We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first game lodge experience - It was excellent!!!”
Review of Mabula Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mabula Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I am was not very sure where we are headed when our agent suggested Mabula. But after staying here, we loved it...
Lot of activities - gamedrives, horse riding, quad biking, or just relaxing...
Best of all - it has an Indian cook (being a Mallya property) so we had no probs getting Indian vegetarian food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amruta0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for Mabula Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 581 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

Service - the staff, from the front desk to the waiters and forest rangers, were extremely helpful and very polite.
The cottage was comfortable with a/c, warm water, TV, etc.
The reserve is only a short drive from Jo'burg.It boasts a swimming pool, a lily pond, a dining room, and interesting walking areas. The cottages are nicely positioned and unobtrusive.
Entertainment was provided by way of African tribal dances on both the evenings we were there.
The food was inventive with continental, Indian and local fare, including game. It suited my palate perfectly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIPU_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Lovely location. Fantastic views. Rooms were ok. Fairly clean. Service was shocking, The receptionists were acting like they really did not want to be there. My advise. Replace your staff. Ask all guests that feed your animals to leave. Bring in staff that want to be there. Get rid of guests that have not respect for nature and you will have a wining formula. Please also do something about the food. 'Poor taste'.

Room Tip: Get a quite room
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stayed here with large group on a cricket tour. Absolutely wonderful experience, saw all the Big 5 except Leopard, but saw a kill up a tree, the staff are fantastic, the food is magnificent and caters for all. Thatched bungalows are 1st class and spotlessly clean with all you need. Really worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D Evs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We wanted to stay two nights, but left earlier, because we did not like the place.

Rooms definitely need a refurbishment and beds needs so be replaced.
We liked the game drives with Sam, but the quality of the food (breakfast and dinner) was really poor. They have a long wine list, but only had one white wine available. There was a lot of personnel at the lodge, but they are not well trained and friendly at all. Internet did not work and the pool was so dirty that we did not want to swim in it.
Room service knocked on our door as long as we had to get up to tell them to stop this.
I had a special room request and told them it is my birthday, but they did not even try to pay attention to any of my wishes.
Save your money and go to another place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMonica33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Mabula Lodge was one of the best part of our trip. The rooms were too spacious and comfortable to take away all the tiredness. It has all the Facilities we needed. The beds are very big and really comfortable. The bathrooms are also very spacius and clean.

The room Service takes a little more than long to serve in the room. The restaurant was fabulous. We did not expect to find Indian Jain Food as except me all others were Jains with me on the trip, but to our surprise we got the best food here on our whole trip to south africa. The staff was really very accomodating to our needs.

Hats off to this place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ankurgupta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

International Travelers need to be aware that Mabula no longer provides first aid for guests. My husband slipped on the tile floor and dazed himself; he went into breathing difficulties and we called the front desk asking for an ambulance to be sent at once! We called back 15 minutes later and asked where the ambulance was and the front desk said they needed insurance information first. After 3 more calls frantically asking where an ambulance was... Long story short, an hour and a half later, a provincial ambulance showed up with a gurney, no blanket and an oxygen tank. Nothing else. On the way to medical care! a joke! he suffered a stroke and went into a coma and died. Resort never sent condolences, never recognized their negligence until I spoke with the new GM. Ambulance Service says Mabula stopped paying for First Aid training for their staff in Nov 2009. So, go to Mabula and enjoy. We own two weeks there and we had been going there since it first opened many years ago New owner now, new changes...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank widowedglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabula Private Game Reserve
3.9 mi away
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
#2 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
69 reviews
9.7 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#2 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
16.5 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#11 of 51 in Bela Bela
60 reviews
8.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabula Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $182 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabula Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5." All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Dining venues, outdoor cocktail and whiskey bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre. Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities. Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms. The lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve
Mabula Game Lodge Mabula Private Game Reserve, Limpopo, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing