We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haute cuisine and lazy days in the Umbrian hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country House Montali
Cardiff, UK
1 review
“Haute cuisine and lazy days in the Umbrian hills”
Reviewed July 10, 2007

After a wonderful stay in 2004, it was great to be back at this gem of a hotel. Alberto is the consumate host and this may be the most relaxing experience you'll have all year.

Montali's culinary creations are so wonderful that despite the attractions of Assisi and the surrounding Umbrian countryside we readily admit to spending the day simply waiting for dinner !

This is an ideal place to spend relaxing days in a beautiful and secluded setting - the perfect antidote to more intensive sightseeing in Rome, Florence or Pisa. Country House Montali is a special place and it won't be long before we're back.

John & Laura Fitzgerald, Cardiff, UK

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Totally satisfied
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank The_Fitzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
132
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Montali is wonderful - amazing gourmet veggie food in a beautiful and peaceful setting. We're already planning our next trip back!

Alberto and Malu made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and all the stress we'd had at work in previous months simply melted away. We had a lovely room about 30 seconds walk from the pool and after a day's sight seeing or simply sunning ourselves by the pool we could stroll to the restaurant to be served the most lovely food.

As a veggie for almost 20 years holidays have sometimes been a bit of a chore in terms of eating out - there's only so much goat's cheese a girl can eat! - but at Montali we were treated to the best veggie food I've ever eaten.

My husband and I highly recommend Montali as one of the best places to stay while you are in Italy - we feel in love with it and will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We had the most amazing stay at Montali for 4 nights, as part of our honeymoon.

We travelled throughout Italy, Spain and France, and Montali was by far the standout of all the places we visited!

Alberto was the most charismatic host, who, on our arrival sensed our hunger and invited us to an informal lunch with the family of Montali (which included his ultra talented head chef wife, Malu, their handsome son, and the wonderful sous chefs!) We had a ‘simple’ baked roman gnocchi. It was the most delicious dish we had eaten in so long, and we knew that if this was classed as ‘simple’ we’d really have something to look forward to at dinner! We were not disappointed!

Every night the most magnificent four course extravaganza. We ate the most divine food and have photos of just about every course! You can see that Alberto is so proud of his wife’s menus each night – it is just a lovely environment, and was very enjoyable. My husband, who eats meat had no issues eating the veggie food, as the flavour of each dish was so intense, and never did he feel that the dish ‘lacked’, having not included meat.

The property is lovely, set on olive groves, and has a fantastic view. You really need a car to be able to visit all the little towns close by. They are wonderful to explore during the day, or you can just sit back and relax on your day bed, or your front patio, and read the day away.

We will be returning to Montali with our families next year, and can’t wait for them to experience what we did!

You can't beat a four course gourmet dinner, breakfast and accommodation for the price that they charge!

  • Liked — The food! YUM!
  • Disliked — You need a car to get there.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMelbourneHolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

I stayed here with my mom, husband and my three children last August. We stayed for a week, with a couple of days in Rome on each end to make it a two week vacation. I didn't write a review at the time (because I was pooped from the vacation!) but I did want to mention a few things. My family is vegetarian (not my mom, but the rest of us) but my husband is lactose intolerant. I had requested dairy-free meals for him beforehand, and it was good that I did because several courses each night have a good amount of dairy in them. So if you are vegan, you should be definitely request special meals in advance. They were happy to oblige.

Dinner occurs at a set time. At seven o'clock there are cocktails and at eight everyone sits down. Every party sits at its own table, but all the guests sit down basically at the same time. Then the first course is served, followed by the second and then third and then dessert. So that is the expectation, and if you like to just sort of show up for dinner whenever, that is not appropriate here. Also, dinner is a three hour affair, and although European youngsters might be used to this, American ones are not. So it was a challenge having the kids along (my kids were/are young), but on the third night we broke out the portable DVD player and they sat on the patio and let us eat undisturbed for most of the dinner. However, we knew the other guests, mostly Europeans, thought we were pathetic. We had the youngest kids there, but there were a couple of older kids there. Mostly couples. The kids loved running around the property, though, and they still remember playing hide and seek in the olive trees.

The comment below about the bathrooms is true, but that is also frequently true throughout Italy. Also, I wish the windows had screens on them. The only way to keep out the bugs was to close the shutters and then the rooms got stuffy.

The other thing is that it takes about 35 minutes to get to Perugia--15 of it getting from the inn to the main road. So plan accordingly!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank jklNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2007

What a wonderful view from the top of a beautiful hill overlooking Umbria. The rooms were spacious and and beautifully appointed. The service was friendly and helpful and the food was out of this world.

Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night but had made a point to stay there and it was well worth it!

  • Liked — The food was wonderful - and vegitarian!
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CA_paintbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

We arrived after an adventure thru the hills - the views are wonderful. When we arrived we were treated like family with smiles and such hospitality. Our rooms were exceptional with views from our windows so beautiful that my mom painted straight from the windowsill in her room. The beds were wonderful and the rooms were so spacious.

The food was Outstanding! Fine vegetarian dining - We savored each bite.

  • Liked — Food, view and bedroom
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We spent our week-long honeymoon enjoying 7 wonderful nights at Montali the during first week of May. Words cannot describe the exquisite cuisine that brought us back to the dining room every evening for a 2-hour unforgettable experience. Alberto was an excellent host, and able to recommend a nicely matched local wine to go with the 4-course meal assembled by his wife Malu and her small but extremely busy team of chefs. My wife and I had never stayed at a resort that offered strictly vegetarian food, and since we are both vegetarians, it really made a difference. No worrying about what was on the menu - just sit back and relax.

The hilltop hotel had commanding views of the surrounding valley and was 30 to 45 minutes to dozens of nearby hill towns, including Assisi and Perugia. The accommodations were simple but thoroughly clean; our suite included a king size bed and an attached bathroom with a rainfall shower head and plenty of hot water.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Umbria, and especially to vegetarians who are looking for gourmet vegetarian (or vegan) cuisine at an extremely affordable price!

  • Liked — The food!
  • Disliked — The dirt road drive to the hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernelle di Panicale
0.2 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
665 reviews
3.5 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
469 reviews
12.1 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
822 reviews
24.7 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
539 reviews
9.3 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Montali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Montali

Property: Country House Montali
Address: Via Montali 23 | Tavernelle di Panicale, 06064 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Country House Montali 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Country House Montali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Montali Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Country Hotel Montali
Country Hotel Panicale
Country House Montali Italy/Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing