We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway for a family or couple”
other travelers have booked this property
One of a Kind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of a Kind
Paradise Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
One of a Kind
Paradise
Living Room
Washroom
Relaxing deck with BBQ
Nook looking into theKitchen and dining room
Pantry
Kitchen
View from the Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Nook, access to the deck.
Master Bedroom.
View of the Guesthouse from the Beach nearby.
View of Cape Blomidon from the beach. Also, the highest tides in the world.
View from the 'Lookoff' nearby, its quite the sight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
Canning, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pathfinde...
1 review
“Perfect getaway for a family or couple”
Reviewed September 26, 2019 for a stay in July 2019

This was the perfect spot for us! We spent sunny afternoons exploring the waterfront and BBQing on the porch. We had family come visit us and it was a great home base for our week of adventures! The hosts are the most incredibly kind humans, and you'll be planning your next trip back before you leave!

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizburnsu...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful in Every Way!”
Reviewed September 13, 2019 for a stay in September 2019

We booked just one night at this lovely cottage- for a girls' trip. The day after our stay, Hurricane Dorian hit Nova Scotia. The other girls' got on the road before the storm went through, but I accepted Donna & Roger's offer to stay the extra night so I did not have to drive in the storm. They were so incredibly sweet and kind, the cottage was sparkling clean and had everything we needed. The power went out and Roger & Donna were so accommodating- bringing over flash lights, a radio, batteries, water etc. They took me for a drive to the beach when the hurricane had died down a little, and then welcomed me in to their home for a glass of wine, and chatter around the wood stove. They offered me to stay in their home rather than alone in the cottage - I politely declined but was so grateful for their kindness and generosity. The one bad review below is completely unrepresentative of my experience in this beautiful place, with wonderful hosts. Can't wait to go back again. Thank you so much Donna & Roger

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianna R
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Blissful & Relaxing Stay!”
Reviewed August 22, 2019 for a stay in July 2019

We stayed at the guest house while in town for a family wedding and it was the perfect vacation spot! The view was spectacular and we felt like we were in a little slice of heaven. The peace and quiet was therapeutic and Donna & Roger were the perfect hosts! We were 6 adults and a toddler and totally comfortable in the space we had. The stocked kitchen and amenities made it a very comfortable stay and we are already talking about making it an annual stay! Would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginger f
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 16, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Back for another year... our family rents every year from the amazing Donna, the kids love it here so peaceful and clean. Everything we need is here which makes travel from Ontatio easy, and if it's not here Donna will help out anytime. It's like coming home to family. I would recommend to anyone to pick this beautiful spot!!! Thank you Donna and Roger !!!

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn G
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Our multi generational group stayed at Mill Creek Guest House for a week vacation to attend a wedding. Donna and Roger are exceptional hosts and could not do enough to make our stay any better! The house is quaint, the kitchen well equipped and the view lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherpa422...
1 review
“It's like coming home!”
Reviewed January 9, 2019 for a stay in December 2018

This was the 5th year we stayed at the Mill Creek Guest House we absolutely love it Roger&Donna go out of there way to make you feel at home. My Husband and I rent it each year at Christmas time to relax and enjoy our children and grandchildren the house is perfect for us lots of room,clean and well cared for wouldn't go any where else we also stay in the summer it's a perfect place for children the beach is amazing thank you Roger & Donna for having us once again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxGisele
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Stay!”
Reviewed November 10, 2018 for a stay in October 2018
4
people found this review helpful

We had a terrible stay from Oct 10/18 to Nov 07/18. The only positive was that it was peaceful and quiet when it wasn't rainy or windy. We are from out of province and had a monthly rate. When we arrived we were advised that they had overbooked and we had to move out to stay at their house for 3 days. Very inconvenient! The place has a very musty smell and is not as nice as portrayed on website. The washroom is unfinished with bare dry wall and unpainted walls. There are many places where the linoleum is curling because of lack of baseboards. The master bedroom is upstairs with steep stairs going to the only washroom downstairs. There are no gutters on the second floor roof allowing the rain to drip onto the first floor metal roof making it extremely noisy as it is right under the bedroom windows. The worst problem was the invasion of mice. We could hear them chewing in the walls during the night and we constantly had to clean up the messes left on the kitchen counter tops and floors. Traps were set out and 4 were caught. We got very sick from lack of sleep, and stress from dealing with the mice. We did not get any apologies or discounts from the owners for all of the inconveniences we had to deal with.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing