of condiments and tea and coffee.

My only suggestion would be a sound system, there is no television but I think this is a good thing!

After long and tiring days at the Splendour festival, we always looked forwards to going back to "the cabins"!

Thank you very much.

Christian, Calvin and Wei

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogwai000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thankyou for your review we really appreciate constructive feedback and have now installed ipod sound docks in each cabin besides the digital radios . We hope to host your next stay very soon. Kind regards Sue & Aziz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. Very friendly staff and comfortable cabins. The views were just amazing and it's located next to a national park which made it very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thankyou for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed the natural bushland around our property too also thankyou for your great photos . Hope to see you both back here soon. Kind regards Sue & Aziz :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was such a beautiful place to stay. The views were stunning. The cabin was gorgeous and had everything we needed. Sue & Aziz were the perfect hosts who went out of their way to meet our every need, but allowed us privacy too. We found our time here very relaxing and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasfamilyjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thankyou jenny for your lovely review we enjoyed hosting your stay and hope you can come back again soon Warm regards Sue & Aziz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing weekend stay at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins. The views of the Glasshouse Mountains are unbeatable. It was just gorgeous and a great place to retreat to and unwind. It is also around an hour away from Brisbane so it's very convenient for a short break from the city.

The cabins are compact and stylishly furnished, exceptionally clean and have everything you need and more (including kitchen). The bathroom is small and there is a shower only.

The deck and breakfast area are superb. Our hosts also cooked up very delicious meals - dinner and breakfast (extra cost but totally worth it). These meals were also gluten-free which was fantastic because I am coeliac and could just relax about food. Our host even left us some homemade gluten-free chocolate brownies one afternoon!

There is a lovely short bushwalk down the hill to a campfire area and shelter. Just down the road we saw Kangaroos. There was plenty of wildlife to see and the place had more of a bush feel than a rainforest retreat. In that way it felt very uniquely Australian.

The retreat overlooks farms in the valley with the Glasshouse Mountains in the distance.
Woodford and Maleny are just a short drive away (as is Caboolture) and a very nice drive if you want to escape the seclusion for a while or shop.

It would be a great place to stay and retreat to if you were exploring or bushwalking the Glasshouse Mountains or during the Woodford Folk Festival.

You can also bring your dog but the dog must remain outside of the cabins. We opted to leave our dog at home this time but he would have had a ball.

The hosts live in a house on site (with a separate entrance/exit) just up from the cabins (separated by an artist's studio). The cabins overlook the mountains so they are still private. If you are after a romantic weekend you could self cater but the meals (served on the deck or in your room if you choose) really are fantastic and the hosts are a very interesting couple to talk to.

The retreat is very sustainable (solar power, tank water etc). Our hosts gave us a tour and are clearly very passionate about sustainability which was inspiring.

Due to the retreat's eco-friendly emphasis there was no air-conditioning or spa bath which makes a lot of sense. However, given it was summer it was a tad hot in the cabin during the middle of the day. It was easy however to get cool outside on the cool deck.

But...when it was hot I confess that I did wish for a small lap pool or a private outdoor spa bath (to cool off in and to soak in while enjoying the stunning views). I think this would attract more people to the retreat in summer and it would be the icing on the cake for this retreat but it's obviously hard to do this while still being eco-friendly! But, if anyone could achieve this in an eco-friendly way, the owners of this retreat are amazing and would certainly find a way.

The retreat would be very romantic and cosy in winter. The cabin we stayed in had it's own fireplace heater.

The instructions they provided on how to get there were very good and we were able to follow them easily even when we arrived after dark.

The website was excellent and the pictures posted there accurately reflect the beauty of Uluramaya. From the interior design in the cabins, the timber furniture (made by one of the hosts) to the outdoor areas - everything was artistically and immaculately presented with a focus on creating a relaxing environment. A retreat in the true sense of the word. Just beautiful.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicavocado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Thankyou for your wonderful review of our retreat we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay , I agree a spa would be an amazing addition to our retreat and as you mentioned if theres a way to do it in an eco friendly way using alterantive power we will find it , in the mean time we have added a new viewing platform which give even better views of the mountains if thats possible :)) Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

From the time Sue and Aziz met us at the front gate we felt like treasured members of the family. They were accommodating but not intrusive, allowing us our personal space to explore the property and enjoy the cabins.

The service went above and beyond what we expected.

The cabins were cosy but highly functional. Very nice decor and the attention to detail was very impressive. We had a baby with us in one of the cabins which didn't quite fit the ambience of the place and would not bring the little one next time. Just for us grown ups to enjoy!

The location is only several kilometres from small interesting towns. The commute to any of the attractions is not too much if you are looking at somewhere to retire with a glass of wine on the verandah and take in the stunning views.

Uluramaya is a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle. No T.V. Just the sounds of the bush. This is what we loved. To be immersed in the Australian bush. We likened it to camping but with 6 star faciities and no neighbours!!

I can't find anything to say that I disliked. Perhaps would have liked a microwave but understand why they can't provide one being on solar power.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeGee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thankyou for your kind words and we loved having your family here. Hope to see you again soon . Kind regards Sue & Aziz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Stunning views over the Glass House Mountains. Wonderful hosts, Sue and Aziz. Great food. Cabins equiped with everything you need. No TV - just rest and relaxation.
We felt priviledged to have been able to share the Ulurumaya experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdryden76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueluramaya22, Owner at Uluramaya Retreat Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thankyou so much for your review we really appreciate it . We enjoyed our conversations with you over dinner and hope to see you and your family back here soon . Warm regards Sue & Aziz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We were looked after beautifully by Sue & Aziz with a beautifully set-up cabin sprinkled with treats such as essential oil soaps & world music cd's/ Australian wildlife mags etc. The views from the cabin are magnificent. The privacy is excellent; Sue & Aziz are very thoughtful with that also. They are both excellent cooks but we particularly loved the exotic flavours of Aziz' Persian food using fresh local products. I can still taste the beans with dill! The cabin we were in is not huge but we liked that. The bathroom is finished nicely in corrugated iron & trendy Ikea fittings; again not large but fits with their Eco- small footprint ideas. Very interesting seeing their water/ power set-up; they were very happy to speak with us & share some of their experiences & what they had learned along the way. Sue treated us with lovely fruity muffins one morning when we were going adventuring; nice touch. We also cooked some of our own meals & the small kitchen gas cooktop etc ; everything is new & functional; all you need.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uluramaya Retreat Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uluramaya Retreat Cabins

Address: 228 McConnell Road, Wamuran, Queensland 4512, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Bay Region > Wamuran
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wamuran
Price Range: $113 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Uluramaya Retreat Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
45 mins to Brisbane Airport,ten minutes to the town of Woodford Uluramaya is a jewel nestled at the top of a natural Eucalypt forest. Self cater or enjoy gourmet breakfast and dinners provided by your hosts. The three log cabins have been designed to maximize the light and spectacular views of the Glasshouse mountains. Relax on your own deck and enjoy the sights and sounds of the Australian bush at its finest. A popular spot for bushwalking enjoy a walk to Fern Gully and enjoy the secluded bush shelter and be at one with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Uluramaya Retreat Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing