We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch option in Tirau”
Review of The Loose Goose

The Loose Goose
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Tirau
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good lunch option in Tirau”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch while travelling through Tirau. The kids enjoyed their meals of chicken tenders and spring rolls. There was a bit too much garlic in the chicken pasta but otherwise okay; the bacon and eggs was fine. A few salad options would be a nice addition to the menu. Overall okay.

Helpful?
Thank David0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't be fooled by the modest look of this restaurant that looks like a cafe on Highway 1, it is really fantastic. A cafe by day, it becomes a fine dining restaurant at night. But fine dining is only the food. The place still has plain wooden tables and paper napkins. But the food could be from a much fancier venue in Auckland! The menu has so many delicious sounding meals on offer we had trouble deciding, but ended up ordering Chili Prawns as a starter, roast chicken and lamb shank mains. All were really excellent, no complaints at all. As for service, we arrived without reservations on a Saturday night and although the restaurant was full, with reservations still expected, the owner was very accommodating. After a short wait with a glass of wine, he found us a table, and the service was really excellent although the waitress, as the owner explained later, was brand new and he had a new chef also. Highly recommended if you happen to find yourself in the vicinity of Tirau at dinner time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsanna622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I visited this restaurant recently with some friends. We are all from different towns and it was the middle point on the map so we met up here for a meal and a catchup. I had the fish main and it was lovely. The service was good and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be using this place again for our get togethers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janette555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“quality and service has gone down”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

this used to be our usual stop in Tirau, but the food has gone down, service has gone down and prices have gone up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“City prices, backcountry food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Party of 4, we had Crispy Chicken - straight out of supermarket packet & fried up with chips and small salad, Lamb Rack - 2 small pieces boiled brocilli, cold potates(described as smashed potates) and a puddle of pesto beside 2 lamb loin chops, Crispy Duck, small breast on mashed potatoe and salad, hmm all $35 a main. Perhaps the chef as having a bad night but value for money was poor as it is just a eatery in a small rural town. I don't mind paying for a gourmet meal but this was over prepared and not enjoyable at all although the waitress was nice. We won't be back !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DyanneHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loose Goose also viewed

Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Loose Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing