We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amansari Residence Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Masai
Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was a pleasant stay and it is suitable for travelers with kids, especially if you’re planning for Legoland Malaysia. It is quite a drive from the theme park, but it’s worth the stay as along the way, there are plenty of seafood restaurants and eateries (we even hunt for koay teow kia which not very far). Or if you’re looking for a place to stay for a short term rental, the resort do provide short term stay on monthly basis at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 75 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

They have two types of room. I had the bigger one. It would have been ok but had some problems:
1. There were hair on the bathroom floor and shower.
2. They forgot to put towels in the bathroom.
3. The room was very dusty.
4. The carpet was disgustingly dirty.
5. The safe wasn't working.
6. The room stank.
7. They didn't clean the balcony or the balcony coffee table.
8. Internet often wasn't working and they kept saying "in 10 minutes it should be working" (hours without).
9. When there was a problem I had to ask and remind them several times before they fixed it.
10. Breakfast is ok if you are Malaysian. If you like western food, forget about it.
11. The people who work in the hotel keep using the guests' elevator so sometimes I had to wait more than 5 minutes for it to come. The cleaning ladies keep blocking them with their trolleys.
12. The people who work in the hotel don't peak English.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girasoliverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

For conferences, one of which we attended, they don't even brush off the bits and pieces after meals let alone change the tablecloths. When asked if this was normal practice, the head server sent along a couple of workers to brush off a couple of tables near the door, leaving the rest of the spotty tables in the dining room untouched.
Wifi's dreadful, esp in Block E where we stayed--works now, obviously, but down over and again, once "due to the rain." Call 0 for service? It took us three calls and an overnight wait to get our non-ringing phone replaced.
Prices are okay for group rates, but try ordering a coffee for RM8. Thankfully, it's located across the road from some coffeeshops in shophouses where you could get the same stuff for RM2.
The buffet spread is okay--not everything gets replenished, but you won't starve. I actually enjoyed their rojak.
They do try to smile, which is nice, but it would take a lot more than smiles to show professional service.

Room Tip: Wifi's awful in Block E--perhaps better nearer the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bezeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

You will regret your choice to stay here:-
1. Only 1 access card and 1 room key for a 3 room apartment. Without the access card you cannot use the lift to your apartment or access the glass doors to the rooms.
2. 3 room apartment with 1 king size bed and 3 single bed, they only give you 3 breakfast vouchers.
3. Flies are everywhere in the breakfast area, including the food. Charge RM1.50 for 1 half boiled egg, but free for any other egg. why?
4. No free drinks in the room.
5. Bathroom floor badly designed. Will get wet everywhere if 1 person take bath.
6. Non professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kktan1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel rooms are quiet and clean. Service is friendly but not very professional. Waiters and reception support seem very unexperienced. Breakfast (both Asian and continental served) is OK. Swimming pool, gym, tabletennis and squash are available for sports. Wifi was not working in my room and hotel has limited business facilities. Rates in the hotel are acceptable. Overall a good hotel, but can improve on a lot of details.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank OrangeLion14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The first impression you get when you come in from the main gates is as though you are going into a condominium.

It does not have the looks of a typical hotel.

The staff were very friendly and approachable. Check in with a breeze.

Got into the room is is cosy. Some may not like it as may give you the claustrophobic feeling - small room.

The breakfast spread is very very mediocre.

Choices for lunch and dinner is either the hotel's coffee house, Chinese restaurant or Japanese restaurant. Nothing outside of the hotel. So, if you are going to stay here for 2 weeks, you will be very very bored!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Long M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's a great deal to stay at this hotel due to the comfortable room and pleasant staffs. The food also quite nice and I think it reached the standard taste for hotel. The balcony is bigger and can fit almost 6 -7 persons once. Greenery environment of course ( from the balcony ) and very peaceful. Housekeeping doing a good job in term of cleanliness of the room. GREAT !!! The matters are the WIFI connection very bad. This can spoil the reputation of the hotel because there are some of your guests need WiFi to do their business and job such as emailing, sending report and updating their journal, perhaps. And the channel for TV also bored. Please provide standard channels for movie - HBO and Cinemax, any Discovery channel is also important and should include in and replace FOX Sport with Star Sport and ESPN.

Anyway, my satisfaction is about 85-90% and still OK to consider this hotel in my list if I'm traveling to Johor again later.

Anyway, my satisfaction is about 85-90% and still OK to consider this hotel in my list if I'm traveling to Johor again later.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustaineJr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masai
19 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 5 in Bandar Penawar
17 reviews
5.2 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#28 of 109 in Johor Bahru
385 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Lion Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
930 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Masai Utama
Hotel Masai Utama
#9 of 10 in Masai
8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Far East Hotel
Grand Far East Hotel
#4 of 10 in Masai
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansari Residence Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansari Residence Resort

Address: Jalan Persiaran Seri Alam, Masai 81750, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Masai
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Masai
Price Range: $35 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amansari Residence Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amansari Residence Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansari Residence Hotel Masai
Amansari Residence Resort Johor/Masai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing