We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM and a warm welcome”
Review of Willow Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willow Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Yeadon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“VFM and a warm welcome”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

You can tell that this is a real "labour of love" for the owners Julie and Harvey as the place is in a really old stone cottage that has been very tastefully decorated and furnished.

Considering the quality of the fittings, furnishings and the breakfast it is fantastic value for money, and easy to get into either Leeds or areas like Skipton/Ilkley (traffic and weather permitting etc!).

Both Harvey and especially Julie are really friendly and gregarious...you really feel like a guest in their home (which ultimately is what you are!). This includes really helpful hints on where to eat / shop / see etc.

There is free parking available in the evening on the road outside the cottage.

Just a slight note of caution; Julie and Harvey are cat lovers (there are about 4 wandering around). Not a problem for me; I like cats (and these are dead friendly, just like their owners)...but if you are allergic or antagonistic towards our furry friends you will need to bear this in mind!

There is also an LA Fitness close by; you can usually haggle a guest pass to use the gym, pool and spa. Or you can just visit one of the many nice pubs in the area, including The Clothiers which offers a great range of ales plus food.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different so make sure that you pick the one that best meets your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mc_cheekymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
120
40
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I would highly recommend staying here . From the 1st e mail asking whether we had any breakfast requests ( we did as we are vegetarian ) to the farewell we were excellently treated. The accommodation is spotless and the welcome warm. The breakfast selection was better than many 5 star hotels I have stayed in. We will be returning sooner rather than later Graham & Leisa Stuart

Room Tip: All appeared good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at the Willow Cotage B&B for one night on Sun 26th Jan. The place is a little difficult to find but that is because you cant believe a lovely hidden gem like this could exist so close to all the bustle of a busy town center. Nothing is too much trouble and you end up feeling like you are home from home. We stayed in the garden room which is the most expensive but well worth the extra few quid. I would love to come back in the summer when the garden itself is in full bloom.
The cottage is close to all the shops and lots of pubs and is an ideal base to discover Yorkshire.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is like taking your own bedroom away with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hand on my heart this is by far the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Words can't describe how outstanding the service, cleanliness, comfort and breakfast is. Having done a fair bit of travelling this B&B is certainly on par, in fact better than a 5* hotel.

Julie and Harvey welcome you open arms and go above and beyond to make sure the stay is home from home. As someone who gets quite anxious about cleanliness, Willow Tree is spotless and very well maintained. The decoration is beautiful and each room is furnished to the top most quality (including the bedding with lovely duck and down duvets)!

Although I wasn't very 'adventurous' with breakfast Julie provided a beautiful array of breakfasts for other guests including full English, eggs and smocked salmon , fresh pastries, cereals, fresh fruit salad, toast, homemade jams and condiments, nuts, cereal bars- the list goes on but everything you could want or need(and great portion sizes)!

The shower was excellent, powerful and nice and hot!! Towels were clearly replaced frequently and bathroom was equipped with lovely body creams and washes.

I could go on, but the attention to detail and care for their guests is second to none. I can't recommend this B&B highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelleftea, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

First time in England ever and staying at the Willow Cottage just made it better.
I'm more than pleased with everything. A nice house with a nice homely interior, a breakfast with many choices and a bedroom with really good bed to sleep in. Also the large wardrobe to unpack the suitcase just added up to the stay. The service was superb, and support with smaller things was never a problem.

All together and the fact its not far from Leeds city I warmly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was a fantastic stay at Willow Cottage only a 10 minute drive to the heart of Leeds. The place is very homely and cottage feeling with an open fireplace and lovely kitchen and dinning area. Our room was great. It was the new room that you access from outside via the garden so you have your own entrance if you come late so no need to go through the main house. The room was perfect, really nice and cozy warm with a very nice comfortable king bed and a lovely on suite toilet and shower all done up to a really high standard. The hospitality is what was most memorable however.The Owners Sister and her partner welcomed us and showed us all the amenities and also gave us great directions to the center for our concert so we would not be late. The breakfast was also very lovely, full traditional english was excellently cooked and there was a variety of choice of breads, cereals jams, fruit etc to help yourself too. In the morning we left to drive back to London and as my wife was pregnant we were given a goody bag with drink and some biscuits and fruit for the journey for my wife which was amazing and sweet. You will not be disappointed with your stay here, we certainly weren't!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasMWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have travelled a LOT over the past number of years, both on holiday and with business. Willow Cottage came highly recommended by one of my colleagues down in Leeds, and I wasn't disappointed!

Willow Cottage is without doubt the most beautiful, well decorated, comfortable, and friendly place I have stayed in years, if not ever. Let me tell you I have stayed in many! Couple that with the exceptional value for money, and the fantastic breakfast included in the price and you honestly couldn't fault it.

Both of the owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, willing to bend over backwards to accommodate your needs.

It really bucks the stigma of B & B's being tired establishments run by bored old codgers, and makes a refreshing change by being modern yet comfortable.

I only wish I had had longer to stay there. I would happily move in permanently! I can't recommend Willow Cottage highly enough for any kind of trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yeadon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Cottage B&B

Property: Willow Cottage B&B
Address: Willow Cottage Ivegate, Yeadon, Leeds, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Yeadon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yeadon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Cottage is a grade two listed 17th-century house. Ten minutes drive from beautiful open countryside, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales, easy access to Leeds Bradford Airport (without airport noise) with a bus service from outside the house 747 and 737. There is also the world Heritage site such as Salts Mill. Local restaurants within two minutes walk, also large supermarket for things forgotten. Train links to Ilkley, close to Harrogate with the famous Bettys tea room. A perfect location to visit. Log fires in winter and a lovely private walled garden in the summer. Ilkley moor and the Yorkshire dales all within a short drive. It's a very relaxed house and guests are welcome to come and go as they wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Willow Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing