We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New Malden
Post
Inbox
Search

“Price hike seems steep.”
Review of Aroma

Aroma
Ranked #30 of 97 Restaurants in New Malden
Price range: $16 - $26
Description: Established since 2002 and based in the heart of New Malden, aroma has been serving top quality halal food for over 16 years. Growing from a takeaway we now also bring you the aroma restaurant; an experience you won’t want to miss! Book a table to dine in or enjoy a takeaway.
Restaurant details
Description: Established since 2002 and based in the heart of New Malden, aroma has been serving top quality halal food for over 16 years. Growing from a takeaway we now also bring you the aroma restaurant; an experience you won’t want to miss! Book a table to dine in or enjoy a takeaway.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Use to be great back in the day. Came back after refurb. Prices are noticeably higher and portions are smaller.
Wish they had refreshed the kebab takeaway concept rather then go for sit down etc.
The sitdown bill for 4 of us came to about 50 quid. Just kebabs and drinks mainly.
Won't be going back as often, but great memories from bygone days.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 235ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

Nice place and friendly staff. Value-wise this is not quite what it once was.

Food still quite good though doesn’t seem to be quite as good as before the refurbishment.

The post-refurb price hike seems unwarranted.

I used to visit all the time, not so much anymore unfortunately.

A treasure lost...

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 733alr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

the premises have had a cosmetic update ...most likely to improve chances for a sale... NO competition when it comes to value with Southall .. Shawarma is a sorry looking 'mix' of meat that has dried up on the grill ...and the flat bread is good ...salad ...run of the mill ...for the price 950p ...not very good ...its probably worth more like 450p or 500p ...even then ...there are much better offerings within walking distance

restaurant was empty when I went there ...which should have acted as a warning ....avoid

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leteilleulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aromafooduk, Owner at Aroma, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Hi, thank you for your feedback and comments which we always take on board to try and improve our service and quality. Sorry to hear on this occasion it was not up to your standards – however, we can reassure you that when we put our menu together before our reopening in March we looked at either cutting portion sizes or increasing costs to enable us to still keep running as a profitable business so that we can continue to stay in business – we decided that we would keep our portion sizes the same as before as we know that is one of the reasons why our customers love aroma so much is for the large portion size you will always get with us and why our customers keep coming back every week. So it is disappointing to hear that on this occasion your food was not up to our usual standards. We are also very competitive with other nearby restaurants and in fact cheaper than our competitors as we also looked at prices when putting our menu together. Lastly, I would like to assure you that aroma is in no way, shape or form for sale and the refurbishment was not part of any ‘chance for a sale' either – we will be here serving our community for many more years to come. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon and if you do have any further issues or concerns please do ask to speak to management when you are next in so that we can be of assistance. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

We have used Aroma for years and we missed the when they refurbed me spent a lot of money in the new restaurant, but we are happy to have them back. We love the indoor eatery and will sample that side soon! We get the kebabs which no one can match anywhere and any country we have been too! Trust us we have tried! Our little girl love a chicken shish! Glad to have you back and keep up the hard work.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Cat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

I wrote a review of Aroma recently believing it had closed for good. (It had been closed for a very long time for refurbishment). Anyway, I am very pleased to report that they are back and that the food is every bit as good as it ever was. Fantastic chicken shish and great humus. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank CAROL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma also viewed

New Malden, Greater London
 
New Malden, Greater London
New Malden, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Been to Aroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing