We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Yes the staff was lovely ( but end of the day, im not paying to see nice staff) my husband and son had the ribs, and it was missing its side orders of coleslaw, had to send back my daughters potatoes as they were that old the eyes in them had started sprouting again, and my pork shank in a redcurrent sauce.......tasted just like normal gravy, This was late at night before the kitchen was about to shut..but thats no excuse for that poor quality, manager and staff great when dealing with it, but end of the day, it was our first time there, and first impressions count, wont go back again

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tjjmjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    83
    34
    15
    14
See reviews for
56
107
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Really liked the hotel, nice room, good value for money and in a great location on the bank of the Trent. Breakfast was OK but the food at night was totally missable. Do stay but eat out. Service was mixed, very good on arrival and check out, but a bit sketchy in the evening which may explain the awful meal. They seem to be a lunch pub not serving many in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I booked the Unicorn as part of a stag weekend and I have to say that we received first class service from the outset and throughout our stay. The staff are so friendly and accommodating and always went above and beyond to ensure that we had everything that we needed and more... Tom particularly was an absolute star! I was initially surprised that the hotel were so forthcoming with allowing a stag party (although I did assure them that we were a respectful and responsible bunch). The rooms are clean and comfortable and I was particularly impressed with the King room (Room 8) that we upgraded the Stag to - it was a nice size, good decor with river view. The food was reasonably priced and good enough for our party - breakfast was even better (especially on a hangover) and service was attentive and prompt.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to families, couples and groups alike. I would also highly recommend the boat trips by Gunthorpe Leisure boats which are moored up directly opposite the hotel... they are fantastic too!

Room Tip: Room 8 - Spacious, well equipped with a larger bed, better decor than the others and a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

we are regular visitors to hotel but this is the first time we have stayed overnight from the moment we booked in we where made very welcome and shown to our room which was almost impossible to fault a wonderfully comfortable bed a really excellent bathroom everything you could need for a .break.
the food is always good value , the staff always helpful and pleasant and in my opinion the unicorn is hard to fault

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekandruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Travelling from Liverpool to Nottingham for a 1.00 pm family wedding. We got to about 8 miles of hotel when satnav indicated we were in the middle of a field, this happened to a number of guests at the wedding. We arrived at the hotel one hour before the wedding ( 5 of us ), most of the other guests had stayed the night before. None of our rooms were ready but staff quickly showed us to our rooms so we could get changed and leave our bags there they then prepared the rooms when we left for the wedding.
Arriving back at the hotel at 1.00am we found our rooms to be spotless with plenty of tea/coffee facilities. The bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent as was the service.
The hotel is situated on the banks of the River Trent - very picturesque.
We left at mid day and headed towards Nottingham before using our satnav !

Room Tip: If staying there for a break, request a room overlooking the Trent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed two nights and had a good room overlooking the river. Accomodation comfortable and clean with a good shower. Breakfast which was included in the room price was very good. Service was excellent and friendly. Had a meal in the hotel on one evening, it was adequate, but if I had one complaint nearly all the meals give the impression of being pre prepared

Room Tip: Try to get a roomoverlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambi212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Booked 2 rooms direct ,cheaper than the various late room companies. Very nice accomodation,beautifully clean. We met up with relatives in the evening and with the 20% off for the food and the vouchers for drinks we had a very nice evening. There were plenty of tea/coffee etc and the bathroom was spotless with lots of hot water. Breakfast was well cooked and the service was very quick and friendly.Have stayed here before and would stay again. 4* in my opinion

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
7.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,227 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
5.8 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
612 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 49 in Nottingham
1,148 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Bridgford Hill
East Bridgford Hill
#5 of 42 in Nottingham
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Property: Unicorn Hotel
Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing