We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
321
284
97
26
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
284
97
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame lodgeself cateringthe reservesafari experienceearly morningtime sharesunset hilllunch and dinnermorning drivetennis courtsfood was greatwild animalssouth africabuffet stylehis knowledgewonderful experiencequad biking
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 753 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

Spent a few days at Mabula with my family including 2 kids.The staff went out of their way to make the trip child friendly.The activities were exceptional, my son loved the horse trails and quad biking. The accommodation and food was also very good and we would definitely visit again.Keep up the good work.

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
Thank Vinesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionne1026, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2015

Dear Vinesh M

We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at Mabula. We pride ourselves on being a family destination and so are pleased to hear that we lived up to your expectations.

I hope that we will see you again soon.

Thank you

Dionne Collett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2015

Shjall always return to Mabula. Here you truly taste the African bush. Our favourite camp is Modjadje with every chalet its own boma where a real African fire and braai coul be had.
Two gamedrives a day compliments your stay well.
Chalets are serviced twice a day and are well equiped and maintained.
This is a classy place witout the frills where you are in the bush and only 2 hour from Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Ask for Modjadje camp
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerhard702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionne1026, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2015

Dear gerhard702014

We appreciated your comments regarding you recent visit to Mabula and we will pass them on to Mabula Timeshare. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you

Dionne Collett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2015

We spent last week at the Mabula Game Lodge in one of the Modjadhi timeshare units. The unit is completely in the bush - one cannot see the other units - the patio faced west and there were the most beautiful sunsets each evening. We had impala, kudu, warthogs, hornbills, squirrels, bushpigs and more around the unit each day. Just beware of the monkeys because they will get into the unit and steal fruit if a door is left open. One just walked straight passed me into the kitchen, took the fruit and walked out - talk about arrogence!! The unit was very nice indeed and very well furnished and maintained. Julia who was our housekeeper was excellent - very friendly and professional, with exceptional customer relation skills.
We went on game drives each day and saw many animals and birds - rangers were good - however, Francis stood out by far - the knowledge he has of the bush is mind blowing. When I asked him how long he had been at Mabula, his reply was he is part of the foundations! We saw the leopard and her cubs, rhino, buffalo, the ground hornbills, along with many other animals.
We had the buffet dinner in the boma one night which was OK - nothing outstanding but once again excellent service from the waiters.
The pool at the Modjadhi lodge is heated in winter and we swam every day. The weather was absolutely beautiful. Chatting to people who have gone there for 26 years said it was the best weather they have very experienced!
Overall, a really wonderful week's stay right in the middle of the South African bush . I would like to rate it four and a half rather than four !!!

Room Tip: Any of the timeshare chalets because they are completely surrounded by bush - which is what one goes to Mabula for.
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 996christinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionne1026, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Dear Christine N

Thank you for your positive and constructive comments regarding your Mabula experience. Modjadji fall under the Mabula Timeshare, I will be certain to pass your comments on to them as well.

Thank you

Dionne Collett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2015

I will come back soon. The game drives in the early morning and in the late evening gave great insight in the wildlife circumstances and activities. Back in the Lodge it was a good feeling of comfort and safety. I would have loved to stay longer and enjoy the place even more intensively.


  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 991margareter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionne1026, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2015

Dear 991margareter

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mabula.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you

Dionne Collett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2015

I felt very welcome, comfortable and safe.
Game drive was excellent, the food very good. Beautiful property.
the staff is very friendly, the rooms beautiful. Sleep quality excellent.
Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ulrikeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dionne1026, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2015

Dear ulrikeye

Thank you for your positive recommendations and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mabula Game Lodge.

I hope that we have the privilege of inviting you back to Mabula at some time in the future.

Thank you

Dionne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews