We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food ever”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worst food ever”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Bank holiday Monday my partner & I decided to go for lunch, lovely location but the service & food terrible, fire cracker chicken for starter was a warm leg of chicken with a cold sauce thrown over it, served with wilted lettuce, my partner had prawn cocktail served with the same wilted lettuce.
Mains..... Cod loin with new potatoes broccoli & carrots it was that bad I sent it back. Mixed grill was burnt sausage gammon steak laser thin pork & lamb chop burnt with chips & peas not good.
The waitress came back & said the manager said she will not charge you for your fish then walked away. All in all this was a very very disappointing visit for us & would not recommend or return here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    83
    34
    16
    15
See reviews for
62
107
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Having driven past the pub some years ago, decided to go and take a better look. Nice walk along the river trent and then back for a spot of dinner. The location is very nice and the food was ok. Let down a bit by some of the clientele who were sat drinking outside on a summers day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank W00ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is the second time we have visited, we thought that the first time the staff were having a bad day so we gave it the benefit of the doubt and went back. Mistake they were the same, they could not be bothered, the tables across the way by theriver were covered in used glasses and pots, my partner commented to the bar staff that it was quiet and the reply he got was, well let's hope it stays that way, they had no clean sauces so we were served our coffees on a dinner plate. The location is fab, the service is rubbish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had moored up on the Trent and had a ten minute walk back to The Unicorn as there were no moornings close by.
It is a chain pub set in a fabulous location, but not enough tables for sitting outside and enjoying the fantastic scenery.
There were five of us in our lunch party and we ordered four meals from the specials (2 meals for £10) and one meal from the normal menu at £8. My first three choices were not available but the waitress was very good humoured about it, though my suggestion of a free dessert for having been made to re-order four times was not taken up :))
However, my final choice of gammon was the same choice as the main £8 meal and when they were served there was no difference in portion size :)
The food was delicious and hot and we all enjoyed our meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceNise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had asked for the menu and were given one on arrival, but it was only after ordering that we found out that there was a 2 meals for £10 menu, which was very frustrating.

The menu was very large and this should have been our first clue as to what was in store.

We had to wait over 30 minutes for the food even though there was hardly anyone else there. It only appeared after asking where the food was.

Upon arrival the salad looked limp, had items missing and was definitely not worth anything like the £8 charged. Carrots and broccoli had been boiled to death and not scrubbed properly. The 'hot' meal' had also been left to cool before being served.

We did bring this to the attention of the manager.

This is a real shame that the food was so poor given there is so much potential in this quite riverside location. I have been on a Murder Mystery evening here and the food was somewhat better, but still not that special. I haves stayed here once before. Rooms are ok. My recommendation is to look elsewhere...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and i decided to travel to Gunthorpe Monday 23rd July 2012 for a bite to eat and a drink on a wonderful summers evening.
We decided to try the Unicorn as we had been to gunthorpe many times and never tried it.
Inside the restaurant was nice done and the bar was well stocked and plenty of bar staff.
We decided that this may be a nice place to eat and we found a lovely place in the window.
After finding our seat i realised that there were only a handful of people in this part of the pub at peak times and a lovely summers evening. suspicious! lots of people outsIde drinking?
The menu was massive and i again realised this was a pub chain, massive menu,no one in the place? had to be rough but as the seating was nice we decided to give it a punt.
I thought fish and chips was a safe bet and my wife a goats cheese salad.
Well my wifes salad came and it was like the bit of salad left over in your fridge and it went straight back ......jacket potatoe ordered even safer ? disgusting ! . My fish was nice but the rest ????????. we decided that was enough and left to settle our bill . the waiter gave me a bill for a family of 6 including drinks, and when i said it was not mine you saw his face sink, the other people had left paying our small bill.I said i only had fish and chips and we paid £8 . to be honest not worth even that !!
Do not eat there !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stopped here recently and joined some friends in the restaurant for an evening meal. The menu prices were quite cheap. I had a starter of garlic mushrooms - it was made to look like soup. I then had herb encrusted salmon which was ok but a letdown were the sliced carrots and new potatoes, dry and disappointing. One of my party mentioned his disappointment to the Waitress and she said it was linked to the new menu although I can't see why this is a reason for terrible food.. The cheesecake was ok. The bedroom was lovely and clean apart from the shower area and discoloured tile grouting. There was only a winter duvet available which was very hot! Breakfast was pretty good.

Room Tip: Take a blanket with you if you go in the Summer (instead of the duvet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderersNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
7.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,305 reviews
5.8 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
646 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#2 of 4 in Lowdham
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Bridgford Hill
East Bridgford Hill
#5 of 41 in Nottingham
65 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mama's Inn Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Property: Unicorn Hotel
Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing