We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and terrible service!!””
Review of Murgatroyds

Murgatroyds
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Yeadon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“overpriced and terrible service!!””
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife went ordered a haddock fillet after explaining to the waiter many times what we wanted as she was foreign. When we got our food my pregnant wife choked on fish bones which could have been more serious when we told the manager they simply said its written in small print on the menu so it's expected how bloody rude considering the high price watered down drinks and bad service we didn't even get an apology. Will defo be not going there again not worth the money waiters sat down like lost puppies doing nothing rather go to me locals for £3.50

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zakariya7422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    372
    123
    57
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Real fish n chips”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My cousin recommended this place to us while we were over near the Leeds Bradford Airport. Excellent. Chips crispy, hot and the fish was not swimming in batter. The malt vinegar was great. You had to pay extra for the ketchup. Sat out doors and ate ours.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelseadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

a bit pricy but well worth it for a treat lovely to sit out on a nice day shame they only cold drinks were can machines outside

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria23Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips by far”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is just the best place for fish and chips by far. Have been many times and the quality and service has never dissapointed. The only slight complaint is the size of the car park. It is often very difficult to find a parking space so needs enlarging if at all possible. But the fish & chips......cannot be beaten.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“NEVER HAD FISH ANY BETTER THAN HERE”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I am so glad Billy Murgs is on my door step because if it wasnt I would have to travel and travel I would as in my opinion THE FISH IS THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD. My family and I have tried fish and chips every where but there is no where like Billys the closest we have come is the Maypole in Otley. SUPERB Just hope the standards remain and dont slip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank estateagent47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murgatroyds also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Murgatroyds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing