We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the shop.”
Review of Alley Cats

Alley Cats
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Tirau
Restaurant details
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the shop.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The shop is always worth a stop in Tirau take some time to browse. The Café coffee was nice although no hot water with the long blacks. We had quiche and frittata slice with a nice chutney. I would have expected a nice crisp salad with this but none and no presentation. Louise slice was perfect. Service was not great needs a smile and direct attention not talking to co worker.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    9
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent kids plate ... But otherwise a bit ordinary”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Great little spot tucked away with great ambience and as I pondered yet another nuggets and chips for the kids I spotted e cheaper option with a bun, ham, fruit, and a treat. brilliant concept and well executed. But aside from that it was a little bit of a let down. Adult food was okay, but pretty expensive for what it was. And we were accidentally overcharged - that happens, but when we cleared that up at the end and I got an espresso to go, they might have pondered whether it could have been on the house after overcharging me $15. Even With lots of cafés around to try, I would probably give it another go for the kids plate.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJH_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Secret tucked away gem, now just needs some smiles with the service”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great little spot. Coffee is hot and well made. Discovered this spot last month while passing through with work. Cool spot, service from cashier was lacking a smile but thought maybe it was just a ruff morning. Stopped for
Breakfast this morning. Food, coffee and spot is faultless but once again, cashier not really friendly. Felt like we were a bit of an interruption when ordering....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExploreNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We found this cute, quirky café at the back of a gift shop - its a really cute café and the food was really yummy and well priced. the coffee was great too. We frequently travel down the North Island and this is our new favourite place to stop :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Morning Tea”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First rate baked on the premises, Savoury Blue cheese & Broccoli Muffin; Date scone with lots of dates & good coffee beside a log fire. The approach down the Alley is not enticing but the aymosphere and food are worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley Cats also viewed

Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 

Been to Alley Cats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing