We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country House Montali
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A dream”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This place really is amazing. Set in fabulous surroundings and serving the most delicious gourmet vegetarian (vegan for us) meals. We were totally blown away by the unbelievable food - eating course after course of the most exquisite dishes. Beautifully presented and mouth watering-ly delicious. And vegan croissants for breakfast - who knew!
We travelled further than initially planned to stay here and it was more than worth it.
We met some lovely people while we were there - this place seems to attract like minded souls.
Our hosts were lovely and we love having their beautiful cook book in our book shelves as a reminder of our time there. We could feel the love in your food and are two very happy guests who still talk about what a rare and special treasure Montali Country House is. Thanks for making our time there so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Montali is a dream... nestled in the Italian coutryside, it offers stunning scenery, serenity and beauty, and proves that vegetarian cuisine can be as refined and gourmet as non-veg. Plus, it's just so comfortable! Could spend forever there lounging around the pool, strolling through the olive orchards... It's a true labour of love by wonderful owners Alberto and Malu, couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Montali: The Place to be; pamper yourself at least once in your life and a dream becomes reality. No other qualification exceeds the number of stars you can see by night at the top of Montali. Signor Alberto & Signora Malu: an unprecedented combination that passion and love shares in every detail with their staff and their guests. We did enjoy our stay for three days from the first to the last second: Heaven on Earth is very close. Breakfast, lunch or dinner: every time again an artistic surprise
The accommodation as a whole is top-quality. All guests were very happy and very satisfied.
Complimenti: we will remember our stay at Montali for a long time and hope to realise our next visit. Arrivederci.
Tonny Suilen – Roozen & Ger Leppers/Olanda.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

If you're looking for the perfect place to really, really get away, do yourself a favor and stay for as long as you can at Country House Montali. This incredible mountain top land, the beautifully decorated rooms, the relaxed vibe experienced when you find yourself overlooking valleys on both sides of the property- all of this and great hospitality made this an unforgettable peak to our Italy experience. Get there as early in the day as you can- the roads leading up to the place get more windy and are best negotiated in good light. Prepare yourself to unwind, take a swim, walk amongst the olive trees and enjoy a glass of wine under the pergola. You'll meet like minded people as we did who appreciate this place and come back again and again when in Italy. And the unbelievably great food... the quality, presentation, variety service and attention to all the details was accomplished with a warm precision by Alberto, Malu and their staff. Glad we have the cookbook as a fond reminder and source of inspiration till our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Montali is heaven for any vegetarian who yearns for an unabashedly sophisticated culinary experience. The location ( on top of a mountaintop 20 kms south of Perugia) is stunning, and the accomodations are top-quality, as is the pool, and the detendu ambience. Alberto created this visionary place, and is particularly charismatic at presenting and describing each dish to each diner ( a capacity of 9 couples - another great plus!). Aval teetyaatsu eetanu lifnei she'atem mazmeeneem! Cynthia and Ilan Rubin, Jerusalem

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilanrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Montali was everything the reviews said it would be - tranquil, charming and relaxing.
The food was delicious. The taste lives up to the photos.
We had children with us, and we were concerned how they would do with a fixed menu for so many nights. We need not have worried. They really enjoyed the food and looked forward to dinner each night. My son is still talking about the cheese we ate there - I wish I'd written down the name so we could buy some.
Guests generally gather for drinks before dinner. Knowing that other guests might be at Montali as a break from their kids, we held back and played pool instead. The hotel grounds are big enough that you can be social if you want to, or enjoy private space if you don't.
If we lived in Europe we'd make Montali a regular vacation.
Thank you Alberto - we had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 181JerseyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We came here because of it's reputation for gourmet vegetarian cooking, the food delightful, lovingly cooked and with often stunning presentation and including innovative vegetarian variations of traditional dishes. Timing of courses was well spaced out and it was fascinating being given a full description of the dishes and main ingredients as each course was served. Most people think of vegetarian cooking as "rustic", but this was far from it!

The setting was sublime - nestled into an olive grove in the Umbria hills, sunrise on one side, sunset on the other. A lovely view of Lake Trasimeno in the distance and luckily we had good weather throughout our time there, except for one afternoon of rain.

Perhaps the next aspect for the hosts to consider would be improving the comfort level within the bedrooms. Unfortunately we did not sleep very well because we found the beds extremely extremely hard with only one thin hard pillow provided per guest. Also, being up in the countryside, in older buildings inevitably means some extra natural unwelcome smaller guests which included some large centipede-earwig type things, about an inch and a half long, very fast which seemed to emerge from the wooden beams and run across the walls!
Air conditioning would be really be worth investing in since the ceiling fan was pretty noisy and shook scarily when switched on to a speed that made a difference, and the restaurant also got terribly hot with no fan or a.c.

There were some lovely breakfast dishes, though some more breads, cheeses and fruit would have been appreciated along with a longer period to relax and enjoy rather than the short window of 8:30-9:30 – especially if one of us would have liked to lie in on some mornings. Also, an offer to provide breakfast to travellers who have to leave before this time would be much appreciated since the last breakfast of the holiday is in essence paid for.

I loved the little areas of seats and tables nestling into the shaded areas outside and the pool area was beautiful, but the pool itself was far too cold – we swam in Lake Trasimeno but were not hardy enough for the pool!
There was a beautiful pool table in a gorgeous room with comfy sofas and bookcases - surprisingly fast, and the family of wild boar that came out at sunset were fascinating though a little scary at night.
Service at the hotel was excellent - polite, attentive friendly staff. This said, it is hard to be honest if there is a niggle in case you offend the proud hosts. One felt obliged to compliment at all times
We'd definitely consider going back, and recommend it others, although because it's very difficult to sleep with the uncomfortable beds and the heat, we'd probably stay for just a couple of nights unless of course comfy mattresses and fluffy pillows were invested in!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scorpio797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernelle di Panicale
0.2 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.5 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
14.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
13.1 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
24.7 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Montali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Montali

Property: Country House Montali
Address: Via Montali 23 | Tavernelle di Panicale, 06064 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Country House Montali 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Country House Montali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Montali Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Country Hotel Montali
Country Hotel Panicale
Country House Montali Italy/Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing