We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed this”
Review of Ngwenya Glass

Ngwenya Glass
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ngwenya
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Watch our glassblowers creating wonderful african animal figurines and tableware using 100% recycled glass, from an overhead balcony. Feel the heat of the furnace and understand why we say we are the HOTTEST attraction in Swaziland. Our well stock showroom is attached to the factory and there is a coffee shop offering light meals. Beer and wine also available. In our well established gardens there is an array of well stocked craft shops selling Swazi Fair Trade products, all produced within Swaziland. Central in the garden is a jungle gym for the young ones to enjoy whilst the adults shop.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was a great stop and they use recycled glass to make beautiful glass items. It also has a café, and a few other shops of which I purchased some great items. You can watch them manufacturer all the products. I

Thank CRtravelerDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chas P, Owner at Ngwenya Glass, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank your positive feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your visit to Ngwenya Glass. Thank you also for supporting the other shops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Fantastic experience and worth half a day of your time to see craftsmen at work first hand.
Very nice shop display, also supported by fascinating local " craft" style shops on site.

Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chas P, Owner at Ngwenya Glass, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Note - I'm trying to review the Ngwenya Glass Factory in Swaziland, not one in Johannesburg. Decent glass blowing which supports the local economy (and they need support!). Bought some unique wine glasses. We saw several other unique pieces we considered. In the same compound is a nice restaurant (on top of the factory) with good lunch food, and several other handicraft shops. Like everything else in Swaziland, it is not that far away from things. You could easily do a long lunch here.

Will probably come here next time to pick up some small gifts for the folks at home.

1  Thank Wanderlust1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chas P, Owner at Ngwenya Glass, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, we really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A great place to stop and visit when touring in Swaziland. Amazing glassware and decorative items. Some creative stuff and all made from recycled glass. The catwalk above the factory is great to watch the artisans at work. The cafe serves nice food too so it can be used as a lunch break stop or for afternoon tea and some scrumptious home-made cakes.

1  Thank DenisGoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chas P, Owner at Ngwenya Glass, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

On the way to Kruger Nat’l Park my tour stopped at this wonderful place for visit. Glass products are beautiful and price was reasonable. You can also view their glass blowing workshop from up deck. Besides, there are many craft shops at this complex and a coffee shop in the main building. Some peacocks can be spotted in the garden.

Note:
The lilangeni (the currency of Swaziland) is tied to the South African rand at 1:1. So you can use rand at shops there and it seems that you might pay more at these small craft shops if you use US dollars. In addition, ask for SA rand when you get change because no South African vendors will take lilangeni and it’s impossible to exchange lilangeni at Johannesburg Airport.

1  Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngwenyaglass, Owner at Ngwenya Glass, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to our amazing part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngwenya Glass also viewed

 
Ngwenya, Hhohho District
 

Been to Ngwenya Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing