We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views...Wonderful Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa di Monte Solare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed six nights in this hotel and were totally impressed by the beauty of the property and the amazing views. The grounds are immaculate and really beautifully laid out. We stayed just below the main building in Room 41. The bedroom and bathroom were both incredibly spacious, beautifully decorated and very, very clean. There was ample room for clothes to be hung or placed in drawers. We had a table and comfy chairs in one corner and another table and chairs outside on our private terrace. Our room overlooked the vineyards and we enjoyed a magnificent sunrise every morning.
Our only complaint about the room is that the walls are very, very thin. We could hear conversation, the television and even the folks next door walking to the bathroom during the night. Luckily, we had a wonderful, very friendly couple from England next door and they were not noisy folks, by nature. Had they been a more lively, rambunctious couple, it really could have affected our night's sleep.
I would like make special note about how helpful and friendly the reception staff was. They were always ready to assist with directions, pleasant towns to visit and special requests.
Breakfast was served each day starting at 7:30; but, eggs were not often available until 8am or even later. There were plenty of options for breakfast, including croissants, cereal, fruit salad, yogurt, fresh juice, cold cuts and cheese. We just wish the eggs were ready at the start of breakfast since we are early risers and often left for a day of adventure quite early.
We only dined in the restaurant twice. The atmosphere was a bit quiet and formal for us. And, although they seem to be trying for a certain level of elegance, it comes off a bit snobby and uncomfortable. And, sadly the food did not live up to its expectations. We were less than enthused about everything we ate there. Oddly, the restaurant played a very strange mix of American music that seemed out of place here. It would have been more appropriate to play some light classical music. That would have fit more with the mood they seem to be trying to create.
We did enjoy sitting by the pool several days and it was beautiful and very clean.
All in all, we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to tour the towns in and around Umbria and Tuscany. It is an hour or less away from great towns like Cortona, Orvieto, Assisi, Montelcino, Pienza, and more. And, when you are not sightseeing, it is a very relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTraveller1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
There are newer reviews for Villa di Monte Solare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 683 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here three years ago with different owners, it was a delight then, now it still achieves the incredibly high standards it has always had. The staff are highly attentive, the rooms are cleaned more than once a day, the beds are turned down with a lovely rosewater sweet on the pillow. The linens are crisp and white. We had a suite away from the main house near a beautiful pool, the path to the pool is surrounded by lavender and rosemary bushes, and there are pomegranate & fig trees full of beautiful fruit. Olive groves and yellow swallowtail butterflies are just some of the beauty that surrounds this peaceful place. We had half board this time as last time we wanted to get back to the lovely hotel in the evenings and regretted not having it then. We were really glad we did, they prepared perfect vegetarian food every day, and their wine selection was amazing. If you want peace and tranquility without being too 'alternative in a trendy way' (if you know what I mean?!), then this is perfect. We went early September so the schools had gone back and it was quiet, so I don't know what it would be like in main summer - still beautiful I imagine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CashmereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fabulous hill-top location and the extremely nice people. Had splashed out £200 plus for a night at Castello Spaltenna in Chianti the night before but Monte Solare was preferable even though we paid less than £120 a night. Dinner was fine dining without the humourlessness of the Spaltenna, and cheaper, and breakfast under the fig tree on the terrace was wonderful. Room extremely spacious and comfortable. Easily the nicest hotel of the trip and maybe the nicest ever.

Room Tip: Hotel is not well signposted. Go to the middle of Tavernelle and head out on the SS220 in the Perugi...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiPens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We wanted to explore Umbria and chose this property based on a recommendation and reviews from Trip Advisor. This is a beautiful, peaceful resort. If you want to just relax and enjoy the scenery, this is a great place. There is a wonderful garden to wander around and 2 pools, although, the water was a bit chilly in the middle of September.

We stayed for two nights. One day we spent lounging around the pool and resort grounds. My wife and I each got a massage, although there was only one massuese working that day. The massage was decent, but could have been better. The other day, we explored smaller towns like Panicale (a must visit) and Castiglione del Lago (on Lake Trasimeno).

We rented the deluxe suite which is located in the main building. The suite was very spacious, and includes a separate jacuzzi room.

We had dinner on the property the first night. I recommend dining there at least once, but would also recommend going out into the small towns and eating there. The dinner at the resort was a bit on the pricey side, but I have seen worse prices in the bigger cities. The meal was good, but wasn't not jaw dropping. Decent wine selection and finished the meal with nocino (although it was not homemade).

We had to check out early, prior to the staff arrival. They made us breakfast bags to take with us to drive to the Rome airport.

I would recommend to rent a car as there is really no place to walk to from the resort. Make sure to have some sort of GPS system to get you there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Situated on a hilltop with lovely views over olive groves and the beautiful Umbrian countryside beyond this is a delightful and restful place to stay. We were in the villa itself which has been beautifully and sympathetically transformed into a hotel without losing the ambiance of a private house. There are also rooms in several other lovely restored buildings in the grounds. The staff welcomed us warmly and could not have been more helpful. We found the food was excellent and, a word of warning, the portions extremely generous, particularly the T bone steak! The sommelier was both charming and knowledgeable and we found her suggestions most helpful. It is tempting just to stay put and relax by one of the two pools, use the spa or walk through the countryside but it is within easy distance of Perugia and other historic towns that are well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent part of our honeymoon in Tuscany at this villa, and could not have been happier with the area, the service, and the room. We had a beautiful room with two gorgeous views. The grounds are beautiful, and the pool also was situated on a hill with a great view. It was very quiet and restful to relax in the sun while admiring the wonderful Tuscan hills.

We had breakfast there every morning, which was great--they had a variety of meats, eggs, cheese, pastries, and the coffee was delightful. We also had two dinners at the villa, and both were outstanding. Each course was exceptional and extremely well-prepared.

Perhaps the BEST meal that we had was our Cooking Class with Chef Sergio on our last day in Tuscany. This is a class that was provided by the Villa, and my husband and I were the only people in the class. The food was AMAZING. Chef Sergio was a great teacher and really demonstrated cooking technique rather than just going through the recipes provided. At the end, after a well-planned cooking class, we were able to enjoy out prepared gnocchi with pesto, homemade pasta with marinara, stuffed turkey with a delightful vegetable puree sauce, and a wonderful onion parmigiana dish--all in all, it was a meal that we would never have had in a restaurant as each pasta was prepared on the spot with a separate sauce for each dish. We loved the cooking class and would recommend it to anyone who has an appreciation for good food (especially homemade pasta).

We loved our stay at the Villa and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main villa and were happy there. The room was very quiet and clean.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VBlocal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel can be difficult to find without a GPS in your car; but its well worth the effort. First of all, it's located atop a hillside with beautiful views, on both sides, across the lush valleys.

The welcome is warm at reception and though the staff is limited, they go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Some of the rooms are situated in the main building while others are in two outbuildings. The rooms are well appointed with good beds and bedding and most of the little extras one expects in a hotel of this caliber.

The restaurant is not inexpensive but is good -- not outstanding however. Breakfasts offer a wide variety of hot and cold items so there are no complaints.

We really like this hotel but it is not ideal for touring Umbria in general because the access is slow and windy so it takes you nearly an hour to reach Perugia and more to reach some of Umbria's other highlights. However there are some great places within 30 minutes or so that are delightful including the tiny walled townof Panicale and the larger old walled Citta della Pieve. Lake Trasimeno is also in the general neighborhood.

Monte di Solare is one of our favorite places to relax and enjoy the serene beauty of the Umbrian hills. This was our second visit and, hopefully, not our last.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Limonaia
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passionatetraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernelle di Panicale
3.6 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
485 reviews
13.9 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
844 reviews
24.6 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
9.3 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
716 reviews
12.9 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Monte Solare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Monte Solare

Address: Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06064 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range: $122 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Monte Solare 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a remote hillside above Lake Trasimeno, Villa di Monte Solare nestles in gorgeous grounds punctuated by cypress trees and fountains a few miles from Perugia. An enchanting villa, that for centuries was home to an aristocratic family, it is now a delightful boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant, two swimming pools, a tennis court and a pampering spa.Rooms and suites at Villa di Monte Solare are distributed between the villa, complete with marble fireplaces, terracotta floors and antique furniture, or in one of the 350-year-old farmhouses on the estate, also beautifully furnished but with a more rustic feel. Wander around the walled Italian garden and discover the chapel. Then, head to the pool and take in the sweeping views of the Muserale Valley and the Mongiovino hills.Take a cooking class with the chef to learn authentic Italian cuisine and then try to match a wine to your dish with a wine tasting session. In between swimming, relaxing, spa treatments and tennis find some time to visit some of the nearby villages for a feel of Umbrian life. End your day with delicious Italian cuisine in Villa di Monte Solare’s restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa di Monte Solare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Monte Solare Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Hotel Di Monte Solare
Di Monte Solare Hotel
Villa Di Monte Solare Italy/Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing