We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Mabula Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mabula Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed one night here on a recent visit to South Africa. Accommodation is good, stayed in one of the lodges. Restaurant is pretty basic and buffet for breakfast, lunch and evening meal was ok but nothing to get excited about. Staff are lovely, friendly and service overall was quite good, but not top notch. Maybe expecting too much for an establishment out in the bush!! Went on two game drives (with George our driver & guide) the guides knowledge was excellent and he guided us to places where we saw most of the big game. Well worth getting up at 5.30am for the dawn drive. Both sunrise and sunset drives were very good. Pool area is great for relaxation, the little time we had. Setting is very pretty and would love to back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All of the lodges are within easy access to main facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha D, Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one, and we’re excited to hear that you managed to see most of the big game. We also take note of the restaurant and the food, and assure you that our efforts remain in improving our culinary standards. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to continually improve on our services. We look forward to welcoming you back at our beautiful Mabula Game Lodge soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 624 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had a very bad experience in Mabula Game Lodge last March . I had been there for 2 nights and to my great surprise somebody has taken 1800 US$ from the safety box in my room. As the staff knew exactly what time you leave the room for safaris and what time you'll be back , they have enough time to access to all your belonging .The manager and the front desk staff who have the access to the master key of the safety box feel no responsibility for that and they don't even reply any emails.I do emphasize that don't leave any money in the room's safety boxes in this lodge as it is not safe at all. It is only safe for the staff to thieve your money . They are thieves ! Don't believe them and if you can don't travel there at all .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shariati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWalker71, Director of Sales at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We acknowledge your comments regarding Mabula Game Lodge. I would like to take this opportunity of assuring you that we have been kept abreast of the complaint via the official channel of your booking agent and tour operator. My sincere apologies if you have not been updated. The official investigation has been concluded and we have directed correspondence to you directly. Warm Regards
Mabula Game Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

my wife and I arrived to the lodge with a great deal of expectations. neadless to say that all of them were fully fullfiled. The Staff went above and beyond their calls of duty to accomodate our needs. Front desk reception and administration were constanly inquiring about our stay and making sure we were happy. Our game drive safaris were fabulous, besides we had an excellet ranger (Sem or Little Sem) he was eager to answer all our questions (there were ALOT of questions) we were very fortunate to have Sem as our ranger becasue we were able to see most of the big 5 (we didn't see the leopard, besides, is very elusive even for a well trained eye or ecologist spending weeks in the bush) we even got to see the 2 cheetas hunting in the middle of an oppen space. Food was also superb and with a great variety of local meets if you feel adventurous to tray some of the local antilopes such as kudu, impala and more.

Mi esposa y yo llegamos al Lodge con gran espectativa para lo cual todas ellas fueron satisfechas. el personal del Lodge fue mas alla de sus laboras para satisfacer nuestras necesidades. recepcion y administracion constantemente preguntaban si estabamos agustos y contentos. Nuestros safaris fueron fabulosos, aparte de todo, tubimos un ranger excelente (Sem o Little Sem) el cual estaba muy dispuesto a contestar nuestras preguntas (y eran MUCHAS preguntas). Nos sentiamos muy afortunados de tener a Sem como nuestro ranger por que pudismo ver casi todos los big 5 (con la excepcion del leopardo que de por si es un animal muy elusivo inclusive para un ojo entreando o ambientalistas que duran semanas buscando) inclusive tubimos la gran oportunidad de ver 2 cheetas cazando en espacio abierto. la comida fue fenomenal con una gran variedad de carnes de especies locales para los que nos sentimos mas aventureros como el Kudu, impala, y otros antilopes mas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank li0n1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Mabula several years ago while traveling the earth and it was an excellent experience. During my stay the animals were quite active which led to excitement and stories that I will never forget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After a hectic week of meetings a friend and I had a couple of days R&R at Mabula. A bit less small and exclusive than we had hoped but great value for money. The rooms were OK, the food was really good and the staff was really friendly and helpful. Twice a day game drives are offered in large open vehicles and we saw a surprising array of animals, ranging from giraffes through elephants and rhino to a rare sighting of cheetahs!

Room Tip: The rooms with bath and shower looked a bit more luxurious than the more simple ones with just a sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nossim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Upon arrival to the reserve, in the dark, we checked into the front desk and was given a "map" to get to our time share cottage, which is very separate from the hotel . This process took us through the complete wilderness, lost in the South African reserve, along dirt paths, in absolute blackness, with little or hidden directional signs, for a total of about 30 mins which seems like forever when you are lost. We finally found our cottage, which was also in complete darkness and had to shine the lights from our van to get the key in the front door. When we switched on the lights inside, we were greeted with the most incredible surprise. A lovely unit with an ensuite master bedroom, and 2 other bedrooms that shared a comfortable bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, living and dining room with cable tv. All the facilities for an incredible week stay. When my husband and I awoke the following morning to the most picturesque sunrise, we sat on the patio, overlooking the plains and saw what I can only describe as magical. Giraffes and other wildlife in their natural habitat roaming free across the grasslands. Birds and monkeys in the trees and on the ground surrounding the cottage and daily visits from a family of warthogs which strolled onto our patio were normal occurrences. Being in a cottage gave us the feel of being in the wilderness among the wildlife, with all its strange, exciting noises, scents and sights. It puts you at risk for the thieving monkeys who took every opportunity to grab food and brazenly wander inside and take things off the dining table. So we had to keep all doors latched (monkeys can slide open doors) and when on the patio, guard all food. On the way to our first event, on the second night, we encountered a bull elephant in the middle of our road, and on our way back, rhinos on the path. There are many stories like this for the entire week during our stay, riding on elephants, star gazing, lion watching, game drives through the reserve in an open vehicle and horse back riding through the reserve are some of the activities offered, on or a short drive from the reserve. For the less adventurous, they also offered tennis courts, a pool, drinks by the bar and all the other amenities that a top notch hotel would. Being in a self contained cottage meant that we could cook our own meals if we wanted (small onsite grocery) and we even tried our hand at the outdoor braai (bbq pit) buying groceries from the nearby town which was about 15-20 mins away. All staff that took us for the tours were gracious and informative as well as the staff in the hotel. We took our family to South Africa for the adventure and memories of a lifetime.....delivered perfectly on Mabula Reserve. The only small disappointment was that although there was a fireplace in the living room, we could not use it because of hotel restrictions. Even getting lost on the reserve the first night was part of the adventure.

Room Tip: We (family of 6) stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage which provided maid service, a full kitchen, outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaMc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent three nights in Mabula. We did not stay in the lodge, as we were staying in one of the whole owners properties. We did however visit the main lodge to cool off in the wonderful pool and have a cocktail whilst in the pool, this was fantastic.

We booked for a dinner at the boma, but due to weather we were not able to eat in the boma, and instead had to eat in the buffet restaurant, i must say this was a major let down as the food consisted of mainly indian foods, and Sunday roasts. We were looking forward to some good game meat but instead got curries. The service was terribly slow at the restaurant. We really enjoyed the african dancers and drummers though.

On a positive note, we had fabulous game viewing, which included seeing cheetahs eating a kill and elephants sleeping. We had a fabulous game ranger, Bethuel, who's passion and knowledge of nature was remarkable.

On our last day we decided to stop at the curio shop and buy some memorabilia, but were told that the shop was closed until two, for lunch. So we went off and had a drink and came back at 2:20pm to find that the shop was still closed, we then approached the hotel manager who tracked down the shop assistant. The shop assistant was unhelpful and rude, this was a major let down.

All and all i would rate the game reserve as a excellent, but i would rate the service at the lodge as average due to the poor customer service.

Room Tip: Have a cocktail whilst sitting at the pool bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabula Private Game Reserve
22.6 mi away
Zulu Camp
Zulu Camp
#1 of 2 in Vaalwater
15 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
#2 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
75 reviews
0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#8 of 40 in Vaalwater
24 reviews
8.8 mi away
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
#34 of 67 in Waterberg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabula Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $214 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabula Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5." All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Dining venues, outdoor cocktail and whiskey bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre. Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities. Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms. The lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve
Mabula Game Lodge Mabula Private Game Reserve, Limpopo, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing