We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely riverside view but tired, dated and not very clean”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely riverside view but tired, dated and not very clean”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We visited this hotel for 1 night for a family party in the area. We arrived early in the afternoon and check-in was very quick and professional. The bar area was warm but the corridor was cold. Our room was quite spacious but it was a bit dated and there were splashes on all the walls. The bathroom was quite clean but the shower screens looked as if they hadn't been cleaned at all. We were on the front of the hotel so we had a great view over teh river but others in our group looked over a flat roof and the car park.
The bed was very comfortable and we slept quite well but we had a room above the bar and it was noisy until about 11.45. Breakfast was very good and the waiter was great even though he had to serve all the guests from 14 rooms on his own.
We would go again but hope that next time the room has been decorated and cleaned properly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STOVERLODGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    81
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
54
105
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This hotel is situated on the riverside with outside seating and a large carpark to both the rear of the hotel and the on the riverside. I arrived at around 7.30pm, and entered through pub to hotel reception (at end of bar). Lovely welcome, very quick check in. Hotel has 14 rooms and the two I saw ( as next door to my colleague) were a good size. Very clean, wonderful double bed with feather duvet, pillows and a lovely mattress topper giving me the most comfortable nights sleep in a long time! Tea/coffee in room, with wardrobe, drawers, hairdryer and flatscreen TV with freeview and free internet WIFI all made for a comfortable stay. Bathroom was modern and had a shower. Some rooms have a bath with shower, if you want a room with a bath, ensure you request one. We ate in the pub itself although it is next door to a brasserie and an italian restaraunt and we were informed there was an indian restaraunt 5 mins walk away. The food in the pub was good and had a good general atmosphere. Would definately recommend this hotel and certainly will book here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkslass615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2010

the drive upto the hotel was very impressive nice old building with plenty of charactor, lots of car parking on the front. The service at the unicorn was brilliant, staff were very helpful on arrival and very pleasant. The pub was cosy with lovely open fires very relaxing and a lovely setting being next to the river trent. The room was very spacious and clean with tea/coffee facilitys, shower was very nice with nice shampoo and soap, crisp white towels and the bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in! the pillows and quilt were top class being duck down! breakfast was fab too! i only have good things to say about this place and would recommend to anyone who needs to stay in this area of nottingham. top marks for the unicorn thanks for an amazing stay!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times whilst working at Southwell Racecourse a few miles away. The rooms are above the pub/restaurant in a lovely location on the canal side at Gunthorpe with plenty of free parking spaces available.
I took advantage of an offer available at the time and stayed for only 40-odd pounds including breakfast which was exceptional value.
Each room is unique and recently refurbished to a very high standard. The rooms vary in size, but all are cozy and relaxing. The beds are extremely comfortable with good-quality linen and pillows. All rooms have a decent-sized flat-screen TV with freeview. The Wi-Fi is free but only suitable for basic web browsing (can’t cope with iPlayer) and 3G dongles do not work on any network due to the remote location.
The bathrooms are spotlessly clean and well-designed and complimentary branded toiletries are provided. My only gripe is that the rooms can get cold in the winter even with the radiator on maximum.
The best thing about the Unicorn is the extensive menu available in the pub below at reasonable pub-prices. The breakfast is also excellent. All-in-all, highly recommended and very good value even at the regular prices.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regular_Racegoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Loved this place, great B&B, good value nice setting!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealMrsJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Remarkable value for money, food excellent, service excellent, especially Kirsty (manager) who was very pleasant and professional. Warm comfy room, spacious spotless bathroom, luxury toiletries, soft towels...I could go on and on! Hearty well cooked breakfast. Delightful location despite the weather! Truly excellent value for money especially as they are currently running a promotion offering the second night free! Also worth a mention, if you eat there, you receive a 20% discount off the cost of food. (which was also excellent in both quality and price!)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy-ronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed for one night and found this hotel excellent value .Easily found location by the River Trent with ample car parking .Quick and efficient check-in, included showing to the room, which was found to be beamed ceiling and very olde worlde, just what we were looking for. Good size room with an en-suite of matching size, clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV, hair drier in the room and the linen was pristine white and the array of pillows and cushions coupled with the beds comfort meant a good nights sleep was inevitable ! The bar area was busy with meals and drinks but efficiently run and the staff all seemed to enjoy working there. The inclusive breakfast the next morning was buffet style cereals and juice,together with full cooked breakfast if required brought to your table by an enthusiastic and bubbly young waitress. Check out was a pleasing time of 11 a.m. and was as efficient as the check-in. Overall, first class accomodation in this catagory and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thechiefYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
5.8 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#7 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
7.4 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
11.5 mi away
Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Bingham Townhouse
The Bingham Townhouse
#1 of 1 in Bingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Property: Unicorn Hotel
Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing