We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
7
19
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7
19
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2018

We booked this hotel because it was the cheapest we could get in the region and didn't expect much. However, we were pleasantly surprised! Though it is an older building (definitely a bit spooky at night!), the room was very clean and we received a warm welcome from the owner (as others have said, he only knows a few words of English or French). It reminded us of those old hotels, from back when there was only one hotel in the entire town. Even though there were only 5 guests staying at the hotel that night, we still got a nice (but simple) breakfast in the morning.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vacationtriptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

We were welcomed by the friendly owner. He gave us helpful information about where to go and what to do. This is a beautiful building from the 18th century with large common rooms on the 2nd floor. The rooms have interesting octagonal ceilings and offer great views from each window.
Our room was a bit narrow and didn’t have any sitting facilities but we made use of the bar/poolroom and the lounge. The bathroom was tiled nicely and it was spacious enough. We had a comfortable mattress and it was also very quiet in the hotel. When we used the refrigerator in the kitchen next to the breakfast room we found a big bowl with fresh cherries to eat. A good size pool belongs to the ground but we didn’t make use of it.
The owner told us about an event in town which involved wine sampling and local food. We had a wonderful time and were so grateful for this advice. We definitely recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2016 via mobile

Came here obviously mid winter the Casa is superb. Heaps of character, albeit a little chilly nothing that a few extra blankets could fix !!! We didnt have a car so took the train from Porto to the end of the line( but looking back just go from Porto to Pinaou ) really pretty train journey along the banks of the Duoro river. Casa do Brasao is in the town of Tuabuaco very central.As we didnt have a car a taxi ride to Quinta la Popa a great winery was 20 euros where we had a great lunch and wine tour for 100 euros. BUT THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP WOULD HAVE TO BE" THE TAVERNO" !!! A GREAT RESTAURANT RUN BY A GREAT COUPLE NUCHA AND BRUNO in the centre of Tuabuaco town the food is SUBLIME !!! local produce they just feed you and they treat you like a member of the family THIS IS AN EXPERIENCE NOT TO BE MISSED IT WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR WHOLE HOLIDAY.These guys are a really interesting couple with an acting background they won an award for their foreign movie "Made Of Steel" in 2015 CHECK THEM OUT !!!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank maxma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very special. Its whole decoration is old Portuguese classic style with wooden carvings and ornaments.
The owner speaks only Portuguese but he is so nice that communication is not a problem.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

Lovely old building with large and well kept rooms. This hotel is near the centre of town and next to the Tourism Information office.

Good stay, but shortened since management changed their mind on accepting credit cards after our booking was made.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Discover546007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews