We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic mountain hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Richard J
Canillas de Aceituno, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Idyllic mountain hideaway”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful holiday home set against the breath taking back drop of the mountains just outside the charming village Canillas de Aceituno.
Comforble and peacefull, well equipped, with a swimming pool and cosy al fresco with BBQ.
20 minute drive to beaches. 20 minute walk to the village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew G
St Just, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect retreat with pool”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely stay. A beautiful and well equipped villa in the mountains with pool, which the kids loved. Would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Dear Andrew and family,
I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday in our house.
You are very much welcome back another time.
Thanks for being such nice guests and for leaving our house so tidy!
Best regards
Karina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaylew1s
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in a magical spot”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week here despite the rain, at one point I think we were inside a rain cloud!
House is lovely and very well equipped, quite a long drive up the mountain but worth it for the view.
Local village within walking distance with several good restaurants, shops and bars.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to make a review and for the nice words. I'm glad that you enjoyed our house and your vacation. We make an effort to keep Casa Chumbo well equipped, so our guests have what they need to make their stay easy and enjoyable.
You are most welcome another time.
Kind regards
Karina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simmarian
bangor ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent, but.....”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

In itself, this is an excellent property: well built, well designed, very clean and comfortable, a particularly good and large outside area. And very private. But - the converse of the privacy - the location is very isolated. I would not describe it as being on the outskirts of the village: it was a 15 minute uphill walk to the edge of the village, and another 10 minutes or so to the shops. Access to the property is via a very steep driveway, with only a small turning circle at the bottom: much manoeuvring necessary! And the last 20 yards is via a very steep gravel path, only for walking on: even a suitcase could nto be rolled down it. Definitely not for anyone with any sort of mobility issues. Minor snags: all the lights are rather dim; there was not a single light that was suitable for reading in the evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Dear Pat,
Thanks for the nice words about our house. We are glad that you liked both the house and the outside area. We have never heard that it was a problem turning the car at the bottom but we recognize that it can be a problem if you have mobility issues walking from the parking area to the entrance. In the spring we will establish a proper concrete stair case to make the access easier.
We will also now provide proper reading lamps. Thanks for your input and suggestions, that is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maia M
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely faboulous! Autumn break of the very best kind.”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Chumbo created the perfect frame for our holiday in Andalusia. Only 45 minutes from the airport, easy to find, remote enough to get our pulse down and to chill, but close enough to the beach, villages, shopping, restaurants, nature walks etc. to never have a dull moment unless we wanted to.

The house itself is fantastic: comfortable, in brilliant taste and super well equipped. My husband is a chef, and usually when we have rented houses, he has missed his tools. Not the case here:-)

The kids loved the house – both because it was big enough for them to get some privacy, but especially because of the pool! We were in the house in early November, and even if the water was a bit fresh, they spend lots of time having fun in the pool. The fact that we could enjoy watching them while sitting on the terrace, enjoying the view of the mountains is the best holiday memory for me.

Karina and Dan, the owners of the house, played a huge role in making us feel comfortable and at home. They are the nicest people to talk to, and they made a huge effort in making us feel happy and helping us have a nice holiday. They are clearly proud of their house and happy about the area and their neighbours, and it meant a lot to them, that we had the same experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoors: The view, the pool and the nature surrounding the house.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiaLyster
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hot winter holiday in the sun”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful winter holiday in Casa Chumbo, far away from the grey cold weather in Denmark. The weather in January was perfect: 25 degrees and sun sun sun!! We stayed in the wonderful and very well equipped house. The photos are nice but the house in real life is so much better.
The house is open and bright, very stylish, cozy and comfy. The terrace is fantastic! We spent almost our entire holiday out there as there were everything you could want like a big gas grill, outdoor kitchen, nice sofas, dining table, sunbeds and even a shower. The terrace is very nice and cozy and the view is wonderful. It is so nice and quiet. The pool was clean, a little chilly-but good fun!
We booked the house via the internet and we got a detailed travel plan on how to get to the house. We couldn’t get lost. Karina’s suggestions on where to shop, where to rent a car etc. were very useful.
The village is very close by. There are nice restaurants and shops, and not many tourists. It is a nice sleepy village with very friendly people, nice shops where they sell whatever they have in their gardens, fish, olive oil from the village etc.
We walked to the village in 10 minutes and hiked in the mountains from the food of the village. The nature is just breath taking.
We can't wait to get back same time next Winter!
Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor area, the house, the view, that the house was so well equipped and clean. The professional welcome and contact with the owner and helpful staff
Liked least: We liked absolutely everything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jes N
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Udekøkkenet og poolområdet
Liked least: Der var ikke noget, der ikke levede op til vores forventninger
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing