We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New building and facilities and halfd day tour, free pictures”

Underworld Adventures Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: See our Underworld Adventures:For Underworld Rafting:Join us on a simply magical journey of discovery in the Nile River GlowWorm Caves. Float on an underground lake illuminated only by GlowWorms and admire a wonderland of Stactites & Stalagmites in one of New Zealands largest unmodified cave systems.For The Charleston GlowWorm Cave Tour:Take the “Rainforest Train” in to the Nile River Canyon Rain Forest and explore the enormous Nile River Cave System. You will view an ancient "wonderland" of stalactites and stalagmites & simply "galaxies" of Glowworms.For TeTahi Adventure Caving:This is full on expedition style caving with small numbers in one of NZ’s most sporty caves. Participants explore an amazing form cave complete with abseils, climbs, squeezes and crawls along cascading waterways.For The Nile River Rainforest Train:This is a short interpretive train ride through primeval rain forest in the Nile River Canyon. The track passes through the “The Lost World” film site. Take a short walk to The Nile Rver Suspension Bridge & The Nile River GlowWorm Caves.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
527 reviews
299 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“New building and facilities and halfd day tour, free pictures”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The whole activity took about four hours and aferwards you get free photo's taken by the guide, so there is no hefty additional fee.
The trip started in the new building (still under completion) where we were fitted out with wetsuit pants and vests, shoes, helmets and gloves. From there with a minivan to the train.
Two km by train through the rainforest and picking up our tubes befor crossing the bridge.
Climbing some stairs and entering the caves where we got explanations from our guide.
In the end we floated through a glow worm cave; as spectacular as always with the stary sky.
Than the tubing down the river was also fun, although the water was rather low.
The whole activity is not strenuous and can be easily done, and it includes the several aspects of vaving, tubing and glowworms. A half day well spent.
In theory we could download the pictures but the guide loaded them on my own flash-pin.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    41
    6
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A highlight of our holiday”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Saying something in such an awe-inspiring country! I wasn't expecting anything as exciting so was a little daunted by having to don a wetsuit and finding out the raft was a big rubber ring. The whole experience was great - the little train through the forest, the walk through the cave and floating along in the dark looking at the glow-worms. The people running are great - really friendly and informative.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizH227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A totally professional operator with a lot of LOVE”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been working in outdoor tourism in NZ for nearly 20 years and I have only ever seen a handlful of operators like this one. Their operation is really professional and organized but you still get the personal touch. The owner was working on the counter checking us in and he couldn't do enough to help. You could tell the guide really loved what she did, the bus driver was her mother!
They took safety seriously and you could tell they respected the environment.
What made it best of all was floating on a tube through the huge glowworm cavern, that experience is something I have never had anywhere before.
Very highly recommended and they deserve every success they have.
Thanks guys.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wellsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Underworld rafting”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We did the Underworld Rafting trip, although had booked in for the Adventure Caving. We only found out on the day that the Adventure Caving wasn't available, which was disappointing. Would have appreciated some notice about this.

Nevertheless, the Underworld trip was a good one. The glowworms are really impressive and the tubing element is a lot f fun. The complementary photos are a bonus too.

The arrangement for showers with the campsite next door is a little inconvenient, but this will improve once the building works at the office are compete.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great trip, if the river has adequate water levels”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a great adventure, with a couple of cautions. There is climbing - up the side of a hill in full wet suit, carrying your tube. The steps, all 120 of them, are cut in the side of the hill, with no hand rails. It's not a big deal if you are quite fit, but were a challenge for a semi couch potato. I must say the guide was quite helpful, carrying my tube, and encouraging me along the way. The walk though the cave was interesting. The float through the glowworm cave was amazing, just too short. Since the water was low, we had to get out of the tube and walk several times. The trip down the river with small rapids would have been much more fun if there was more than 6" of water in the river. All in all, it was worth the effort and cost, but I would not recommend it for someone who is not in fairly good shape.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank oregonjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at Underworld Adventures Ltd, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for the feedback. Good news! The drought has broken! Our rivers are back to normal and its great fun as usual. Even better, the Glow Worms are still at full brilliancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underworld Adventures Ltd also viewed

Charleston, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Underworld Adventures Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing