We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing setting, great hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Our beautiful sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our beautiful sunsets
View from the cottage From the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Our beautiful sunsets
View from the cottage
From the cottage
View from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Charleston, West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wanakaspo...
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“amazing setting, great hosts”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Beautiful cottage in an amazing setting. If you are after rest and relaxation, this is the place to be. Whether you're into reading a book, go for long beach walks, or surfing and or kitesurfing, this is a place that offers it all. The cottage is very comfortable, great bed, big outdoor tub, good shower. There are Weka's wandering around in the garden, also the occasional hare. You're right at the beach. There are also some good hikes in the region, about 5 min. away. Highly recommendable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2015
Thanks guys you were great guests. Thank you for leaving the cottage so nice and tidy. We are so pleased with your beautiful comments. Hope we see you again soon. Happy days. Lots of happiness Craig Val Emma Lucy and Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robincP89...
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

For couples seeking peaceful, private isolation mixed with comfort and quality accommodation, this is an absolutely beautiful choice. The setting on the wild and remote Nine Mile Beach fronting the Tasman Sea is ideal for uninterrupted beach walking and sunset watching. Thoroughly recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2016
Thank you so much Guys. It was lovely to meet you both. Thank you for such wonderful reviews. Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers Val and Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little Magic Hideaway from City Life”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

As you walk in the view is just breathtaking !!! The sunset was magical and the stars at night are so bright and so many, it's just simply a little treasure of a place we just so happen to be lucky enough to stay. At night you can walk and see some penguins but you have to be very quiet. The beach is so close you can hear the waves if you sit outside at sunset for a lovely glass of wine. Best thing is there is no phone so you can just relax and unwind for a few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The magnificent view of the ocean and the surrounding natural environment with it's own wildlife.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2016
It was so lovely to meet you both. Thank you so much for your wonderful words. I'm sorry it took a while to get back. We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers VAl and Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airbus032...
Kiwi
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Our hideaway in doggie paradise”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay in the cottage. It is a great place, right on the beach, comfy, really warm (don't load the wood burner up to much or you will have to sit with the door open, gets too warm), the double glazing ensures a great nights sleep (the distant murmur of the surf is very sleep inducing) and it has a shower that I would like to take home. Our dog thinks it is paradise. Miles of beach to run on, endless sticks to chase. For us there are the great long walks, Jacks Pizza to visit at night and Westport is just down the road for coffee. We'll go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the beach, no tv or phone
Liked least: Not a lot
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Hey Guys. It's taken me a while to respond. So sorry. Better late than never. I wasthinking about you both the other day and this is the only way I can contact you both. Please email and send details. I hope you are both well. I call you guys my regulars. Thank you for your wonderful words. All the best Val Craig Emma Lucy and Jack. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing