We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$97
$81
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$31
Priceline
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$76
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leaf on The Sands(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
$30
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Srichada Hotel Khaolak(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
$27
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,759)
Filter reviews
3,759 results
Traveler rating
2,670
807
187
62
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,670
807
187
62
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfront restaurantpool accessblue mistolive restaurantkhao lakkids clubczar barsquash courtlagoon poolphuket airportta kraibreakfast buffetamazing pooltable tennisinfinity barhuge pooltennis courts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,307 - 2,312 of 3,759 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights from the 5th of November and wish it was longer.
Resort has the most amazing pools, connected by river type channels so you could swim the 3km if you wish. The resort is large but very private also. During the day we felt the resort was quiet, the breakfast was the busy time, when we noticed the other guests, but not too busy. Plenty of selection on the buffet, everything you could want for breakfast. Smoothies (made fresh), egg station, bakery items, cereals, cheeses, meats, salads, yum-cha selections, asian noodles, rice dishes, sushi, fresh fruits, tea and coffee served fresh to your table. Beautiful!
We ate dinner the first night room service as it was quite late, about 1030pm. Food came quickly and very fresh, green chicken curry and pad-thai.
We then ate in town the other nights (100BHT shuttle in per person via hotel, or 300BHT for 6-8 people in tuktuk).
Also ate lunches at the little beach shack restaurants (Blue Mist etc) and the food was excellent and cheap. For lunch with a curry and beer about AUST$5-6 per person.
Massages on beach great with ocean in background!
Beautiful private beach at JW where the staff bring you ice cold water and fruit. They also bring an elephant in twice a week and you can feed him bananas.
We loved it so much we will be back, this time with our kids and our parents...in 4 months time yay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Staff brilliant, room lovely, bed lovely, beach lovely, service faultless, but it was just missing some ambience...maybe it was because we were there out of the main season (literally the main season was starting the weekend we were leaving), but there was just something lacking - things I'd like to comment on are the pool rooms... we had a pool view room on the second floor with an outside seating area (which would probably be lovely if the seats were cleaned and not damp)..obviously they had rain then lovely sunshine but the seats were stained with what I assume was paint and smelled musty..so we didn't actually use this area at all... the pool rooms had access to the pool..sound lovely but as we could swim around the entire pool I wouldn't want to be in those rooms for two reasons, one - no real privacy at all in their outside seating area, it was like being in a terrace house right on the footpath where people can look in, and two half of the rooms didn't have steps out - so if I had been in those rooms I would have really struggled to get out of the pool... the rooms themselves (I think) were the same and I couldn't fault the room or bed or chairs in the room...one of them was the most comfortable chair I've ever 'lounged' in... The pool was lovely and had lots of nucks and crannies for couples to sit away from view...which I liked. The food for breakfast was lovely, couldn't fault it - but if it wasn't included in your 'deal' then it would cost approx. £34 for two... that's a lot of money for breakfast. The restaurants were fine again lovely but nothing spectacular. Now I have to say something that's not for the faint hearted.. on our first day, we checked in and then checked out the resort etc. etc. We had heard about the restaurants on the beach that we fantastic value and great food etc. so we went to investigate... on the beach, with the hotel behind us we turned right and went and sat at the first one we came to...FOR US BIG MISTAKE we both order a dish and had a beer - prices very cheap - but at the end of our meal we were sitting watching the sun set and people watching when movement caught my eye...and I saw a small rat two tables from us on the floor...I'm not a screamish person so I told my husband, kept my eye on it but didn't let it spoil our evening - then it's very large dad turned up....huge rat - sorry but that totally put me off. needless to say it put us off eating on the beach again so we spent a fortune in the hotel restaurants... until the day before we departed and we eat in the one called Farmai... lovely food, looked clean, I would recommend that one..

Room Tip: I've mentioned the rooms already, didn't mention the spa tho... it's expensive but really really good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kavanagh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This 3 year old hotel is flawlessly designed with the most incredible pools and water ways on which the entire hotel is based. The setting is jungle either side on a clean beautiful beach - so suitably remote - the rooms are clean, large and for us opened onto a stretch of internal waterway that leads to the large pools that lead to the beach. The service is also quite incredible and very much 5 star. All staff are very friendly and remembered our names from the onset ! All smile and stop what they are doing when you pass - they make it all special and are obviously extremely well trained.
Although this hotel is large at almost 300 bedrooms - the hotel is so large - that you do not feel that it is in any way crowded - except for at breakfast time - when unless you arrive early it ca be a rush. In the evening you wonder where everyone is.
The food is good and the buffet breakfast huge - with almost everything you might imagine - including a juice and smoothie bar. However if you are a real foodie then the evening restaurants and pool bar could go up a few notched - having said that it is well priced ! Except the wine which we found most annoying - the cheapest bottle being almost €40 which if you like a tipple this proves rather expensive compared to the food. This meant that we enjoyed visiting the many local restaurants on the beach - which luckily there are ! As to be honest with a ten day stay you would be very bored of the three on site restaurants !
The hotel should introduce a well priced house wine - it makes logical sense - as for us as a family of five it lost out on many of our evening meals due to the ridiculous wine prices !
But all in all we would most definitely return.....
And one last gripe - they should really play some reggae at the pool bar - not thumping cheesy dance music - People are in Thailand to chill !

Room Tip: If you like swimming - then a room that opens onto the many water ways
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmyjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has outstanding garden and pool area which directly at a fantastic beach with white sand, hardly no stones and no waste. Go beachwalki for hours without Interruption. Rooms ar large, newish, clean, with big bathrooms
Services like water service at the beach or huge towels and nice beach bags provided are Great. breakfast buffet is very big.

However, there is one drawback:
Prices at the hotel for food, drinks, snacks or Spa are Even for 5 Star resort inacceptably high! We are afraid this is why many people eat outside and the Hotel Management is eager to fill the Hotel with more Russian guest...

This is also the reason why we went very often to the right side of the hotel directly at the beach. There is a restaurant called "Andaman Restaurant Massage & Bar" (2nd restaurant next to JW Marriott).

Here we found reasonable prices for best food which surpasses most Thai restaurants we have ever visited in taste (world's best Pad Thai) and also very good service and friendlyness.

The Cocktails at the bar are very good too!

We also have our massage everday in this place "Andaman massage" where Thai women do excellent massage!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DocMH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are delighted to be back at this JW, a particularly lovely hotel by the sea. This is our 3rd visit in 3 years and we already plan a return for 2013.

The 3 kilometer lagoon, the pool, the beach, all are fantastic. Our room is again a pool access room, meaning that from our terrace it is only 3 steps down into the lagoon. The water is warm but refreshing and the area is kept sparkling clean.

The room has lots of thai accents and is very comfortable with a chaise and a built-in sofa plus a huge king bed. The bathroom is large with a toilet room, a shower room and a huge stone tub, plus a unique double sink, a make-up mirror and fab water pressure for the rain shower plus the hand held unit. Internet is free and very fast.

Breakfast is fantastic and seemingly endless. Food is good, but pricey as at most hotels. There are a number of restaurants and bars.

The small town of khao lak is a few miles away and has lots of good restaurants. We prefer to have a rental car to get into town, but i believe there is a shuttle bus.

The GM is a young American and keeps the place in good shape. The staff are fantastic and very attentive.

This is a good place to base yourself if you wish to visit the Similan Islands or go diving, or even better just hang out. It is very kid friendly.

Sea Bees diving co. have an office here.

The buildings are only 2 and 3 floors and are very Thai. They are connected by covered walkways to shield you from both rain and sun--and i expect snow. The plantings are extensive and beautiful. There is a large lawn between the beach and the main pool dotted with tall coconut trees offering some shade and a real tropical feel. The beach is lovely with soft white sand. The ocean is very warm.

Room Tip: fly to phuket and the drive is 1 1/4 hours north.. an easy self-drive or taxi or hotel car.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews