We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but so hot”
Review of Gite d'Ampijora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ankarafantsika National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gite d'Ampijora
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights but it should have been 3. Due to Mad Air changing our flights we had to cut short our stay. But as it turned out we were glad it was only 2 nights. The cabins are spacious and clean, cold water only but electricity all the time. Beds have mozzie nets and windows have mesh but the mesh is damaged so you can't trust having the windows open for air. And it was so hot inside these cabins that everyone the we were with said they couldn't sleep. All that is needed is a fan in the roof to move the air around. On a posative note, the food was very good and the service too. It is well worth staying here for the best birds and lemurs, the night walks were fantastic. If only the rooms had fans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved Ankarafantsika. The Gite d'Ambijora is the best option near the park, and you are likely to see Coquerel's sifakas jumping around your cabin or near the restaurant, so it is awesome. We stayed in the high end cabins, which are decent enough, but certainly not luxury. Oddly, the cabins were hot at night (when it was cool outside) and cool during the day (when it was hot outside).

The food at the restaurant was actually really good. The owner is very nice. My only complaint with the restaurant is that they seemed to assume everyone was with a fixed price tour group, so often didn't list prices on the menu, and acted like the price included an appetizer, entree and dessert! That is not the case. Ask for the prices and don't order all three unless you are very hungry! We were scared we wouldn't have enough cash to give her at the end of our stay because there are no ATMs and we didn't realize the food was as pricey as it was until it was too late. Our fault for not being more direct and asking .... but just a warning.

Room Tip: Splurge on a cabin. Unless I missed something, the bathrooms near the tents were pit toilets -- just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dclemurgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is the only place to stay in Ankarafantsika National Park and one of the very few places to stay on the very long drive from Tana to Diego Suarez.  Ankarafantsika is a very large but relatively little known national park.  However, it is one of the easiest places to see all sorts of different types of lemurs, from Sifakas to mouse lemurs, in Madagascar.  We were not going to visit but, having done so, we would not have missed it.  But we were there in late September and it was hot!!

The Gite consists of around eight large bungalows managed by the national park in the little village of Ampijora which also serves as the park headquarters.  

They are very spacious, simple bungalows with a wide shady deck.  There is good  mosquito netting around the beds.  There is a shower but no  hot water but you don't need it as this is a HOT place and we found ourselves wishing that the cold water was colder.  The bungalows have 24 hour power and, if   We were going again would think about buying a small electric fan!!  

While it might be possible to get air conditioned lodging in Mahajanga that would mean missing Ankarafantsika at night and that would be a big mistake.  The place comes alive in the evenings and at night with all sorts of lemurs, plus it is easier to find chameleons at night.  We would definitely recommend staying in the park rather than two hours away.

There is a  little Restaurant across the road and about 100m down from the bungalows that serves simple but good food and seems to en whenever you want as long as you let them know that you want breakfast at 6am or whatever.  There is a family of sifakas that lives in the trees near the restaurant and we were able to sit there eating while watching Sifakas at the same time!

In the evening we had both brown lemurs and cocquerills sifaka moving through the trees right in front of our bungalow.  At night we saw both  Milne Edwards sportiv lemurs and golden brown mouse lemurs in the bungalow area.

There is a lake next to the village that has a fair population of Crocodiles, Madagascan fishing eagles and quite a lot of other bird life.

Our guide was Emile and he did a terrific job for us.  While this is a really easy place to see lots of sifakas, Emile's enthusiasm for the birds was great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vorher buchen, unbedingt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mimlaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Plutôt les bungalows que les tentes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gege47-34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne réservez surtout pas le bungalow 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Françoise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gite d'Ampijora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite d'Ampijora

Address: Marovoay point 114 on National Road 4 | Ampijoroa, Ankarafantsika National Park, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Ankarafantsika National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ankarafantsika National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing