We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Delightful holiday home!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Craobh Haven Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Craobh Haven Cottage
View from the cottage Inside Islay Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
20 reviews
Craobh Haven Cottage
View from the cottage
Inside Islay Cottage
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Inside Islay Cottage
Cottage window and view
The cottages from across the bay
Sunset over Craobh Haven
A comment from visitors
Another comment from our visitors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NellaBob
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful holiday home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Everything about the holiday was great....from the ease of booking to the quality of the cottage AND the proximity of the pub!! Grandkids had great fun exploring the seashore and skimming stones....as well as getting really muddy!! We made great use of the house facilities.....especially the washer / dryer units. House was comfy and cosy, and ideal for a family break. Would recommend highly...........we take UK breaks every year, and this was one of the best.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Seeing our grankids really enjoy the house and its environs
Liked least: Bit far from decent store.....17 miles to Lochgilphead, 20 to Oban...but we got by OK
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A superb property to enjoy a beautiful part of our country.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The property is even better than described, it is clean and extremely well equipped with a view to die for. The weather I had was less than perfect with the view changing constantly. The wifi worked well and there were lots of DVDs/VCTs/CDs to watch and listen to. Quality white goods, kitchen equipment and many accessories.
The Pub is very close and the staff and regulars friendly.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Ease of booking, quality of product and location
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sergeDenH...
den haag
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“superb cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

spend 10 day's at the Craobh Haven cottage and must say that we had a great time. beautiful location and above all a great cottage, very well equipped and very comfortable

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie W
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 10th visit to Craobh Haven cottages over a 16 year period, so they are literally a home from home, Matthew and Alison have a lovely attention to detail leaving welcome messages and a log fire set. The cottages are cosy, beautifully maintained and really well equipped, we have never needed anything more, The view is breathtaking with the harbour only feet from the door, the village is pretty and only a short stroll to the pub and village shop and during the summer season a gift and coffee shop.
There is so much to do in the area and when you've walked and explored, there is the open fire, dvd's and games to while away the hours.
We will be enjoying many more visits as our Year is never complete without an Autumn week away to Craobh.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Cosy decor and log fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas s
penicuik
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable holiday cottage with outstanding scenery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was our third visit to the cottage and yet again we were not disappointed. It is a perfect base for trips to various walks and places of interest. The comfort level and facilities offered with the cottage are appropriate to the Four Star Rating and we look forward to a return visit. I cannot comment on the local shopping facilities as we did not use them but there is a shop for grocery items at the marina and a restaurant/bar.The main shopping we did was in the town of Oban which has everything a visitor may require.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The scenery, the peace and tranquility, the comfort of the accomodation.
Liked least: Leaving the holiday home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne H
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super cottage, fantastic views, peaceful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Just spent another lovely week at Islay Cottage, Croabh Haven. We come back every year because of the wonderful scenery, great walks, peaceful location and the fact that the cottage is so clean, well equipped and homely. It really ticks all the boxes for us and we can bring our 2 canine friends who have a wonderful time exploring the causeway just outside the front door, not to mention all the other walks at Crinan, Ardcastle, Sutherlands Grove, Port Ann, Tarbert - oh I could go on and on! As you probably realise, we love this place and the cottage is the icing on the cake.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Friendliness and helpfulness of owners
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libby w
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, romantic, waterside cottage - thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Myself, my boyfriend and our dog spent a long weekend at the cottage in March 2013. It was the weekend of the heavy snow storms that affected Argyll and the Isle of Arran so badly. Thankfully the snow stopped just short of Craobh Haven, and the cottage provided a cosy, tranquil and well-appointed base to explore the area. The best bits for us were the real fire and the views of the bay just metres from the living room and main bedroom windows. It was perfect for long walks nearby and good meals out in small local eateries. We especially loved The Crafty Kitchen in Ardfern.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: The lack of a four-slice toaster!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing