We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very informative and nice train ride through the rainforest”

Underworld Adventures Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: See our Underworld Adventures:For Underworld Rafting:Join us on a simply magical journey of discovery in the Nile River GlowWorm Caves. Float on an underground lake illuminated only by GlowWorms and admire a wonderland of Stactites & Stalagmites in one of New Zealands largest unmodified cave systems.For The Charleston GlowWorm Cave Tour:Take the “Rainforest Train” in to the Nile River Canyon Rain Forest and explore the enormous Nile River Cave System. You will view an ancient "wonderland" of stalactites and stalagmites & simply "galaxies" of Glowworms.For TeTahi Adventure Caving:This is full on expedition style caving with small numbers in one of NZ’s most sporty caves. Participants explore an amazing form cave complete with abseils, climbs, squeezes and crawls along cascading waterways.For The Nile River Rainforest Train:This is a short interpretive train ride through primeval rain forest in the Nile River Canyon. The track passes through the “The Lost World” film site. Take a short walk to The Nile Rver Suspension Bridge & The Nile River GlowWorm Caves.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A very informative and nice train ride through the rainforest”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went for a train ride through the rainforest and the operator, Ray took us from his office to the festive site. He was a very humorous and knowledgeable guide and we thoroughly enjoy the almost 2 hrs trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank accura_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    41
    6
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“train ride”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

an absolute waste of money and time ,they are only interested in you if you are caving.The train journey lasts all of 10 minutes where you are asked to disembark and walk to the suspension bridge' but be quick the guide said as we don't have much time.The whole experience from turning up at their unfinished ofice to be given poor instructions to find the train as apparently the bus was full (lies) .We had to drive there. I cannot put into words just how bad this over priced so called attraction is. I warn all of you DO NOT GO THEIR

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tyred1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Manager at Underworld Adventures Ltd, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for the review and we regret that your Grab one expectations did not get met. The train ride is an interpreted ride through the valley and a short walk up to the swin bridge so that the views may be fully appreciated. As the train is used for several purposes at the same time it may seem that there is a degree of being overlooked. Wwe are working on ways to overcome this situation. as for the time frames the whole journey from the Base in Charleston and back usually takes around 1.5 hours and the travel on the train each way is a part of the whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This place definitely could be missed. 27/10/2013”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just returned from a long labour weekend in the West Coast. Was told from various people that this place was a place to see. We were lucky enough to get a half price Grab-One voucher for the train ride as not all of us wanted to do the rafting. We arrived at the place to meet. Walked inside to be greeted by a lady behind the desk. Handed over our Grab-One vouchers and were told that we had to drive up our own cars since there was no other room on the their bus for us. Vague instructions were given to get to the so called 'festival site'. Our train was supposed to depart at 2pm but didn't until 2.30pm. Whilst sitting around waiting we were being eaten alive by sandflies, finally we boarded the train at 2.35pm. We arrived at the top of the track and were told that we could go on a walk up to the swing bridge if we would like. We were told to be quick as their was people from the rafting waiting. We were rushed to the swing bridge. Whilst on the way back to the station we were met by the guide and hurried back to the train. All in all our trip was just over 30 minutes long. Not 1.5 hours as it is stated in the booklet/website and everywhere that you look. This part of our trip was not enjoyable at all. The guides were rude and un-prepared/un-organised. Apart from all the waiting around and disappointing service the weather was nice that day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JessLodwidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Low on Water, but High on Exhilaration”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wow! What an amazing day! A short bus ride then a ride in a dinky little train through the forest with fern whipping through the open sides of the little carriages. Then it was the rather rigorous trek through the bush, up a very steep flight of steps to the caves - this was all done decked out in a full wet suit, safety helmet, life jacket and carrying a large rafting tube. No mean feat for a short-legged lady, but managed with the help of the brilliant guide and the much younger members on the trek. Did I mention it was a very hot day? But oh so worth it! The caves were brilliant with their stunning display of stalagmites and stalactites, then into the inner tubes to drift in the water through the most magical place we've ever been. The glowworms have to be seen to be believed! Out of the cave system, it was onto the Nile River to float our way through some rapids (be aware of sandflies on this stretch!) and back to the start of the trek and the train. Sadly the area was in a state of drought when we did this, so the river was very low. It would be brilliant with a higher river flow. Totally recommend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hottees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If your in the South Island of New Zealand, this place cannot be missed!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Absolutely amazing and great value. I will definitely be back and highly recommend this place to anyone who is seeking an unforgettable experience in New Zealand! The crew at Underworld Adventures are also very charming, informative and lots of fun ... But don't take my word for it come down to Underworld Adventures and experience it for yourself!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MDThomas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underworld Adventures Ltd also viewed

Charleston, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Underworld Adventures Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing