We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Cabbage Tree Cafe

Cabbage Tree Cafe
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Tirau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Nice place to eat - good food and pleasant staff. Lots of interesting old photos. A little pricy for what it is bur would go again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Cafe in Tirau”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very nice cafe in Tirau and a handy place to stop on the way to Hamilton from Rotorua. Nice seating and fireplace, really good coffee and service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martindbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers + magic fries”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went to the Cabbage Tree last week, with my family coming from France. That was the second shot for me, the first time was really good so i told to my family "guys you are about to eat the best burgers in New Zealand" (they were laughing at me... Bloody french :) oups i'm also french). We took 4 Beef burgers (Angus... can't remember the name. It was perfect; curly/ O-ring fries, Burgers sauce was like an explosion of flavor in the mouth. Also the Thick shake were good and the cofee excellent.
If you get tired just like we were between Taupo and Auckland, this warm place is a good spot to get a rest!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francois T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We walked up and down both sides of the main Tirau street to check out all the cafes and gift shops to see what was on offer and decided that the food in this cafe looked the nicest. The food was fresh, tasted devine and was well presented. The cafe is licensed so also serves alcohol if you feel the need. A couple of the walls in the cafe are dedicated to travellers from overseas or other parts of NZ who can write their blog on the wall for all to see. Neat. Will definitely stop at this cafe again when passing through.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenGerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friends showed us this little gem.”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

During our visit to New Zealand, we travelled to Lake Taupo via Tirau as we were advised to stop for breakfast at the Cabbage Tree Cafe. In the middle of the main street with ample places to park but on a very busy road, we were shown to this lovely cafe. An exciting display of snacks and scrumptious cakes told us that this was indeed a great choice to break our journey. The food was excellent and the coffee so good. This is a lovely place and the owners are so welcoming and attentive. We promised to return on our next trip and did not think that we would have such an early opportunity as the following week. We drove back to Auckland from Wellington having spent a short break on South Island.
Once again the visit was great and the welcome even more than before.
If you are travelling via Taupo then you would be well advised to seek out this lovely place for a short break.
Thanks to all the staff, our visit to NZ was such a success not in the least by the welcome and hospitality of the local people. We will be back soon.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Taurus42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Tree Cafe also viewed

Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Putaruru, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 

Been to Cabbage Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing