We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful stay”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights at the Unicorn. Lovely relaxing break, overlooking the River Trent with the gentle passage of boats. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. Plenty of places around to eat it you dont wantto eat in the hotel. Would recommend, staff very pleasant and nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Unicorn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We decided to go to this pub/hotel as its always looked so inviting from the bridge especially on a hot sunny day and we weren't disappointed. As we walked in one of the waiting staff greeted us and made a real effort to say hello to our 6 year old daughter. We sat down and almost instantly she was given a colouring sheet and some crayons, nice touch! Me and my husband both had the steak from the 2 for £10 menu, excellent value for money, they were cooked to perfection. Our daughter had the tortilla wrap and had great fun making them up before eating the lot. All the staff were polite and still smiling despite being really busy, which can't be easy! We look forward to visiting again soon with more of our family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Four of us ate there again tonight as we do every week.Good value,thank you Dan,Beth,Kat and Jamie.We were really looked after.
Again,not enough of you behind the bar,not your fault and seriously needs reviewing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Despite the Unicorn having a great location, and our room being large, we were somewhat disappointed with our stay there. It could have been wonderful, but turned out less than perfect.
The Bathroom tap was not screwed down and you had to hold it with both hands to turn the tap (Surely they noticed this when cleaning), the bath panel was coming off and there was little space to put (both our) wash-bags anywhere.
The window was filthy on the outside, the PAT testing on the bedside light was many years out of date, and the many cobwebs from the hall lighting must have been there for a few weeks.
The staff seemed over worked, and desperate to shut the bar at 11.00 pm, and when I asked if there was a late residents bar I was told that they were empowered to take my drink in 5 minutes time! Hardly welcoming.
The bed was fine and comfy, and as said previously the room was fairly large and well decorated, although the foot marks on the wall were a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Windsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to the Unicorn on a Friday evening and was really looking forward to it. BUT the staff quite frankly were useless, there was a long hair in my main course, by the time I received my meal back everyone else was finished !.. and the wedges were cut far to big this time. We ordered ONE coke and was given two, asked for it to be taken away and still was charged for it and then was short changed when we paid the bill. NOT GOOD ... No response when I emailed

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pubtaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We compliment Marston on the design and function of your the Aberystywth Starling Cloud inn. We stayed there in June 2013. Your designer should receive an award for this complex. The manager and employees were excellent. From this experience, in June 2013, we stayed in your Crown inn near Wychbold. Again we were pleased. 
On July 9-10 we stayed at your Unicorn inn - just a little more expensive (location) near Nottingham. 
We sre terribly disappointed because: 
The restaurant is filthy and the furnishings are worn out. The dinner table was sticky and dirty - we ask for it to be cleaned and a lady came with some pink colored liquid and a cloth where she sprayed and wiped half the table while also spraying my companion. The table remained sticky. Later I asked the bar tender for directions to the toilet where she first directed me to an inoperative WC stopping me to redirect me to a working WC. This working WC spelled like a sewage treatment plant - it should be unusable or repaired. We walked into the restaurant across the brick fronted patio - the front window sill is 90% rotted through from dry-rot.  We booked our reservations on-line and when we checked in at the desk they wanted to chargé us more than the pre-booked price. The staff corrected the booking price. We were assigned room 6 and found the sink faucet assembly about to fall off the sink and the drain stopper assembly broken. There are no drinking glasses either. 
I guess that you have no manager at the Unicorn -  if you do the manager should have lost the job a long time ago.  If you asked your designer (the designer responsible for the Starling Cloud) they would tell you to completely remodel this inn or sell it.
We will be very cautious about staying in your inns, and referring others to them. 

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barryej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed on Saturday night, the room was very nice, clean and comfortable lovely decor. Had a meal in the evening, yes the service was a little slow but we were not in a rush, our waitress Melanie was very helpful & friendly, food & drink most enjoyable. The breakfast was good, booked to go again on the 12th of October. It was our first stay , went to visit my daughter & partner who live on the river, the location of the hotel is perfect, will be making regular visits quite happy to stay at the Unicorn. Thanks for a lovely stay Linda & Andy Upton

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
5.8 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#5 of 48 in Nottingham
666 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 48 in Nottingham
1,183 reviews
9.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 48 in Nottingham
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#2 of 4 in Lowdham
56 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mama's Inn Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
East Bridgford Hill
East Bridgford Hill
#5 of 40 in Nottingham
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range: $70 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing