We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it says on the tin !”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Willow Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willow Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Yeadon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what it says on the tin !”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose this B&B as an alternative to airport parking for a week. On the hotel website it claims that car parking is available. We were therefore disappointed to find that parking was indeed on the street, a fact that the owner, who new of our reasons for using the hotel, had never indicated when we made the booking. When we arrived their comment of ‘it’ll be fine on the street’ did little to allay my fear.
We were also disappointed that breakfast was not provided. We had an early start to leave for the airport so didn’t expect a cooked breakfast. However I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect them to offer some form of refreshment. After all, I thought we had paid for bed and breakfast !
All in all a very disappointing experience and not an hotel I would recommend. Take my advice, check the contents on the tin first !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udidask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowcottage41, Owner at Willow Cottage B&B, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I would first like to say that we were saddened that you found Willow Cottage B&B dissapointing.
When you made the reservation there was a substantial discount given for your stay, as you were not having breakfast.This price also including free parking for a week.
There is a hospitality tray provided in your room , which has a large selection of teas and coffee/ biscuits.
We do not leave fresh milk in the rooms or juice. This could of been requested.
We are not a Hotel ,we are a small family run B&B .
Parking is outside the house or there is a small cark park 50 yards away.
If I remember you were leaving at approximatly 5am which we ordered you a taxi for, if you were in a hotel you would be asking for room service for breakfast at this time. Extra Cost
We offer a warm friendlly service and always do our best to make peoples stay a happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
105
33
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Markyate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the best B & B you could wish for. Willow Cottage is lovely, with a fabulous décor. The rooms are decorated beautifully and the beds are so comfortable, you do not want to get out of them. When you do though, you are treated to a first class breakfast with plenty of choice, from fresh fruit, to a full English breakfast. Julie and Harvey, the hostess and host, are so friendly and welcoming. I first stayed in this house 5 years ago, and look forward so much, to every visit. There is nothing to fault this beautiful cottage, and Julie and Harvey have become firm friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay at Willow Cottage and I loved it! Julie is a wonderful host, making me feel welcome and providing an excellent breakfast that sets me up for the day! The cottage is full of character with a lovely big garden at the back. I will definitley be back should my business take me to the area again :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful and friendly owners. Room very stylishly renovated whilst retaining character. Everything seems good quality-beautiful bed and excellent hospitality tray. Cant comment in breakfast as we didn't have time but sure it will be proper Yorkshire one! Good base for airport users.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHERYL190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Willow Cottage last weekend, and enjoyed a very pleasant two days. The welcome- from Julie- was fabulous, the rooms themselves superb, and the breakfasts terrific. We look forward to calling again sometime, when, with better weather, we will be able to sit out and relax in the beautiful garden

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner & I stayed here in August for one night we had room 5 the garden room, it was lovely very comfortable bed, wonderful shower the decor was fantastic throughout. Julie the host was lovely and friendly and the breakfast was very tasty, if Julie goes on channel 4 show "3 in a bed" she would win!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in the middle of August after visiting friends in Yeadon.
It turned out to be a very comfortable and quiet stay in room 4. Such a stunning bathroom and comfortable beds.
We chose to have a lie in and miss breakfast, especially at such an early breakfast time of 7- 8:15, but there looked to be a substantial and appetising choice.
The only odd thing we thought was how there were not locks on the doors? We ended up locking all valuables in the boot of my car whilst we were out which was inconvenient.
Also the website states 'car parking available' which I presumed wrong to be a private car park, this turned out to mean parking your car on the road outside on a steep embankment if you could get a space.

The B&B has three cats all of which are gorgeous and we loved sitting with them or playing with them in the garden.

All in all we would stay again here whilst visiting friends.

Room Tip: Request room 4 for a big bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yeadon
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Cottage B&B

Property: Willow Cottage B&B
Address: Willow Cottage Ivegate, Yeadon, Leeds, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Yeadon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yeadon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Cottage is a grade two listed 17th-century house. Ten minutes drive from beautiful open countryside, Ilkley Moor and the Yorkshire Dales, easy access to Leeds Bradford Airport (without airport noise) with a bus service from outside the house 747 and 737. There is also the world Heritage site such as Salts Mill. Local restaurants within two minutes walk, also large supermarket for things forgotten. Train links to Ilkley, close to Harrogate with the famous Bettys tea room. A perfect location to visit. Log fires in winter and a lovely private walled garden in the summer. Ilkley moor and the Yorkshire dales all within a short drive. It's a very relaxed house and guests are welcome to come and go as they wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Willow Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing