We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunthorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked this hotel as we were attending a wedding at Woodborugh Hall. The setting is lovely facing the river, with river cruises. The hotel and pub was very nice, the receptionist wasn't over friendly when we checked in but polite enough. Our room was lovely with a very comfy bed big fluffy pillows, very clean bright and quiet. Bathroom was on the small side but very adequate but the shower was fab. My only complaint was the size and lack of towels we just had one each and they were very small. When I asked for an extra towel for my hair I was told the house keeper was due to start in 10 mins and I could go look for her, not the answer I wanted to hear. The breaksfast was very good and a good choice with plenty of fruit juices, tea coffee. We didn't get to eat in the hotel but the menu looked very good, we did manage to have just a sweet one night and they both where very good. There is a big car park at the rear of the hotel. We will definitely be returning and try one of the river cruises and the pub food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy41black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 244 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last Sunday with my son and his family en route from visiting family in Lincoln to CenterParcs in Nottingham and couldn't have picked a better location. Incredibly comfortable beds and large bedrooms. Best showers I have had in comparable hotels and modern fittings and tiles in the bathrooms. Extremely helpful staff and very child friendly. Ate in hotel - nothing fancy just typical pub food which was good value for money. There are other restaurants close by if something more "up market" is required. Would definitely stay again if in the area and would recommend.

Room Tip: If you are on the tall side ask for a room with a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorp861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects with your stay and we hope that you use us again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just got back from another weekend at the Unicorn, stayed room 15 Sat & Sun. Had an evening meal on Sat, everything was excellent, the largest portion of scampi i have had anywhere. Must give our waitress Melanie a mention she was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Really can't fault the place, we will be back again in June or July. Linda & Andy Upton

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and i have passed on your comments to Mel, we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Unicorn "Hotel" is part of the Marston "Inns" chain. My wife and I had the mis-fortune to stay at this hotel after attending a friend's birthday party in Nottingham. Reception was hap-hazard, to say the least - an opening at the end of the bar and we were kept waiting whilst the bar staff served customers - no designated receptionist. Our room (room 5) was cramped, with an en-suite the size of a postage stamp. The heated towel rail didn't work, the television didn't work, the bedside clock didn't work. The room was furnished with cheap pine furniture and, as the floor wasn't level, the wardrobe doors were difficult to close. There was a dried-on stain on the wall by the full-length mirror and the flush light fitting overhead was full of dead gnats and moths. The net curtains were badly in need of a wash and we only had one flat pillow each to sleep on. The cooked breakfast was of a greasy spoon cafe standard and I had to ask for a cracked cup to be changed.

This is not a hotel, it's a waterside pub serving pub grub. Never again.

Room Tip: Can't think of one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately on this occasion, we failed to deliver the standards we usually offer. Had you of mentioned any of the problems you encounted during your time with us then we would of been more than happy to of swapped your room for you and to of sorted out the problem you had with your television and towel rail.
If you wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We knew the Unicorn as we used to live nearby but it would not have been a place to stay then, (quite a few years ago). We stayed one night, the staff member gave a warm welcome. Our room was very dark as it had a small window overlooking air vents (I think they were). It was quite a large room with a bathroom which was also large with modern fittings and tiles. The drawback apart from the bedroom being dark was to access the bathroom you had to go up two steps, not a problem, apart from the spot light above the steps was not working and another bulb could not be found. My husband a typical electrician gave it a bang, we had a light for the steps and making our cuppa. We ate in the restaurant at night, the same lady served being more than helpful with my dietary needs. We will probably stay again if we are in the area as we found it to be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jccj49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad your enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed for one night and this was the first time we have stayed here although we know the area very well, having grown up in this part of Nottinghamshire. Hotel in good setting and can imagine it being very busy on warm summer days. ideally located for a walk by the river.
We were given room 5 on the front and it was spacious and it was one of the few places we have stayed that gave two bottles of free water in the room, as well as the usual facilities.
The food in the pub is good and varied and not exceptionally priced.Service could have possibly been better as we had to keep asking if we could place our order at each stage, if like this when pub is busy it may loose them some custom as there are a number of places to eat within 5 minute walk.
Breakfast was ok but only had one member of staff working, so no clean tables and he was trying to set tables, take orders and check people out of hotel, fortunately we were not in a rush but if had been would have caused a frustration.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased you found your stay with us good value for money, unfortunately on this occasion, we didn't deliver the service we normally pride ourselves on, so if you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had a one night stay here on business - great setting by the river and set back from the main road.
Room was comfortable with a decent shower (but no bath), and free Wifi.
Food is above average pub fare, with decent service.
Only small criticism was that the breakfast tables were a bit close together (considering the pub is huge!), other than that decent place to stay for the price

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWM710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will use us again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
2.8 mi away
The Bingham Townhouse
The Bingham Townhouse
#1 of 1 in Bingham
439 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#3 of 5 in Lowdham
59 reviews
2.9 mi away
Innkeeper’s Lodge Nottingham, Lowdham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe NG14 7FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range: $70 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing