We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Gunthorpe
Price range: $5 - $14
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Went her yesterday with wife,brother and sister in law. Nice position overlooking the River Trent and would be lovely to sit outside in summer. We had booked a table having been recommended to go here. The menu was good, the staff were friendly. The food was not up to the standard we like. Not enough chips, no tomato or mushroom with my gammon. Brothers chicken was very dry.I ordered extra portion of mushrooms and there was only 3 costing £1.80. Drinks were reasonable apart from a dash of lemonade in wifes martini cost 60p. This is a lovely looking place but wasnt very busy for a Friday night and we wondered why. Will not be returning

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    78
    61
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Arrived on Friday evening with the "girls" (there was only 4 of us). Although the staff were brilliant, not a lot can be said about the food we had. It was appalling. I ordered mozzarella and tomoato bon bons for starters, slightly well-done on the outside but just OK, not a lot of taste. Then ordered pesto salmin, veg and chips. 40 minutes later . . . .my salmon was so dry it was white (not pink) and the pesto was black onthe top, the green beans were soggy, cold carrots and the chips were hot. Out of the 4 of us, 2 of us sent out meals back only to have to wait a further 30 mins for fresh food. By this time our 2 friends had eaten (well, picked at theirs) and we ended up leaving ours as at 10.15pm we had lost our appetite. I felt sorry for the waitresses as they were lovely but the quality of the food was appalling. Stay well away is my recommendation!! My inly regret is not taking a pic for you all to see. . . .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordy1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Mmm...i wouldnt bother”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is your typical cheap family pub with rubbish food and unproffessional staff which clearly dont have much experience in hospitality. The food is very cheap, however this is reflected in the quality and overall experience of this place. I sincerely wouldnt reccomend it for anyone with any tastebuds. Great for those who have low standards, no tastebuds or regard for quality produce and who dont expect much customer service. It also snt very clean.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynM0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

While staying at Lowdhams caravan center for our service of our caravan we visit this pub as it has deals on its food, the food is good, the price really reasonable and the staff friendly. It is within walking distance of the site. In the summer it can get really busy as its by river edge.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benalmadena
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“give it a miss”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

we were on our way to the airport and decided to have lunch at this pub, BIG MISTAKE !!!! upon going to the bar to order drinks, first i noticed the barmaid must have left here smile at home that day !!, after ordering drinks i ask for a menu, only to be told in a very off hand way " there on the table".
Before we ordered i ask how long would we have to wait as we were on our way to the airport to catch a flight, i was told " well theres a table of 6 over there waiting and a table of 4 in the corner, so dont know"
We did take a chance and ordered, it was not to long but we were served half cooked chips and near cold chicken, all of which we left and walked out, we didnt have time to sort it with management.
Must rate as one of the worst pub experiences we have had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neville656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unicorn Hotel also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
East Bridgford, Nottingham
 

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing